推動數位改革,顛覆所在產業:成功案例分享

  • Business Model Shifts
  • 商業模式轉型

當今的世界瞬息萬變,每天都有前所未見的創新點子及危機出現,造成消費者的需求改變,而世界各地的企業也無不努力追求跟上時代。隨著 COVID-19 持續蔓延,消費者的需求也再一次有了巨大的轉變,為了因應客戶不斷變化的需求,許多公司也積極利用進步的科技,來為消費者提供更適切的產品及服務,以下就來看看幾間成功公司的案例:

 

Local Motors

Local Motors 為一間美國汽車公司,致力於打造屬於未來的交通工具。Local Motors 堅信開放式協同合作及共同創造的力量,也以截然不同之舉顛覆了汽車製造業。Local Motors 成功地開發了全新方式,使其得以用比一般成本低上許多的價格來設計、製造及銷售汽車。這一切,都是因為 Local Motors 擁有自有的微型工廠網絡,並利用了如 3D 列印這類的先進技術,這也使其能夠在破天荒的 18 個月之內就將 Rally Fighter 車款推向市場。2014 年,Local Motors 也釋出了全球首輛 3D 列印車,之所以能有如此成就,是因為 Local Motors 旗下的車款只有約 50 件零組件;而一般汽車的零組件則約有 30,000 個。Local Motors 致力於多項創新,包括旗下共創的成果──自駕電動載客車Olli,目前,Olli 也已在全球三個國家提供服務。點此以詳細了解 Local Motors 的故事。

 

Metromile

說到汽車保險,大家都認為得要按月支付保費,才能在汽車發生事故或損壞時獲得理賠;然而,Metromile 卻以創新的方式顛覆了傳統的汽車保險流程。自 1897 年第一輛汽車問世以來,產值高達 2,880 億美元的汽車保險產業可說是沒有經歷過什麼重大改變,直到 Metromile 的出現,一切才有所不同。Metromile 依造駕駛的里程數向客戶收取保費,而非像其他保險公司一樣,即便客戶都沒有用車,仍要求支付標準保費。Metromile 的每位客戶都會在車上安裝一個名為 Metromile Pulse 的裝置,該裝置會計算里程數,以決定每位客戶每單位英里的保費。藉此,這間設立於舊金山的公司平均每年為每位客戶省下 741 美元。透過在車上安裝 Metromile Pulse 裝置,Metromile 得以為客戶提供更加個人化的服務,不僅能計算出合適的保費金額,也能協助客戶申請理賠。此外,Metromile 也想出了全新的方式來大幅加速保險流程,並開發出了一款應用程式,讓客戶可以直接在上面安排即時車輛維修。Metromile 為人稱譽之處在於其能夠深入了解客戶的痛點,並善用科技為客戶解決問題,也因此,其得以在市場上脫穎而出,取得成功。點此以詳細了解 Metromile 的故事。

 

Local Motors 和 Metromile 都完美地結合了以客戶為中心的設計及科技創新,以創造出能為客戶解決痛點的價值主張。不論是交通工具還是汽車保險,成功的商業模式設計必須了解客戶的需求,並藉科技協助提出解決方案。

Local Motors 和 Metromile 只是創新藍海中的兩間公司,如欲進一步了解其它創新故事,歡迎參閱 BMI•方略特別整理的趨勢報告,以深入了解不同公司的故事,以及他們如何為客戶提供更好的服務。

下載2021商業模式趨勢報告

Comments

Stay Posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.

Make the digital shift and disrupt your industry: Business model examples

  • Business Model Shifts

We are living in a fast-moving world, where every day new innovations and crises catalyze shifts in consumer demands. Businesses all over the world are on a constant march towards relevancy. With the COVID crisis still underway, the nature of customer needs has once again pivoted. Companies are taking advantage of the improvement of technology to better serve their changing customer needs. Let’s have a look at a couple of these companies:

 

Local Motors

An American ground mobility company that has dedicated it’s resources to design transportation for the future. The company has a strong belief in the power of open-collaboration and co-creation. Local motors is disrupting the transportation manufacturing industry by doing things fundamentally different. The company has developed a method to design, make and sell vehicles at a fraction of the normal costs. The company has a network of micro-factories that utilize technology such as 3D printing to make this possible. Local motors was able to bring their Rally Fighter car to the market in a record breaking 18 months. In 2014, they were also the first company to 3D print a car.  This was possible due to the fact the car consisted of about 50 individual parts whereas a normal car consists of roughly 30,000 parts. The company is working on numerous innovations, including Olli, their co-created self-driving, electric passenger shuttle which is already in service in 3 countries around the world.
Find more about their story here.

 

Metromile

When you think of car insurance you think of paying a monthly premium for a service that covers any accidents or damage that happen to your car. Metromile has innovated the traditional car insurance process. There has been no significant changes to the $288 billion business of car insurance since the first car was developed in 1897. Customers only pay for the miles that they drive the car, rather than paying a standard premium even when they do not drive. Each customer installs a Metromile Pulse into their vehicle, which calculates mileage data to determine how much to charge each customer per mile driven. The San Francisco based company figures that they save their customers $741 per year on average. Having a device in each vehicle gives customers a hyper-personalized experience, not only when generating an appropriate insurance premium but also when it comes to making claims. Metromile has found a way to speed up the insurance process drastically. Customers can schedule repairs through the Metromile app almost instantly. The company has done a fantastic job at looking into the main pains their customers face and then using technology to alleviate that pain. As a result the company has catapulted themselves to success.
Learn more about Metromile here.

 

Both Local Motors and Metromile have seamlessly integrated customer-centric design and technological innovation to develop value propositions that tackle real customer pains. Whether it is through transportation or through car insurance, good business model designs with understanding your customer’s needs and then developing a solution with the aid of technology.

These are just two companies in a sea of innovation, we have developed a trend report where you can learn from a selected number of different companies and what they are doing to better serve their customers.

Download Business Models to watch in 2021

Comments

Stay posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.