4個簡單的步驟讓你重新設計未來

  • 商業模式創新

在不確定的時代創新

這個世界充滿了不確定性,儘管它令人畏懼,卻也帶來更多的機會。當世界被籠罩在新冠狀病毒(COVID-19)的全球流行病中,許多人為盡一己之力驟然現身,為了助人,有些人展開了全新的事業、有些人則是針對既有生意進行轉向、調整。在當前這波全球災難的關鍵時刻,我們需要幾位領導人適時採取行動、探索可能的機會、並讓群體能共同合作發展。

在商場上打滾也是如此,我們本來就必須不斷的思索,要如何去保持我們生意的穩定,或是要如何擴大規模去照顧到更多人的需求,但是,當碰到這種大規模危機的時候,我們則需要用更長遠的策略角度來思考這些問題。也就是說,當世界再次改變了,為了掌握不確定性所衍生的機會,人們必須改變對生意的想法,BMI歸納了下面四個步驟。

 

1. 重新思考:重頭檢視你的生意

有人說:如果你不清楚自己目前的定位,如何知道該往哪裡前進?在你要重振旗鼓或重頭發展新策略時,第一要務是先拆解既有生意如何發展至如今的模樣,也就是說,需要檢視(過去和現在的)經營環境、更深入了解人們真正的需求和需要,並想想為了應對新的機會,既有商業模式的哪個部分需要重新考量、調整。試著問自己幾個問題:在生意周遭的經營環境發生哪些大事?我現在的商業模式中有哪些部分受到了影響,使得商業模式在現在或未來無法運作?我的顧客需要、想要什麼?不需要、不想要什麼?

 

2. 重新想像:我們想像的未來是什麼樣子?

只有在人們願意重新構思如何應對各種可能的未來,才能有效利用不確定性所帶來的機會。而且,所謂的未來,並非單一種可能,而是從生意的各種角度檢視不同生意前景,並調整我們的願景以應對每個可能的未來。試著這麼想:根據目前的了解,為了讓生意能在充滿不確定性的時期(如同現在我們正在經歷的)仍能蓬勃發展,你會採取哪些不同的(短期和中期)行動?它將為你的願景帶來什麼樣的改變?這不是單純地削減成本就能做到,關鍵是去想像自己的生意能在哪些不同未來情境中蓬勃發展。

 

3. 重新設計:用不同的方法設計

留在便利貼上的點子沒有任何價值。在重新想像可能的未來後,你必須開始為新的商業模式設計(或重新設計)全新的價值主張。通常,這代表你需要思考如何設計數位化的價值主張、通路和商業模式。就如上面提到不要只預測單一的未來一樣,千萬別設計了唯一的價值主張或商業模式就樂觀的覺得一定能成。多設計幾個可以進行測試的選項,然後根據得到的反饋,在適合的時間和地點、有效運用適合的資源。

 

4. 重頭開始:新的工作型態

要搞懂不確定性,就要接受它始終存在的事實,只是某些時候存在感特別強烈。所以應對不確定性不是明天的事,而是我們需要去適應、並用新工作方式去面對的日常。在制定未來策略時,也必須考量如何透過培養內部能力來擴展整個組織的彈性,也就是說,讓組織內的每個人都能像(數位)創業家一樣思考和行動,為滿足當前或未來的需求,不斷實驗、學習、發展新商業模式。

 

以上四個步驟必須歷經反覆多次、漫長且艱難的小規模策略對話及行動。對許多科技新創來說,這只是一種工作常態,對大型組織企業來說,卻可能成為引發恐慌的來源,重點是,新創可以從大型組織身上學習,大型組織也有很多可以向新創公司學習的。我們終將擺脫當前的災難,並找出新生活模式和生意模式。為此,不妨現在就開始設計,並重建我們(及生意)的未來。

Comments

Stay Posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.

4 simple steps to re-create your future

  • Business Model Innovation

Innovation in uncertain times

It goes without saying: the world is filled with uncertainty. Yet, while this is scary to say the least, with more uncertainty comes more opportunity. Think about it. As the world tries to wrap its arms around the global pandemic known as COVID-19, countless millions are coming out of the woodwork to help in one way or another. Many of these heroes are starting completely new ventures or pivoting existing ones in order to help anyone and everyone they can. In global calamities such as we’re seeing at this very moment, what we need most are a few leaders to step up, find the opportunities, and allow the collective to scale them.

 

In the business world it’s no different. While we’re all scrambling to either keep our businesses afloat or scale to address global needs, out of the other side of this current crisis there will be a similar need with longer term strategic ramifications. That is to say, the world has changed once again. And in order to harness opportunity from mass uncertainty, we must change the way we think about our own businesses. At BMI•, we believe this comes down to the following four steps.

 

1. Re-think: think it all over again

It’s been said before: if you don’t know where you are, how can you know where you’re going? One of the first things you must do as you pick up the pieces and begin the process of re-designing your strategy within our new paradigm, is to unravel how your business became what it is at this very moment. This’s about scanning the context (both past and present), doubling down on understanding what people really need and want, and dissecting your business model to understand where it needs to be rethought in order to address new opportunities. Ask yourself these questions: What happened in the context surrounding my business? What’s broken in my current business model that won’t work now or in the future? What do my customers need and want and what don’t they need and want?

 

2. Re-imagine – what do we see next?

The opportunities made clearer through uncertainty can only be harnessed if we’re willing to reimagine what we might do in different future contexts. Mind you, this isn’t about a single future; this is about looking at our businesses from multiple angles and in different futures, then adjusting our vision(s) to address each future. Think about it this way: knowing what you know now, what would you have done differently (short and midterm) to help your business thrive in uncertain times like we’re experiencing now? How would this change your vision? This shouldn’t just be about cost cutting alone. This is about imaging multiple future scenarios where your business thrives.

 

3. Re-design – design differently

Ideas are worth nothing more than the space they take up on a single sticky note. Once you’ve reimagined possible futures, you must begin the work of designing (or redesigning) wholly new value propositions embedded in business models that have also been designed for the future. In most cases this means you’ll need to consider how to design for digital value propositions, channels, and business models. And, just as you cannot predict a single future, don’t design one value proposition or business model and hope for the best. Create options that you can test, deploying the right elements at the right time and place based on feedback.

 

4. Re-start – a new way of working

The critical thing to understand about uncertainty, is that it’s always present. Sometimes it’s just more present than others. Dealing with uncertainty is therefore not a tomorrow thing. It’s an everyday endeavor that requires us to adapt and employ new ways or working. As you work through your future strategies, consider how you might build internal capabilities to scale resilience throughout your organization. This is about getting everyone to think and work like (digital) entrepreneurs, always experimenting, learning, and scaling new business models to meet the needs of today and the future.

 

It must be said, the above four steps are jampacked with tough but strategic conversations and activities many have not engaged in at scale and with speed. For many of today’s tech startups, this is simply the norm. For larger organizations, this is where panic sets in. The key then is that just as startups can learn from large organizations, there’s a lot that large organizations can learn from startups. And, just as we’ll eventually exit this current calamity, eventually we’ll find ourselves and our businesses thrust into a new paradigm. Knowing this, we might as well design for it now and take agency in re-creating our own future and that of our businesses.

Comments

Stay posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.