高效創新離不開的六大角色

  • 商業模式創新
  • 設計你的策略
  • 設計思考
  • 阿姆斯特丹

「聞之不若見之,
見之不若知之,
知之不若行之。」

幾年前還在經營功能遊戲(serious gaming,指以教授知識技巧、提供專業訓練和模擬為主要內容的遊戲,並廣泛運用於軍事、醫學、工業、教育、科研、培訓等諸多領域)的新創公司時,我把這句古老的中文諺語貼在辦公室的牆上,每天提醒自己人們如何做到高效學習。而這項原則也是我們在開發高互動的教育遊戲時,最重要的設計準則之一。

在之後的職涯中,我更善用此道引領出許多高效團隊。我邀請人們從決策過程的初期就開始參與,賦予信任及自由,讓每個人都能各抒己見、充分被聆聽且全程參與其中,這一切帶來顯著的成效;因為這讓人們能夠為了清楚的共同目標而變得團結、更加積極參與、合作無間、願意提出更棒的構想,以取得更好的成果。

現在,作為 BMI 的策略設計師(Strategy Designer),我和同事們依然採用同樣的原則,來實現我們的核心 DNA:「用戶參與」和「共同創造」,同時也是行之有效的策略手段和創新方法。而對於高效創新至關重要的一點,在於邀請對的人、以對的方式參與其中。因此,為了能成功創新,你會需要以下六種角色的參與:

six roles

 

有理想的反叛份子

有理想的反叛份子(rebel)能夠覺察變革的必要並敢於挺身而出,他們是組織裡的打火石,並具有創業的精神;他們可能存在於組織裡的任何部門,也可能就是你!你是嗎?

事主變大使

你想解決的問題,永遠有一群(甚至多群)正是在面對問題本身的當事人,他們是真正的利害關係人。要如何找到他們呢?想想你想創造的改變會為誰帶來最大的影響——這群人在組織中身兼要職,而且你需要他們的支持,以推動組織的變革;如果一開始就把他們排除在決策之外,他們就無法協助解決,如此「非我所出」的心態將帶來巨大風險。另一方面,若一開始就讓他們參與創新過程,當事人將能提出強而有力的洞見與想法;他們會以創新為己任,從事主變成創新的使者,成為不可或缺的成功之鑰!

高階主管贊助人(The executive sponsor)

創新等於學習,學習等於嘗試失敗。人們常說快速失敗是必須的,但在實務上,尤其是在大企業體系中,更是「知易行難」。當壓力升高、目標成果耗時長於預期之時,往往令人感到焦慮。在這種情況下,人們容易基於恐懼倉促決策,而不是根據實驗中獲得的事實洞見,進一步做正確的判斷、訂定策略。針對這個問題,你需要強力奧援 —— 一名大而無畏的領袖;他對你充份信任且對於變革與你有同樣的願景,是能為你撐起保護傘的超級英雄。

與眾不同的人選:新鮮人

創新往往由新科技驅動,而作者 Douglas Adams 提出了一套定律,描述人類面對新科技的反應狀態:

  1. 當你出生的時候,世上任何事物都是尋常不過,自然運行天地之間。
  2. 在你 15 到 35 歲之間發明出來的東西,對你而言都是如此新穎、令人興奮和充滿革命性,你可能會藉此發展出自己的事業。
  3. 而 35 歲後出現的任何新事物,在你看來都有違自然之道。

面對現實吧,年紀真的有差!要談創新,你需要一個有著嶄新思維、想法與眾不同的人:世界在他的眼中,是充滿機會的遊樂場,帶著初學者的心態、開放的態度、充滿熱情,且對事物不抱成見。通常這類型的人,都是生長於新世代的年輕人。

顧客

長話短說,如果不與真正(潛在)的顧客溝通,創新根本無從談起,離開辦公桌吧!!

引導師

引導師負責帶領、引導整個創新的設計流程。他掌控全局、監督過程及進展,聚集所有參與者,並同步所有人的目標和願景,使各項工作如期運轉。這個人不懼挑戰、會把你拉出辦公室和真正的顧客交談,並且使命必達。

當你為團隊找齊這六個角色,就可以準備大展身手了!接下來,使用團隊章程圖來制定作戰計畫,並打造一支所向披靡的創新團隊!

