商業模式轉型之四:從線性到平台

  • Business Model Shifts
  • 商業模式轉型

我們正在見證六大根本性的商業模式轉型,BMI 也為此推出了系列文章,在此系列的第四篇文章中,我們將一探全球最大、獲利最多之品牌所採取的商業模式。阿里巴巴集團、LinkedIn 和 Kickstarter 等企業皆採用所謂的「平台化轉型(Platform Shift)」,其價值並非透過交易所創造,而是藉由互動的過程所產生。

過去,企業以生產商品為主。這些企業將原物料加工,並製造出有形的產品。接著,企業找到將產品推向市場的管道,也就是產品販售的通路,而這些通路又找來了能為產品行銷的專業人員。除此之外,在這整個生態系中,還有物流人員、零售商以及其他相關人員。當市場需求強勁的時候,企業便會生產更多的商品。

 

平台化轉型從何而來?

上述所提到的循環不斷持續,工業經濟的發展也已進入成熟階段。問題是,若供應鏈又長又複雜,且當中涉及多方人員,每個參與其中的人勢必都會想分一杯羹。這其實沒什麼問題,只是到了最後,獲利會一再稀釋,變得極度薄弱。

不僅如此,在這樣的模式當中,生產者及顧客之間的關係可說是完全不存在,且供應鏈中所有的關係都是建立在交易之上,如果要讓每位參與者都有所收穫並取得成功,所有相關人員都必須更加投入,才能按時生產、運輸及銷售。

若要克服這樣的瓶頸,就必須放眼更加豐富多元的互動,並從中尋找價值,也就是說,必須以對雙方有利的方式,將需求方與供應方串連起來。

 

平台化轉型案例:阿里巴巴(Alibaba)

阿里巴巴由中國企業家馬雲於 1999 年創立,一開始阿里巴巴只建立個簡單的網站,但卻有個偉大的願景——將國際買家與中國製造商串連起來。其企業宗旨是打造屬於未來的商業基礎架構。在過去的 21 年裡,阿里巴巴也透過簡化業務運作來實現這個目標,並且讓參與交易的雙方都感到十分滿意。

阿里巴巴擅長的不僅僅只是 B2B 銷售,馬雲和他的團隊不只開發了一流的平台,也打造了一個生生不息的生態系,並讓所有參與者都能因此受惠,而這個生態系也提供了各式各樣的服務,包括支付解決方案(支付寶)及線上零售(天貓)。

而這些都還只是阿里巴巴 102 年計劃的開端而已…

 

全新思維

阿里巴巴並不是唯一間打造豐富互動平台的企業,以下為您舉例其它企業,在我們的新書當中,也會深入介紹這些企業的故事:

  • LinkedIn:致力於滿足員工及雇主對拓展人脈的需求。
  • Kickstarter:將個人、企業與投資者串連起來,以協助想法落地。
  • Apple:建立龐大的服務生態系,將消費者、開發商、軟體公司及企業串連起來。

平台化轉型之核心在於,所有參與者皆被視為客戶,並由平台所有者為他們提供服務。因此,所有參與者皆扮演同等重要的角色,並受到同等重視。

客戶永遠是對的。當所有人都是客戶時,每個人皆會感到備受重視,也才能讓每個人都有所獲益。

 

很有趣吧!千萬別錯過這系列的下一篇文章,接下來我們將為您介紹驅動 Beyond Meat、SpaceX 及 Alphabet(Google)等企業的策略——指數化轉型(Exponential Shift)

若您尚未閱讀過我們的全新著作,歡迎立即訂購,以進一步了解現正發生的六大商業模式轉型。

 

關於新書《商業模式轉型》

Comments

Stay Posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.

From Pipeline to Platform: Business Model Shift no.4

  • Business Model Shifts

In our fourth blog on the six fundamental business shifts we see happening today, we take a look at the business model powering some of the world’s largest, most prolific brands. Companies like Alibaba Group, LinkedIn, and Kickstarter (to name a few) have adopted what we’d like to call the Platform Shift, in which value is created in the interaction, not in the transaction.

Once upon a time, companies made stuff. They took raw materials and forged, well, actual tangible products. They then found a route to market – someone who could sell them – who then found someone who could market them. And then there were logistics to consider. And retailers. And… other people who found their way into the ecosystem. When demand was strong, the original company made more stuff.

 

Why is this shift happening?

The cycle continued. The industrial economy was in full swing. The problem is, when you have a long, convoluted chain involving lots of parties, everyone wants a piece of the cake. Which is fine… except margins end up being stretched as thin as a banjo string.

Not only that, but producer-customer relationships barely have any chance to exist – let alone flourish. Every relationship was transaction-focused: up and down the chain’s length and breadth. For everyone to prosper, everyone else had to mobilize enough to do so – to produce, deliver, and sell at pace.

The solution? There was a need to start looking for value in rich interactions, connecting people who need something with those who had something – in a way that benefits both parties.

 

Platform shift story: Alibaba

Founded in 1999 by the Chinese entrepreneur Jack Ma, Alibaba started with a simple website and a grand vision to connect international buyers and Chinese manufacturers. The aim? To build the future infrastructure of commerce. Over the last 21 years, they’ve achieved this by streamlining how business is done – satisfying both sides of the deal.

But it’s not just B2B sales in which Alibaba has excelled. As supreme platform builders, Jack Ma and co. have since crafted an ecosystem that is almost self-perpetuating in its way that it benefits all participants – from payment solutions (Alipay) to online retail (TMall).

And that’s just the start of the company’s 102-year plan…

 

A new mindset

Alibaba isn’t the only company creating vast platforms bubbling with rich interactions. Other examples (which are covered more in-depth in our new book) include companies such as:

  • LinkedIn, facilitating the needs of employees and employers to revolutionize networking.
  • Kickstarter, connecting people and businesses with investors to help launch ideas.
  • Apple, building a vast ecosystem of services to connect consumers with developers, software companies, and businesses.

At the very heart of this shift is the fact that all participants are seen as customers – they’re all serviced as such by the platform owner. They are all as equally important and treated as though they matter.

True, the customer is always right. But when everyone’s a customer, everyone feels valued, and everyone profits.

 

Interesting stuff, right? Don’t miss the next article in the series – covering the driving strategy behind companies like Beyond Meat, SpaceX, and Alphabet (Google) – The Exponential Shift.

And if you haven’t already – well now you can order our new book, unveiling the details of the six global business shifts happening now.

 

About the book

Comments

Stay posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.