有策略地說故事:連結構思與成長

  • 設計思考

有策略地說故事:連結構思與成長

許多人在談生意經營、團隊合作時,大概從未想過成就生意及良好合作關係的關鍵在於:說故事的技巧(STORYTELLING)。我們常常在開啟一個新專案、組好團隊之後,便立刻進入工作模式(組建團隊時有什麼要注意的?請鎖定下一篇關於打造成功團隊的文章),從四面八方蒐集各種用來「佐證」專案可行的資料、數據,即便資料堆滿彼此的桌面,這算哪門子的證據呢?像這樣還在點子的初步階段,就急於進入「規模化模式(SCALE MODE)」,意味著你忽略了一些重要的步驟。數據資料、策略計畫書是重要,但有策略地說故事同樣重要。

在開始合作一個(新)專案時,首先重點應該放在如何激勵團隊士氣、為成功創造機會以及幫助彼此做好準備;而不是花時間在落落長的文件資料、報表,或在開不完的會議中用 PowerPoint 彼此折磨。PowerPoint 本身不是壞事,但我們都聽過很糟糕的簡報,這就是為什麼當你走進會議室,看到螢幕上充滿密密麻麻的文字時,自然出現回 email、做其他事情等巴夫洛夫式制約反應(這種制約可能不是像狗看到食物而流口水,打盹到流口水還差不多)。事情不該如此;當我們的焦點在將點子開展為遠大的目標、讓大家產生連結時,事情不該是這樣的。

人類天生就會說故事,不論是遠古時期在洞穴內上的動物壁畫,到今天孩子們用玩具創造的想像世界,都在說故事。而且我們也清楚人們有多熱愛說故事,不管你今年幾歲,對於自己最喜歡的童話故事一定還是記憶猶新(甚至還能自己把它講出來)。然而,一旦將場景搬到商業的世界,分享資訊(說故事)卻往往能讓我們立刻跌個踉蹌。歸根究底,不過是因為人們總將說故事(比如:一場募資簡報)當作是待辦清單上的一個項目(甚至還是最後一項),而不是從旅程的開端就要好好設計的重要關鍵。

「有策略地說故事」聽起來是件很感性的事情,其實不然。它其實是你為了吸引聽眾,針對他們的需求而設計的資訊分享橋段;藉此,你希望他們能加入、你需要他們來讓專案成功、你想讓他們理解你們有一樣的理想、你想要激勵他們採取行動。因為到頭來,你需要一位對數字在行的夥伴,一位有廣大人脈的同事,當然更需要那位掌握生殺大權主管的認同。

1. 願景

所以,為了達成目標,你可以運用哪些工具呢?你的觀點就是最重要的「工具」。觀點正確與否、或堅持己見,都不重要。觀點是你看事情的方法,是你的態度、是你的願景;它是你所擁抱的信仰,是你熱情的所在;在充滿不確定性的開始階段,觀點幫助你決定下一步怎麼走。它還是你用來檢測結果的量尺,也是人們是否能與你的故事產生連結的關鍵。除了你的觀點,這裡還有幾個工具,可以幫助你設計你策略故事的藍圖。

2. 英雄之旅

Heroes journey canvas

20 世紀中的神話學大師 Joseph Campbell 鑽研所有神話中典型的英雄故事。他發現所有神話故事中的英雄,都會遵循著一條特定的途徑:英雄之旅。他在 1949 年寫了一本書:千面英雄(The Hero With A Thousand Faces)。故事一開始,英雄總是過著舒適安逸的生活,但接下來會發生一件事情,攪擾原本的平靜,而英雄必須做出抉擇;英雄起先會否認這是個問題,但不管他想不想要解決,都會被迫要面對(這就是命啊!)。經過瀕死經驗跟許多的困難後,英雄會成功戰勝大魔王,成為一個更好的人,返回故里。

「哇,這聽起來很熟悉!」你可能會這麼覺得。沒錯,因為 90% 的(好萊塢)電影是用這種結構說故事。把任何一部電影快轉到中段,幾乎都是英雄是重傷、生命遭逢最低潮的時刻。好萊塢不是唯一使用此模板的地方,在設計一門好生意,我們也用英雄之旅來撰寫所有的個案研討:這趟旅程中的英雄(梟雄)是誰?他要做的艱困決策是什麼?他最後是如何克服這個難關的?

