創造企業影響力

  • Business Model Shifts
  • 商業模式轉型

不論是從產品導向轉型成以服務為導向、將永續概念融入商業模式核心,還是以顛覆性商業模式為業界設下新標準,企業所產生的影響能為世界帶來正面改變,並吸引更多忠實客戶,這兩者並非無法兼得。

企業的所作所為不僅會深深地影響消費者,對社會及自然環境也同樣會具有長遠的影響力。若希望您的企業能對世界產生深遠、正面的影響,首先您必須投入長期價值創造,並積極尋找能創新的機會。

找到對的問題

在當今的世界,人類備受各式問題挑戰,包括社會、環境、物流及其它諸多難題,而這些問題並不會憑空消失。若您的企業想帶來影響,便應積極尋求機會,為這些問題提出解決方案。

首先,思考一下當今全球面臨最迫在眉睫的議題,好比說塑膠污染。塑膠污染的根本原因在於人類所創造出的全球生產及消費模式,而廢棄物便是這當中的副產品,為地球帶來嚴重破壞。而早在 1990 年代,Nike 便開始思考如何使廢棄物不再只是廢棄物。他們想像了一個沒有廢棄物的世界,為了使想像成真,便開始推動 Nike Grind 商業模式。Nike Grind 專門收集舊鞋,並將鞋子磨碎成高品質的顆粒,如此,便可將廢棄物轉換為一系列可回收材料,以用於生產新鞋及其它運動用品。Nike Grind 商業模式解決了廢棄物問題、滿足了客戶需求,並為世界帶來正面的影響。

(Nike Grind 的故事在 BMI·方略所出版的新書《商業模式轉型 Business Model Shifts 》中也有提及)

創新來自為客戶解決問題

2018 年,塑膠管製造商 Wavin 的母公司 ── Mexichem 化工公司決定將公司所關心的重點從股東轉為利害關係人,並成為一間目標導向企業,致力於關心社會及環境議題,特別是永續發展。

2019 年,Mexichem 轉型並更名為 Orbia,而 Orbia 旗下公司所組成的社群全都有相同的目標,並受共同目標約束。正如 Orbia 官方網站上所說的:「我們了解到,剛靠一己之力,無法獨自解決目前世界所面臨最嚴峻的挑戰。因此,我們召集具創新能力的企業互相合作,並提出以人為本的解決方式,一同共創更美好的未來。」

Orbia 強而有力又大膽的願景也成為了創造新價值的動力,促使 Orbia 旗下所有公司開始推動全新的商業模式,這當然也包括了 Wavin。2019 年,Wavin 在英國推出了 StormForce 計畫,StormForce 為一項一站式雨水管理解決方案,可協助解決因氣候變遷所造成的都市淹水及高溫。而 Wavin 之所以會開發 StormForce 便是因為其深諳水資源管理不善所造成的社會問題,以及專案開發商的需求。

透過與客戶的密切互動,Wavin UK 了解到,他們的商業模式必須轉型,過往,他們著重於產品銷售,但現在,他們致力於為客戶提供一站式雨水管理解決方案。StormForce 計畫的本質是一以服務為導向的商業模式,能夠同時為客戶及社會解決問題。

面對未來

追根究柢,「影響」這個概念涵蓋層面其實相當廣泛,絕非僅關乎企業的營運。想帶來影響,就必須有強而有力且大膽的遠景,才能讓客戶、合作夥伴以及社會清楚地了解您能為世界帶來什麼樣的改變。誠如 Nike Grind 及 Wavin StormForce 的例子,要使願景成真,就必須擁有創新的商業模式。

這就是為什麼除了著重於當前的商業模式之外,更重要的是要具有遠大的願景、積極與社會溝通您的理想、持續探索創造價值的新方法,以及打造更聚焦的新商業模式。這也是在當今變化莫測的世界裡,策略的價值所在。

BMI·方略 使用經驗證的方式協助您尋找解決問題機會。如欲了解相關細節,歡迎閱讀未來商業選項(Future visioning)的服務內容。

Comments

Stay Posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.

Making an impact with your business

  • Business Model Shifts

Whether it’s turning a product into a service business, integrating sustainability into the core of your business model, or setting new standards with your game-changing business model, making an impact means providing something positive for the world and attracting customers to stand behind you. The two aren’t mutually exclusive by any means.

An impact is something that leaves a lasting imprint not only on your customer, but also on society and the (natural) environment. Making such a profound impact with your business, requires a long-term value creation perspective and pro-actively looking for opportunities to do something really new and innovative.

Finding the right problems

Many societal, environmental, logistical and other sorts of problems challenge humanity today, and these are not problems that go away by themselves. Solutions for these problems are the opportunities you need to look to in order to make an impact with your business.

Consider one of the world’s most pressing issues, like plastic pollution. The root cause of pollution is obviously the way we setup the global production and consumption system, with waste as the devastating byproduct. Back in the 1990s, Nike realized that waste does not have to be waste. They envisioned a world without waste and started to develop the Nike Grind business model. Nike Grind collects used shoes, grinds them into their high-quality components. This resulted in a whole range of recycled materials that is used to produce new shoes as well as athletic surfaces. The Nike Grind business model tackles the waste problem, fulfills customer needs, and generates a positive impact.

(This case in covered in our latest book ‘Business Model Shifts’)

Innovation is solving customer problems

In 2018, Wavin’s parent company Mexichem decided to shift their perspective from shareholders to stakeholders, become a purpose-led company that commits to solving important societal and environmental issues particularly around sustainability.

In 2019, Mexichem evolved into Orbia, a community of companies bound by a shared purpose. As stated on their website: “We recognize that we can’t solve the world’s biggest challenges alone. We convene innovative businesses and enable them to take a collaborative, human-centered approach to creating a better future.”

This strong and bold vision became the driver of new value creation, igniting the shift towards new business models for all Orbia companies, including Wavin. In 2019, Wavin launched StormForce in the UK. StormForce is a turnkey solution for storm water management, addressing the problem of flooding and heat stress in cities caused by climate change. StormForce was developed due to a true understanding of the societal problems brought about by poor water management and the needs of project developers.

Through interaction with customers, Wavin UK realised they needed to shift from selling products towards a turnkey solution for storm water management. The StormForce proposition is embedded in a service business model that solves an important customer and societal problem.

Facing the future

Ultimately, ‘impact’ as a concept relates to something broader – not just your business. A strong and bold vision clearly articulates and communicates the difference you make in the world: for your customers, partners, and society. Business model innovation is needed to realize the vision as demonstrated by Nike Grind and Wavin StormForce.

This is why it’s wise to develop and communicate a powerful vision, explore new ways to create value, and develop specific new business models, alongside your current business model. This is what strategy is all about in today’s ever changing and dynamic context.

We use tried and true methods to find your next opportunity for problem solving. Interested? Read about Future visioning.

Comments

Stay posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.