做足準備,因應不確定性

  • Strategic Visioning

許多事情都可能讓您迷失方向,或許是有人不認同您的領導方針;又或許是計畫之外的事情發生,阻礙了成功之路。這就是為什麼了解如何克服難關,並打造能夠因應未來變化的企業至關重要。

絕非只關乎執行力

不確定性有諸多形式,可能是全球流行病的爆發,也可能是其它各種狀況。好比說,您在一間航運公司工作,主要業務是將商品經由蘇伊士運河從亞洲運送至歐洲。

公司裡所有員工都清楚知道該做的事有哪些,所有事情也都計畫好,並按照預期進行。但是,出乎所有人意料之外,突然有一艘船擋住了運河,接著,棘手的問題就來了,該如何將商品送至市場?

這裡要強調的是,對於領導團隊來說,要處理未知的事情,狀況會非常不一樣。面對這樣的情形,您需要的是不同的方法,而具備設計思維能力以及清楚的願景能協助您在不確定的情況下採取行動。

這對於要打造能夠因應未來的公司至關重要。

對企業領導人來說,要訂出短期的正確方向相當不容易,但要制定一項屬於全公司的五年、甚至十年長期策略更是困難。

超前部署

要因應不確定性就必須為未來作好打算。確實,要預測會有一艘船擋住蘇伊士運河著實困難,但事前先思考過這些難以預見的情況,以及若真的發生,能否快速採取行動,對於解決問題極其重要。

許多公司通常較重視公司治理,而非思索公司未來的價值所在,這些公司只著眼於短期目標而不是長期藍圖。但若沒有長期計劃,您的商業模式很有可能招致反對。

為了解決這個難題,許多成功企業採取堅定的態度,並善用「搜尋 v.s. 執行」這個概念。這些企業以「搜尋」的思維面對意料之外的事情,並將這樣的做事方式推及到每日的例行工作上,這也讓他們得以作足完善的準備。

這就是為什麼以「未來為導向」的公司得以清楚地了解市場走向、消費者行為,以及競爭對手。這些公司整體的思維使他們能夠更快地發現及處理潛在問題,也由於具備「搜尋」能力,他們知道如何快速解決問題。

成功企業都這麼做

大型企業要成功,就必須要有良好平衡的短期及長期重點目標,Tesla、SpaceX 以及 IKEA 便是幾個絕佳的例子。即便他們的發展重點不一樣,但都有各自的目標及方向,這使得他們能夠更快地朝著正確的方向前進。

前述舉的例子都是大型企業,但其實這樣的方法也同樣適用於小型公司。舉例來說,在荷蘭,有一間擁有 25 名員工的小型屠宰場。他們著眼的並非要成為荷蘭最大的肉商,而是要成為「未來的肉商」,並思考在消費者逐漸降低肉類消費的趨勢之下,他們會受到什麼樣的影響。

要做到這點,就必須積極搜尋價值所在。因此,這間公司不僅僅只是抱持樂觀態度繼續販售肉類產品,而是主動去因應肉類消費持續下降的市場,這也使他們得以提前計劃,並打造一個經的起考驗、可以因應不確定性的商業模式。

想知道 BMI·方略 能如何協助您因應不確定性嗎?不要客氣,來聊聊吧

來聊聊吧

Comments

Stay Posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.

Setting yourself up for dealing with uncertainty

  • Strategic Visioning

Maybe your leadership is not on the same page, or maybe unplanned events block your path to success. Many things can make you lose track. That’s why it’s crucial to know how to move past it and build a futureproof business.

It is not only about execution

Uncertainty can come in many forms, it could be a global pandemic. But let’s say you’re working in a company that ships products from Asia to Europe via the Suez Canal. Everyone who is part of the operation knows exactly what needs to be done.

Everything is planned out and works as it should. But all of a sudden, there’s a ship blocking the canal. Then the problem becomes; how do we get the value to the market?

The point is that, for leadership teams, it is different when you are dealing with many unknowns. You need a different approach where design thinking capability and a clear vision where to go will enable you to act in uncertain situations.

That’s a big part of futureproofing your company.

It’s hard for leaders to set the right course for the short term. But it’s even harder to develop a long-term strategy of five or even ten years and share this with the whole company.

Thinking ahead

Planning for the future is vital to dealing with uncertainty. And while it’s hard to predict a ship blocking the Suez Canal, it’s crucial to think about these unforeseen situations and when they have the ability to act quickly.

A lot of companies tend to prioritise governing over thinking about future value; focusing on the short term rather than the long-term. But without a long-term plan, your business model may be a nesting ground for naysayers.

Many successful businesses have found a way around this working from a strong point of view together with using the notion of Search versus Execute. Using the search mindset for the unexpected becomes a daily routine – making them much better prepared.

That’s why a future-oriented business is one that has a clear view of what happens in their market, consumer behaviour, and competitors. Their overall perspective allows them to spot and deal with potential problems much quicker and with their search capability now how to quickly tackle this.

Successful businesses use this method

Tesla, SpaceX, and IKEA are just a few examples of large businesses successfully balancing long term and short term focus. Even though their focus is split, they have purpose and direction – which allows them to move much faster in the right direction.

But even though these businesses are massive, the same ideas apply to small businesses as well. For example, there is a small butchery in the Netherlands with 25 employees. Their vision was not to become the largest in the country but rather to become the “butcher of the future” and figure out what that means for customers who eat less and less meat.

For them, becoming this means actively searching for value. Instead of selling meat and hoping for the best, they’re adapting to a changing market with declining meat consumption – allowing them to plan ahead, and create a futureproof business model that can deal with uncertainty.

Would you like to know how BMI can help you deal with uncertainty? Let’s talk!

Let's talk

Comments

Stay posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.