3. 使用者肖像圖

Persona canvas

使用者肖像圖(Persona Canvas)能幫助你更瞭解聽眾。通常我們對聽眾的了解總停留在抽象的狀態,但在所有策略性的互動中,想知道他們會為何而買單,最好要往前多想幾個步驟。聽眾的恐懼、夢想、需求、希望,甚至噩夢是什麼?你越了解他們的行為特質,越能藉此用你的故事打動他們。如果你先花時間把聽眾的使用者肖像圖描繪的活靈活現,最終你一定會因此獲益良多。

4. 說故事架構圖

Story telling canvas

說故事架構圖(Storytelling Canvas)用一種很獨特的方式,幫你整理所有蒐集來的資訊,轉化為一個精心設計、具說服力的故事情節。這個工具的重點是,在設計故事情節時必須將聽眾考慮進去。說故事架構圖亦能幫助你掌握在策略故事中能吸引聽眾、讓他們反應熱烈的關鍵。

我想強調製圖的順序:先完成最上方的主旨(subject)、目標(Goal)等,接著填最左欄的「之前(Before)」,要試著去了解你的目標客現在在想什麼、為了什麼而疲於奔命、他們現在有哪些行為。然後填寫「之後(After)」,也就是在與你的互動(聽完故事)後,你希望他們產生什麼想法,他們的行為、信念有什麼轉變?

Story telling canvas example

這裡有個例子,指揮家 Benjamin Zander 的 TED 演講:古典音樂的力量。我把這個演講的內容製成範例,讓你更清楚該如何使用這個工具;即便你的觀眾(目標客群)跟 Benjamin Zander 的 TED 演講時的觀眾一樣多元,說故事架構圖依然可以幫助你。

藍圖

就像我之前提到的,這些工具無法讓你完成你的故事,但它們可以幫助你建構故事的藍圖,以及故事中需要包含的所有框架,幫你找到讓你與觀眾(目標客群)產生連結的最佳手段。當你有了這藍圖,你想讓故事帶來什麼影響、如何發揮作用,就要你自己做決定了。許多人認為順其自然就好,但這其實是你在設計故事時就要考慮進去的:你想帶來的影響需要用什麼來創造,是你要決定的。也就是說,在設計你的策略故事時,務必要將你想創造的成果牢記於心。

所以,與其埋頭苦幹製作 PowerPoint,不如好好想想是不是有其他方法來說你的故事。不是因為你想弄很多的特效,而是為了你想為人們帶來的影響、想讓他們認識你的專案、想帶領他們踏上成功之路。而所謂的成功,在於你創造了一群能將你的構想不斷傳揚出去的大使。

Comments

Stay Posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.

Strategic Storytelling: bridging ideation and scaling

  • Design Thinking

Strategic Storytelling: bridging ideation and scaling

When people think of running a business or working together, the last thing they would think of is storytelling as a major driver for the success of the business or the success of a team. Often time when we start a new project, the team is assembled <What should you look for when assembling a team? Read my next blog on Building a successful team>, we immediately go into production mode. Dumping data as proof on each other’s desks. As proof of what? Jumping from initial idea directly into “scale mode” means you’ll be skipping some important steps. There is a time for spreadsheets and strategic documents just as there is a time for strategic storytelling.

When you start working together on a (new) project, everything you start with should be focused on inspiring people, creating room for (future) successes, and setting each other up for success. That’s not the moment for lengthy word documents, spreadsheets, or endless meetings where we kill each other with PowerPoints. Not that PowerPoint is a bad thing in and of itself. Yet we’ve all had our fair share of bad presentations. So, you’ll often get a sort of Pavlov response when you step into a meeting with a text-heavy presentation on the screen…and not the kind where you’re drooling and hungry for more (though you may be drooling). More likely you’ll probably be answering emails and doing other stuff. Job well done? I don’t think so. Especially if the focus should be on scaling an idea, getting people connected to a cause, and infusing them with a passion for this cause.

We’re all storytellers, and we have been since the days of yore… From the time that we scribbled oxen and buffalos on a cave wall all the way up to this very moment when we play with our toys as a child, inventing a whole new reality with us in it as the hero. And we know we all respond well to storytelling. No matter what age you are, you vividly remember (and can probably even paraphrase) your favorite children’s story, your fairy tale. Yet when – in a business context – it’s time to share information (storytelling time), we immediately go at it the wrong way. Mostly because storytelling (i.e. creating a pitch) is part of our checklist and often even the last thing on our list. And not as something that should be designed from the very beginning of your journey.

