YouTube的商業模式

  • Business Model Shifts
  • 商業模式轉型

什麼?下一集要等一個禮拜??

我們都有在電視機前追劇的美好回憶,但想看下一集總要等上一整個禮拜實在很煩。電視節目製作公司不但需要大量時間來拍攝和製作節目,同時也要讓收視率保持一定的水準才能吸引廣告商的投資,這就是為什麼電視節目總被塞滿了廣告,打斷人們所追求的沉浸式觀看體驗。要達到每個人都能隨時觀看無限供應且品質好的節目,似乎很難被實現。

 

電視台:仍然以「主導閱聽大眾可以消費哪些內容」的線性商業模式為主(pipeline business model)

 

網路將人們聚在一起

在eBay收購PayPal之後,由於現金充裕,那時還在PayPal工作的Jawed Karim、Chad Hurley和陳士駿(Steve Chen)決定著手解決在使用網路時遇到的問題:他們想架個網站來改善當時市面上拙劣的影片共享服務。與此同時,他們注意到當時網路被當作一個傳遞資訊的管道,而且資訊都是精密策劃過的內容,並由企業和廣告商掌控著用戶能在網上觀看或購買的一切。

這三人建置網站的靈感來自當時的網路交友服務平台HotOrNot(用戶在使用該服務時可以自己上傳影片和照片),那時網路上還沒有其他網站可以讓用戶上傳自製內容,並讓觀眾自由觀看和與之互動。這個概念備受用戶喜愛,因為消費者不只想看,更想參與製作內容。

YouTube在2005年情人節問世,用戶自製的影音內容是服務的核心,讓企業和個人都能透過這個平台將自己製作的影片散佈到全世界。

 

YouTube:將創作者和觀眾聚在一起的平台商業模式(platform business model)

 

YouTube為內容創作者提供了一個展示自製高品質影片的平台,也提供觀眾看似無限供應的娛樂內容。兩者間不僅有著依存關係,同時還能互動交流,讓創作者藉此能製造觀眾想看的內容,而觀眾也可以在隨時選擇他們要看的內容。在雙方皆被賦予的新權利的同時,也完全顛覆了多媒體娛樂世界。

 

與消費者互動的嶄新模式

每月超過20億的網路活躍用戶中有79%的人有YouTube帳號,足以展現這個影音串流平台的成功。它的成功並沒有被忽視,2006年Google出其不意的收購YouTube,並藉此建立自家搜尋引擎的廣告帝國。當觀眾被他們喜歡的內容帶進網路平台時,廣告商也隨之而來。YouTube不僅徹底改變了人們娛樂消費的方式,還改變了廣告商鎖定目標客群的方法,數位行銷的時代由此拉開序幕。

 

接下來看什麼影片我們說了算

媒體消費(media consumption)的概念已經變得十分個人化:消費者需要「相關」且「持續」的內容,而且每天都有新的頻道在YouTube上架。有人想在網路上一舉成名,而觀眾則樂於收穫新的娛樂來源。

很多父母可能不知道,他們的孩子整天在看的那位21歲玩電玩的「YouTuber」收入高達上百萬。即便娛樂業仍是個競爭激烈的行業,也不是人人都能達到如此成就,但透過這種同儕共享,你我都有機會引領風潮。

內容創作者在平台上發布的影片,皆由同儕評審團來評價。也就是說哪支影片的觀看次數最多不是由廣告商來控制,而是取決於普羅大眾。就是這種以用戶為中心的系統,和善用人類以生俱來的創造力和想像力,將YouTube打造成一個家喻戶曉的影音網站。

 

從這個案例可以學到什麼?

YouTube透過建立一個全新的客群「YouTubers」,將不同的群體聚在一起互動,是「平台化轉型(platform shift)」的最佳典範。多數的YouTubers不是內容創作者出身,只是素人,一旦給他們機會揮灑自己的創意,一個 move 華麗轉身,居然能開創截然不同的新職涯。

YouTube透過內容創作者,做到內容資源自足。像這樣盡可能讓生意達成自動化運作,是成就指數型成長的關鍵要素之一。

這個商業模式的起點和最核心的部分,是作為串連產品服務交換的雙方一個的重要媒介。能有效做到這點,將很難被任何市場上其他競爭者所取代。YouTube做到了,人們提到使用者原創的影音串流服務,第一個想到的就是YouTube!

