我們協助企業創新的實驗流程

  • 商業模式創新

「創新」這個詞比表面上看起來要複雜得多。如果您有持續追蹤我們的新文章,就會知道,實驗是創新不可或缺的一環,尤其是想降低生意風險的話,實驗更是扮演關鍵角色。

今天要分享的主題是 BMI 如何將實驗融入我們與客戶間的合作,以及我們用來推動成功的模型,快來一探究竟。

奠定創新基礎

對任何創新專案來說,有個清晰的願景作為開端十分重要,也就是知道您想去哪裡、為什麼想去,以及計劃怎麼去。

清晰的願景不只是成功的墊腳石,也是極為關鍵的起點。這包括了知道自己正在做什麼與這麼做的原因、為自己設下明確的範圍,以及確保背後有個跨領域團隊,且這些成員皆具備適切的技能及正確的心態,能夠以創業家的精神應變不確定性並帶來成長。

在這些前提條件下,您就可以輕鬆刪去任何可能阻礙您為客戶提供價值解決方案的假設。要做到這點,有以下三個階段要完成:

  1. 建立顧客素描(customer profile),確定目標客群以及他們的痛點,如此一來,就可以更深入了解客戶需求、行為及待解問題的深度和廣度。
  2. 針對客戶的痛點提出潛在解決方案的價值主張,並透過嚴格的實驗過程來驗證。藉此,您可以測試假設、考量新的商業模式並進一步探索其它可能性。
  3. 形塑有效的商業模式,除了設計以外,商業模式也需要被建構、測試和驗證過。

前兩個階段驗證的是解決方案的需求性(desirability),第三個階段驗證的是商業模式的存續性(viability)及技術可行性(feasibility)。對這些要素進行反覆驗證是打造成功解決方案的一大關鍵,此外,也有助於決定是否轉向 (pivot)。有時候,驗證有助於判斷解決方案是否值得追求。

持續實驗的方法

在帶領客戶完成這三個階段時,我們使用 SPEED 流程來驗證假設成立與否,並藉此建立客戶對自己想法的信心。首先,這個過程必須以成功的指標及標準作為大框架,這樣一來,在實驗時內心才會有個基準;此外,也必須包括以下步驟:

SPEED process

  • S 提出假設(Spot assumptions):在此階段,我們與客戶攜手,一同思考他們如何理解顧客的痛點、找出顧客的興趣所在,並了解顧客如何與產品互動。
  • P 優先排序(Prioritize assumptions):接著,我們將所有假設列在座標圖上,座標橫軸衡量每個假設對於客戶生意的重要程度,縱軸則是我們已知可以支持該假設的證據數量。重要性高、但支持證據不足的假設會伴隨最高的風險,因此是個很好的起點。
  • E 實驗設計(Experiment design):實驗必須根據關鍵假設來設計。這包括明確鎖定目族標群、設定預期結果,以及定義成功的指標和標準,作為驗證假說是否成立的基準。
  • E 執行實驗(Execute experiment):假設和實驗設計都準備就緒,便是時候開始實驗了。
  • D 數據分析(Data analytics):實驗結果將決定假設是否成立。記得,快速失敗和成功一樣有價值。得到結果後,可以根據您的發現來決定是否需要轉向或調整方向,以及哪些可以持續列為優先考量。

不過,實驗過程並不止於此。一旦驗證了假設是否成立(成立與否都很重要),便可以在不同環境與條件下進行連續實驗,或在更大的規模下確認實驗結果,或是推翻原來的假設。這麼做能提供更多證據,協助降低專案風險,並向您的主管證明此專案的價值,也能讓您更有信心。

整體來說,訂定明確範圍,但同時保持彈性,是實現願景的重要關鍵。透過這個方法及心態,您能夠始終以客觀誠實的角度來評估證據,並在整個過程中對於轉向及改變抱持開放態度。

這並不是說結構化的流程和清晰的願景不再重要,它們仍具其功能,但當不再合適時,您可以、且應該重新繪製全新的藍圖,這就是實驗的魅力所在。

想知道將以上這些方法運用在你的組織中會是什麼樣子嗎?別再猶豫,現在就下載我們的實驗操作手冊(Experimentation playbook)、然後走出辦公室驗證你的想法吧!

