如何踏出創新的第一步

  • Business Model Shifts
  • 商業模式轉型

所有企業都會經歷高峰和低谷—因為市場景氣如潮汐般有起有落。但是,有些公司卻似乎總是能夠脫穎而出,達成他們的願景和使命,實現成功。

為什麼?因為他們全心投入創新,將創新視為企業的核心紀律。當一家公司能積極地尋求及實驗新想法,它通常也能走得更遠。

然而,最大的障礙之一,是許多企業不知道如何踏出創新的第一步。我們來看看企業可以如何改變這點。

全體投入的必要性

進步與創新相輔相成。但是,在許多公司苦苦掙扎的此刻,要在持續成長的企業中培養創新文化—特別是在這個時間點—似乎違反常理。儘管如此,全新的眼光,對想要與時俱進的企業來說,可能正是必備條件。

創新的公司不僅較容易適應趨勢變化,更經常能領先潮流。例如,樂高在積木中改用可生物分解的油性塑膠,或可口可樂改用 100% 再生塑膠材料。儘管有些創新是用來對某議題、作法或傳統態度的公開表態,多數的創新規模都很小,它們通常是低調的實驗,大多不受注意。

不過,在此之前,必須先調整好心態。進入實驗階段,意味著已對新趨勢瞭如指掌,也就是能夠對新想法、技術、工具和策略保持開放態度—地平線掃描(horizon scanning)。

然而,這不是某一個人或某一個部門的工作。想讓創新成長茁壯,需要企業裡每一個人都將其視為己任—包括行銷、財務、IT 和生產。創新是不斷學習和適應的過程,而為了讓創新獲得足夠的尊重和關注,要先找到充分的理由。

與廣義的企業目標保持一致

跟做任何事一樣,創新要有目的,要有清晰的策略來推動。企業能否成功創新的關鍵,在於它是否能先了解「為什麼」要創新。是要提高銷售量嗎?還是提升品牌知名度?關鍵績效指標(KPI)是什麼?如何衡量改進情形?

你可能認為這些問題不難回答。本質上,它們與整體企業目標相同。任何以創新出發的提案都必須連結到公司前進的原動力,這也是能否以客戶需求為優先會左右創新成敗的原因。站在客戶的立場,了解對他們來說什麼最重要,也會為新提案提供最高指導方針。

創新不會在一夜之間發生

創新無法速成,它不會在一夜之間發生。看看康寧化工公司在過去 140 年的轉變有多大—但它在今天仍有一席之地。

這是一個漸進累積的過程,而起點在於引導你的團隊,鼓勵他們挑戰傳統流程,並從其他部門、公司及商業模式中找到靈感。

一言以蔽之,創新只是單純地提問,並對「這樣做會如何?」之類的問題採取行動。它是探索新界限、挑戰新事物、實驗新策略和測試新想法。

BMI 能幫上忙的地方,是透過企業策略對焦你對創新的想法,來協助您成功。準備好跟我們聊聊嗎?請留下連絡資訊,我們會盡快與您聯繫!

 

來聊聊吧

Comments

Stay Posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.

How to get started with innovation

  • Business Model Shifts

All businesses experience peaks and troughs – market economies wax and wane like the tide. But some companies always seem to be a few steps ahead; in terms of their vision, mission, and success.

Why? Because they’re committed to innovation as a core business discipline. Companies that actively look for and experiment with new ideas tend to go further.

However, one of the biggest blockers is that many businesses don’t know how to get started with innovation. Let’s consider how they can change this.

An overall necessity

Progression and innovation go hand in hand. But fostering a culture of innovation in a growing business – particularly at the current time – might seem counterintuitive when so many companies are struggling. That said, a fresh perspective could be just what some businesses need to stay relevant.

Companies that innovate not only adapt more easily, they often lead the way too. Case in point, Lego changing to biodegradable oil-based plastics in its bricks, or Coca Cola switching to 100% recycled plastic material. However, while some innovations are statement pieces – designed to take an open stand on issues, practices, or legacy attitudes – many are much smaller. They’re often experiments that sail under the radar, largely unnoticed.

But getting to this point means a shift in attitude needs to take place first. Taking steps toward experimentation means staying on top of new trends. It’s about being open to new ideas, technologies, tools, and strategies – horizon scanning.

However, it’s not one person or department’s job to do this. For innovation to thrive, it needs to be seen as everyone in a business’ responsibility – marketing, finance, IT, operations. Innovation is a continuous process of learning and adapting. But to get to a point where innovation is given the respect and attention it needs, there needs to be a reason to do so.

Aligned with the wider business

Innovation, like anything, needs a purpose. There needs to be a clear strategy driving it. That’s why it’s crucial that before any business can innovate, they need to know ‘why’ they’re doing it. Is it to boost sales? Drive brand awareness? What are its KPIs? How will improvements be measured?

These are easier questions to answer that you might think. Essentially, they’re the same as the overall business’ objectives. Any innovation-driven initiative needs to be linked to a company’s drive for progression. This is why it’s vital that customer needs are put first in terms of innovation too. Stepping into their shoes and understanding what’s important to them will also give new initiatives a guiding purpose.

Innovation doesn’t happen overnight

Innovation can’t be viewed as an easy fix. It won’t happen overnight. Just look at how far chemical company, Corning, has changed over the last 140 years – and yet it’s still just as relevant today.

It’s an incremental process. But, by educating your teams, and encouraging them to challenge legacy processes, and draw inspiration from other sectors, companies, and business models.

If nothing else, innovation is simply asking, and acting upon, questions like ‘what if?. It’s exploring new boundaries, trying out new things, experimenting with strategies, and testing ideas.

This is where BMI steps in. We’re here to help you succeed by aligning your appetite for innovation with your business strategy. Ready to chat with us? Leave your details and we’ll connect as soon as possible!

 

Let's talk

Comments

Stay posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.