當你看到需要改革的時候,別害怕,做個反叛份子站出來。記住,付出的努力必定有所回報,做就對了!還有,別孤軍奮戰!若需要優秀的引導者搭檔,請隨時聯繫我,我和同事們都很樂意協助!

最後,請記住……

「絕佳的競爭優勢,無關資金、亦非策略和科技,而是來自——團隊合作,因為它不但難能可貴,更將為你帶來勢不可擋的力量。」– Patrick Lencioni –

 

Comments

Stay Posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.

Six roles to involve for effective innovation

  • Amsterdam
  • Business Model Innovation
  • Design Thinking
  • Design your Strategy

“Tell me and I forget,
Show me and I might remember
Involve me and I understand“

Years ago, when I was running a startup in serious gaming, I had put this old Chinese verb on the wall in my office. It reminded me every day of how people effectively learn. We used this principle as one of the most important design criteria for our highly interactive educational games.

Later in my career I used this wisdom to build and lead effective teams. Involving people from the start in the decision making, giving them the freedom and trust to speak up, share their thoughts, be heard and be involved, really proved to be successful. People were strongly aligned around clear and shared goals, were more engaged, created better ideas, worked better together and achieved better results.

Nowadays, working as a Strategy Designer at BMI, me and my colleagues use the same principle to do both. ‘User involvement’ and ‘co-creation’ are at the core of our DNA and our proven method for strategy and innovation. We have seen that involving the right people and to involve them in the right way, are crucial for effective innovation. So, here are 6 roles you should involve for successful innovation.

six roles

 

The rebel

The rebel is the one who sees the need for change and dares to step up. It’s the fire starter, the entrepreneurial mind. The rebel could be anywhere in your organization. It could be you. Are you?

Problem owners to turn into ambassadors

These are the ones (multiple people!) that are actually dealing with the problem you want to solve. They are the main stakeholders. How to find them? Think about who will experience the most impact of the change you are seeking for. People on crucial positions in your organization, that need to follow you and enforce the organizational change. If you don’t involve them from the start, they will not be part of the solution. The risk of ‘not invented here’ will be huge. On the other hand, the problem owners are the ones that, when you involve them from the start, come up with strong insights and ideas during the innovation process. They will take ownership of the innovation and become ambassadors. Essential for success!

The executive sponsor

Innovation equals learning and learning equals failures. It’s often said that you need to fail fast. In practice, especially in big corporates, this is easier said than done. When pressure rises, and desired results take longer than expected, people tend to get nervous and decisions are made based on fear, instead on factual insights gathered from experimentation on which you can build further upon. To cope with this, you need someone to back you up. A fearless leader who believes in you and shares your vision for change. A superhero with a shit umbrella.

An unusual suspect: the kid

Innovation is often driven by new technology. Author, Douglas Adams came up with a set of rules that describe our reactions to new technology.

  1. Anything that is in the world when you’re born is normal and ordinary and is just a natural part of the way the world works.
  2. Anything that’s invented between when you’re fifteen and thirty-five is new and exciting and revolutionary and you can probably get a career in it.
  3. Anything invented after you’re thirty-five is against the natural order of things.”

Let’s face it, age does matter. When it comes to innovation you need someone with a fresh mind, someone who thinks differently and sees the world as a playground full of opportunities. Someone with the beginners’ mind; an attitude of openness, eagerness, and lack of preconceptions. Most often these are the youngsters that are born and raised in a new reality.

The customer

Let’s keep it short here. You can’t innovate without speaking to actual (potential) customers. Get out of the building!!

The facilitator

This is the person that leads the innovation process. The one that is in control, oversees the process and progress, engages all the people involved, aligns them around shared goals and vison and sets things in motion. Someone who challenges continuously, actually drags you out of the building to speak to your customers and makes sure things happen.

Involve these six roles in your team and you’re ready to play. Next, use the team charter canvas to create your battle plan and become an unstoppable innovation team!

So, whenever you see the need for change, don’t be afraid. Be a rebel and step up. Remember, live rewards action! So, just do it! And do it together! And in case you’re in need of a good facilitator to team up with, please feel free to reach out to me. Me and my colleagues are glad to help!

And remember…
” Not finance. Not strategy. Not technology. It is teamwork that remains the ultimate competitive advantage, both because it is so powerful and so rare.”
– Patrick Lencioni –

 

Comments

Stay posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.