立即下載手冊

Comments

Stay Posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.

Our approach to experimentation

  • Business Model Innovation

Innovation. It’s a term that’s much more complex than it seems on the surface. If you’ve been reading our recent posts, you know that experimentation is a crucial piece of the puzzle when it comes to innovation — particularly if you want to de-risk your business .

Today, we’re talking about how BMI builds experimentation into our work with our customers and the models we use to drive success. Have a look.

Build a foundation for innovation

For any innovation project, it’s important to start with a clear vision of where you want to go, why you want to go there, and how you plan to do it.

This is setting yourself up for success and it’s a vital starting point. It involves getting understanding what you’re doing and why, giving yourself a clear scope, and ensuring that you have a multidisciplinary team with the right skills and mindset – able to navigate uncertainty, entrepreneurship, and growth.

With these things secured, you can easily weed out any assumptions that could get in the way of delivering a valuable solution to your customers. This can be done in three stages:

  1. Developing a customer profile that identifies who you’re targeting and what their pain points are – to give you a better understanding of their needs, behaviour, and the scale of the problem defined.
  2. Building a value proposition for a potential solution for these pain points — one that can be validated through a rigorous experimentation process. This allows you to test assumptions, consider new business models, and explore other areas.
  3. Developing a valid business model – as well as being designed, it also needs to be built, tested, and validated.

In the first two stages, you validate the desirability of your solution. In the third, you validate the viability and feasibility of your business model. Iterating on these elements is key to making the solution successful – or helping to make definitive pivot. Sometimes validation helps to determine whether a solution is worth pursuing.

An approach for continuous experimentation

When we take our customers through these three stages, we use our SPEED process to (in)validate assumptions and build confidence in their ideas. The process is first framed with success metrics and criteria — so that you can experiment with a benchmark in mind — and includes the following steps:

SPEED process

  • Spot assumptions: In this step, we work with our clients to identify what they think they know about what their customer pain points are, what their interests are, and how they might engage with a product.
  • Prioritize assumptions: We place all of the assumptions on a grid that measures how important it is for the business on one axis, and the amount of evidence we already have to support the assumption on the other. High importance assumptions with little evidence are the riskiest, which makes them a good place to start.
  • Experiment design: Design your experiment with strong hypotheses in mind. You need to identify a target group, what you expect of the outcome, and the success metrics and criteria that define the benchmark for validation (or invalidation).
  • Execute experiment: With your assumption and design ready, it’s time to launch the experiment
  • Data analytics: The results of your experiment will determine whether your assumption is true or not. Remember: failing fast is just as valuable as being right. You can use your insights to determine where you should pivot or change your direction, and what areas you can continue to prioritize.

The experimentation process doesn’t stop there. Once you’ve validated or invalidated your assumptions — it’s important to do both, after all — you can run consecutive experiments in different contexts to confirm the results  on a bigger scale or to prove yourself wrong. Doing this will provide you with even more evidence that can de-risk your project and prove its value to your executives – giving you even more confidence.

Overall, having a clear scope, yet remaining flexible in the way you work towards your vision, are crucial to success. This kind of approach and attitude enables you to always be honest, evaluate the evidence, and remain open to changes and pivots throughout the process.

That’s not to say that a structured process and a clear vision aren’t important. They serve a purpose. But when they no longer fit, they can – and should – be redrawn. That’s the beauty of experimentation.

Curious to see what this could look like at your organization? Wait no longer, start with our Experimentation Playbook and get out of the building.

Download playbook

Comments

Stay posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.