南布朗克斯永續發展組織重新構思社區發展

  • Business Model Shifts
  • 商業模式典範轉移

作為為紐約市治安最差的法外地帶之一,布朗克斯區(Bronx)跟其他位於都市外圍地區的社區一樣,都處於一個無法擺脫的惡性循環之中:層出不窮犯罪活動讓顧客不再上門,迫使商家一一停業,倒閉的商家則導致失業率增加,進而提高犯罪率。但整個社會不僅對這些已經窮途末路的社區視而不見,還將都市開發的重點放在比較有發展潛力的區域。此外,布朗克斯區負擔著紐約市大部分從空氣到商業廢棄物的污染負荷,卻沒有得到社區發展所需要的財政支持和政治關注,讓整個社區處於危險、絕望之中。

 

重新構思社區發展

在布朗克斯區長大的Majora Carter看到了這些問題,因此決定採取行動,也因為她相信「人們不是只有搬離自己的社區才能過更好的生活」,造就了南布朗克斯永續發展組織(Sustainable South Bronx,簡稱SSBx)的成立,並透過一系列的行動,將這個地方從一個貧困的地區變成永續發展的理想社區。Carter提倡在南布朗克斯進行公園建設和綠化發展,並藉由協作的模式來解決該地區所面臨在環境、經濟及社會面向的關鍵挑戰。透過制定政策、職業培訓、環境教育和社區綠化計劃,讓SSBx逐步為該地區帶來改變,不但在2015年同時成為HOPE計劃的一部分,更透過各種計畫拓展到都市改造的層級,並為人們提供就業培訓和職業服務來實現賦能。

 

南布朗克斯永續發展組織(Sustainable South Bronx)的商業模式

 

打造綠色的布朗克斯

由Carter所推動的其中一項重要行動就是名為SSBx的「綠領(Green Collar)」職業培訓計畫,該計畫目的是為在地居民培養能夠直接為社區創造改變的實用技能,不但能為居民創造就業機會,又能直接為社區帶來積極的正面影響,達到一石二鳥的作用。最後打造出了綠化園林、淨化了水質、也將居民活動的場地整合在其中。

根據這項新計畫,SSBx推出了紐約酷涼屋頂計畫(NYC°CoolRoofs),為70位在地求職者提供培訓及工作機會,學習粉刷節能反光屋頂。塗上特殊塗料的屋頂,能有效控制建築物的溫度,從而減少能源消耗、降低該地區的平均溫度。不但紐約市能因此達到2050年減少80%碳排放的目標,也在當地居民能夠受雇的同時,讓社區直接受惠。

Intervine是由南布朗克斯永續發展組織成立的社會企業,旨在為人們提供就業機會。他們專門招收社區中的低收入居民,並提供工作培訓來維持環境友善的基礎建設,不僅增加當地居民的就業機會,也藉此打造了一個綠色社區。Intervine也在2017年獲得曼哈頓地區檢察官辦公室(Manhattan District Attorney’s office)提供180萬美元的資金,用以擴大活動規模。

 

教育向下紮根

另一項南布朗克斯永續發展夏季實驗計畫(Sustainable South Bronx Summer FabLab)的推動,是為了培養高中生能以永續的方式參與社區重建。學生們將在為期7週的課程中,學會各種設計方法及創業的基礎知識,以提升他們的就業機會,同時也將自己掌握的新技能用來做好事。

利用實驗計畫教會年輕人如何打造更美好的未來,並透過紐約酷涼屋頂計畫(NYC°CoolRoofs)和Intervine來改善現狀,這種跨世代的解決方案不但能修復和重建社區受到的破壞,還可以最大程度降低未來的損害。如此一來,社區能夠落實重建工作,並成為一個充滿生機的集散地,讓居民因為參與其中而感到自豪。

 

南布朗克斯永續發展組織是利害關係人商業模式典範轉移(The Stakeholder Shift)的好例子,是一個能將所有參與其中的利害關係人都考慮進去的商業模式。即便這個組織的營運完全仰賴捐贈和捐款,由於他們能為所有涉及其中的利害關係人帶來實質的價值,得以確保穩定的收益。

除了讓學生獲得相關知識領域的教育、成人能夠就業、社區能夠重建、為環境帶來正面影響並維持都市的永續發展、讓政府部門更好辦事,更重要的是,它為居民打造一個更美好、環境更友善的社區。

 

本案例出自我們即將出版的 Business Model Shifts(暫譯:商業模式典範轉移)一書。如果你想知道如何將「利害關係人商業模式典範轉移(The Stakeholder Shift)」運用在自己的生意上,別錯過這本書。

 

若有新書消息請通知我

 

Comments

Stay Posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.