在這段艱難的時期,善用數位技術的力量來強化、甚至取代既有的核心商業模式,將有助於生意發展。Google就是用YouTube徹底翻轉廣告業的生態。想知道如何為自己的生意創造改變嗎?每週我們會從 2020 即將出版的新書 Business Model Shifts(商業模式轉型),擷取部分內容分享到部落格給大家。當然,也歡迎你直接與我們聯繫

 

本案例出自我們即將出版的 Business Model Shifts (商業模式轉型)一書。

 

下載試閱本

Comments

Stay Posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.

The business model of YouTube

  • Business Model Shifts

Next week’s episode

We all have fond memories of watching our favorite show on television, at the same time we all know how annoying it was to have to wait an entire week for the next episode. Television studios need a lot of time to film and produce these shows. Rating also need to be kept as consistent as possible to remain attractive to advertisers. Scheduled television was and still is littered with adverts which interrupt the sought after immersive viewing experience. A limitless supply of high-quality content that could be accessed by anyone at any time seemed like an impossible dream.

 

Television: a pipeline business model controlling how we consume content

Business Model Canvas Television

The Internet should bring people together

After being flushed with cash after eBay’s acquisition of PayPal, Jawed Karim, Chad Hurley and Steve Chen decided to get to work on solving a problem they faced while using the internet. They wanted to set-up a website that would alleviate the clunky video-sharing solutions that were available on the market at the time. They also noticed that the internet was being used as a pipeline of curated content. Businesses and advertisers controlled everything that users could consume online.

The trio was heavily inspired by HotOrNot, an online dating service that got users to upload videos and pictures of themselves. Up to this point there was no other website on the internet that enabled users to upload content for the public to view and interact with. This concept was loved by users. Consumers wanted to not only to watch the content they wanted to contribute to it.

On Valentine’s day 2005, the trio sat down and created YouTube. YouTube made user generated content a core part of its service. Both companies and individuals were given a tool with which they could broadcast themselves to the world.

 

YouTube: A platform business model bringing creators and viewers together

Business Model Canvas Youtube

 

Content creators were given a platform to display their high-quality videos and viewers were given a seemingly limitless supply of entertainment. The two parties were not only connected with each other, but they could interact with one another. Allowing creators to produce content that users requested. A whole new level of power was bestowed upon both parties. Viewers could choose exactly what they wanted to watch, when they wanted to watch it. The world of multimedia entertainment would never be the same again.

 

New ways to engage with consumers

With over 2 billion active monthly users and 79% of internet users saying they have a YouTube account; it is safe to say that the video streaming platform has reached the heights of success. This success didn’t go unnoticed. Google swooped in and purchased the website in 2006 to help build the search engine’s online advertising empire. As viewer appetite for content led them to online platforms, advertisers followed. Not only did YouTube revolutionize the way we consume entertainment, it also changed the way advertisers targeted viewers. The age for digital marketing came into full swing.

 

What to watch or create next is now up to us

The whole concept of media consumption has become very personal. Consumers demand relevant content and they want this content all the time. Everyday there are new channels created on YouTube. People want a shot at internet stardom, while viewers welcome new sources of entertainment with open arms.

Most parents do not know that the 21-year-old “YouTuber” that their kids are watching play video games all day, is actually bringing home a seven-figure salary. Not everyone can reach the heights of success as entertainment is still a very competitive industry, but through this peer-based sharing everybody has a shot to create a following.

Every video posted by a content creator on the platform is judged by a jury of their peers. Advertisers do not decide which content is the most viewed, it is the everyday person that decides. It is this user-centric system that harnesses the innate power of human creativity and imagination that continues to build YouTube into a household name.

 

What can we learn from this?

YouTube is a perfect example of the “platform shift”, bringing parties together that would never have met. The company has done this by creating a brand new customer segment, “YouTubers”. Most YouTubers are not content creators that decided to adopt an online channel, they are everyday people. Once they were given the opportunity to unleash their creativity, they left their old lives behind.

YouTube leveraged these content creators to create a self-sufficient supply of resources. Automating as much of your business as you can, as YouTube has done, is one of the key elements of exponential growth.

Acting as a bridge for the exchange of products and services between parties is the beginning of a strong core business model. Being able to do this more effectively that any of your competitors will solidify your position in the market. YouTube did this and now it is the first user-generated video streaming service that comes to mind.

In these difficult times, it is utilizing the power of digital technology to compliment or even replace your core business model that will help business thrive. Google used YouTube to revolutionize the advertising industry. Want to learn how you can do the same? We will be releasing weekly blog posts with content from our upcoming book. You can also reach out to us directly.

 

This case is part of our upcoming book Business Model Shifts.

 

Please keep me informed about the new book

Comments

Stay posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.