Although it might sound like a rather touchy-feely topic this strategic storytelling, it’s not. It is nothing more than designing your information sharing moment in such a way that you know you’re going to appeal to the needs of your business audience. You want them to be onboard. You need them to make the project successful. You want them to understand that your cause is their cause. You want to galvanize them into action. Because, at the end, you need a numbers person, and that colleague with the big network, and definitely the one who has the final say.

1. Vision

So, what are the tools you can use to achieve that goal? The most important “tool” is your Point of View. Point of View is not being right, or opinionated. It’s your take on things, your perspective, your vision. It’s a belief that you embrace and what you’re passionate about. It’s the one thing (amidst a lot of initial uncertainty) that helps you to decide what your next step is going to be. It is the metrics you’ll be using to benchmark any result. It’s also an important reason if and why people will connect to your story. Because you’re personally connected via your Point of View. Besides your point of view, you have a couple of tools under your belt that will help you to create a blueprint for your strategic story.

2. Hero’s Journey

Heroes journey canvas

Joseph Campbell, a (mid 20th century) mythologist started reading into all the archetypical hero’s featuring in all the worlds mythology. He realized that they all go on somewhat the same journey: the hero’s journey. In 1949, he wrote a book about that: The Hero With A Thousand Faces. It all starts with everything appearing honky-dory in the life of the hero. At some point, something disrupts the peace and the hero has to make a choice. The hero starts off by denying the problem but ends up being pushed into it whether he wants to or not (it’s fate). After a near-death experience and a lot of hardship, he will arise successfully and returns a better man.

You’re probably thinking, “Hey, that sounds familiar!” And you’re right. Likely 90% of all (Hollywood) movies are based on this blueprint. Scrub to the middle of just about any movie and you’ll find yourself smack in the middle of the mayhem, with the hero in his worst moment in life. Not only is it Hollywood that uses this template. For Design a Better Business we used the Hero’s Journey to Write all the case studies. Who was the hero (rebel) on this journey? What were the hard choices he or she had to make? How did he at the end deal with the adversity?

3. Persona Canvas

Persona canvas

Using the Persona Canvas will help you to understand (in this case) your audience better. Normally we tend to keep our audience abstract. Yet, for any strategic interaction, you’d better go a couple of steps further as to figure out what makes them tick. What are their fears, dreams, needs, hopes and even nightmares? The more “idiosyncrasies” you know the better you’ll be able to use those as triggers in your story. If you take your time to make the persona tangible, you’ll certainly benefit from that at a later stage.

4. Storytelling Canvas

Story telling canvas

The storytelling canvas uniquely helps you to organize all the things you’ve gathered along the way into a strong and designed storyline. The focus of this tool is to design the storyline with the audience (and end) in mind. It’ll also help you to really get a grasp on the triggers you can use in your strategic story, you know they’ll respond well to.

You can read more about the storytelling canvas here. I do want to emphasize the order of things: after filling out the top part (subject, goal, and so forth) continue to the left column “Before”. Try to understand what your audience thinks now, what is keeping them busy, what is their behavior now. Then move to the right column “After”: what do you want them to think, what should be their behavior, their belief after your strategic interaction with them.

Story telling canvas example

To give you an example, I have taken Benjamin Zander’s Ted Talk “The Power of Classical Music” and used it to fill out the Storytelling canvas. It will help you understand better how to use this tool. But also, that it is helpful even when you have a diverse audience as is the case for Benjamin Zander’s talk.

Blueprint

As mentioned neither of these tools will get you your story, but they will help you create the blueprint for your story, including all the building blocks. They help you to figure out what best to use to connect with your audience. Once you have your blueprint it’s up to you to decide how you want to execute your story. What’s the impact you want to make? How do you want to make it stick? Most times people will leave it to change. But it should be part of you designing your story. It is up to you to decide what is needed to create that impact. It goes to show how important it is to always design your strategic story with the end in mind.

So, at that point, instead of leaping towards PowerPoint, think about other ways to tell your story. Not because you want to go for the special effects, but because you want to make an impact on people, inspire them into your project, and set them up for success. And success here means: creating a group of ambassadors to help you scale your idea.

Comments

Stay posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.