The business model of Sustainable South Bronx

  • Business Model Shifts

The Bronx has the reputation to be one of the toughest neighborhoods of New York City. Just like many other outskirt neighborhoods, the Bronx is stuck in a vicious circle which that seems impossible to escape. Crime chases away customers which forces businesses to close up shops. Businesses closing increases unemployment rates which in-turn pushes up crime rates. Society turns a blind eye to these malnourished neighborhoods and focuses on developing the promising parts of the city. On top of this, South Bronx has borne much of the pollution burden for New York City, from air pollution to commercial waste, and has not received the financial or political attention it needed to flourish. Leaving the community in a seemingly inescapable situation.

 

Re-imagining a neighborhood

Majora Carter, a Bronx local, saw the lack of development in her neighborhood and decided that something needed to be done. “I believe you shouldn’t have to leave your neighborhood to live in a better one”. So Sustainable South Bronx was born; a collective of initiatives to transform the area from a deprived neighborhood to a great and sustainable place to live for the community. Carter advocated for parks and green development in the South Bronx. She did this by creating a collaborative model that on the focused environmental-, economical- and social challenges the area was facing. Through policy change, job training, environmental education, and community greening programs Sustainable South Bronx started the changing the area block-by-block. In 2015 both SSBx became a part of the HOPE Program, scaling the different initiatives further into the city, empowering people with job training and career support.

 

Business model canvas Sustainable South Bronx

Business-Model-Canvas-Sustainable-South-Bronx

 

Making green the color of the Bronx

One of the initiatives Carter set-up was the “Green Collar” workforce training program called SSBx. The program educates and empowers locals with practical skills that directly impact the neighborhood. Killing two birds with one stone. Locals became employable and jobs were created that positively impact the neighborhood itself. Parks with luscious green gardens were built, bodies of water were cleaned and playgrounds were put together.

In line with this initiative SSBx designed NYC °CoolRoofs. This program provides 70 local jobseekers with training and work experience installing energy-saving reflective rooftops. The coated rooftops help in managing the temperature of the buildings which leads to reduced use of energy as well as in lowering the average temperature in the area. The program supports the City’s goal to reduce carbon emissions 80% by 2050. Once again, residents are employed and the community directly benefits.

Intervine is the social enterprise Sustainable South Bronx launched to offer people an opportunity on the job market. The business focuses on training and employing low-income community members to maintain green infrastructures. The locals are given the opportunity to build both a career as well as a greener community. In 2017 Intervine received $1.8 million in funding from the Manhattan District Attorney’s office to expand their activities.

 

Teach them young

The Sustainable South Bronx Summer FabLab is another program, empowering high school students to take part in rebuilding the community in a sustainable way. In a 7-week program the scholars are taught different design skills and the basics of entrepreneurship. Leaving the students with higher chances of finding employment and putting their newly acquired skills to use for good.

The FabLab educates the youth on how to build a better future while NYC °CoolRoofs and Intervine focuses on improving the present. This multi-generational solution not only begins to repair and rebuild the damage in the community but also minimizes any future damage. The result is a community that can focus on healing and eventually turn into a vibrant hub that residents are proud to be a part of.

 

Sustainable South Bronx is a great example of the Stakeholder shift. A business model which takes into account all the stakeholders involved. Even though the organization runs entirely on donations and grants they are able to secure a steady revenue stream because they actually are delivering value to all stakeholders involved.

Students are being educated with relevant knowledge, adults are being employed, the community is being rebuilt, the environment is positively impacted and the city continues to grow sustainably, making the government’s life easier. But more importantly making the neighborhood a better and greener place for its community.

 

This case is part of the research for our upcoming book Business Model Shifts. If you want to learn more about how to apply the stakeholder shift to your business, be sure to read it.

 

Please keep me informed about the new book

 

Comments

Stay posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.