創新之旅:矽谷行

挑戰

如何從矽谷之行中充分受益,獲得啓發?

解決方案

高效的學習之旅需要設定清晰的學習目標與準則。

企業組織的創新靈感通常來自外部的刺激,因此企業高層與團隊紛紛考察像矽谷之類的創新地區或相關科技聚落(tech hubs),他們與創新的新創公司和機構會面交談,向創業者學習以發現各種產業的發展趨勢,並由此獲得靈感。

2014年,Ralph Hamers 出任荷蘭安智銀行(Dutch ING Bank)執行長,決定要改變公司的發展方向。而當時金融危機消退之際,市場急切呼籲新思維、新商業模式的出現。爲了充分獲得靈感,Hamers 帶領銀行整個董事會前往矽谷,他精心規劃旅程,俾使大家滿載而歸。

現在越來越多公司爲尋求靈感紛紛造訪矽谷,來來往往的巴士一車一車地把他們拉進谷歌、蘋果、特斯拉的大樓;這種考察本身而言是讓人滿懷希望的,因爲世界上發展最前沿的地方非矽谷莫屬,特別在科技方面,所有著名的科技巨頭總部均落戶於此。所以,一場考察世界新中心的旅行肯定能帶來充分的靈感,為公司增值,只要環顧一圈,都能獲益匪淺。

可是,這樣的考察之行最終往往淪爲一場普通遊覽而已。雖然旅行社一窩蜂組織考察團,但多數情況僅僅只是走馬觀花,而許多傳奇公司的大門深鎖之時,正是創辦人們運籌帷幄的時刻。考察之行結束後,這些管理層還得交代如此昂貴旅程到底看到了什麼。

甲骨文轉型之旅

2016 年甲骨文世界大會(Oracle OpenWorld 2016)期間,甲骨文的創新合作夥伴們相互熟絡起來。Arno Nienhuis 稱:「甲骨文荷比盧聯盟(Oracle Benelux)組織了夥伴轉型之旅(Partner Transformation Tour)。在舊金山和矽谷,我們參觀了幾十名夥伴的創新公司。這場旅行不僅是爲了我們的夥伴獲得創新靈感,而且還鼓勵他們討論創新對顧客、企業商業模式轉型方面所產生的影響。我們與Business Models Inc. 共同設計了這場旅行,參觀了許多公司及大學,包括 JLABS、Lyft、Chain、Andreessen-Horowitz、LinkedIn 及史丹佛大學。」

向新創公司取經

雖然與許多銀行執行長一樣,Ralph Hamers 喜歡將他最近的矽谷之旅視爲引領該行業技術變革的證據。但是,不得不説 Hamers 的考察深度遠遠超過了其同行競爭者。他回憶道,兩年前(出任荷蘭資產最多的銀行執行長不久),在舒適的 Menlo Park 牛排館用完晚餐後,他與美國金融技術新創團隊 Wealthfront、Metromile和 Kaggle 的會面。他問這群加州企業家是如何建立如此永續蓬勃的企業,而這些企業主們還反過來稱讚他:「別鬧了,我們才想問你呢!」顯然,那些企業家也將安智銀行視爲他們數位顛覆者(digital disrupter)的一份子。

現在就出發!

到現實世界體驗創新,是激發靈感最好的方法。不要單槍匹馬,而是帶上整個團隊去體驗一場「新創公司深度遊」。創新考察會以最快速有效的方式教導領導階層新知,建立共同語言和知識基礎;這也會幫助你高效率地確立合作夥伴,謀求企業文化轉型,進而推進創新專案發展。

Business Models Inc. 幫助各個組織機構前往像矽谷這樣創新熱點開展考察學習之旅,我們曾幫助荷蘭安智銀行(ING)與甲骨文(Oracle)認識最好的新創公司,體驗最精彩的矽谷行。

Book your trip!

You want to be inspired, let’s design a trip together.

Let's go

Innovation excursion: Visiting Silicon Valley

Challenge

How to get inspired and make the most of a visit to Silicon Valley?

Solution

Clear learning goals and guidance for an effective learning journey to take back home.

Inspiration on innovation comes from the outside, not within. Corporate leaders and teams tour to innovative regions like e.g. Silicon Valley and other relevant tech hubs to meet innovative start-ups, organisations to discover trends in various industries, talk to start-up founders, learn from speakers, and be inspired.

When Ralph Hamers was put in charge of the Dutch ING Bank in 2014, he decided to change course. The financial crisis had just ended and this called for new ways of thinking and doing business. In order to get inspiration from the source, Hamers took the bank’s entire Board of directors to Silicon Valley. To keep it from becoming a useless jaunt, he had to think carefully about the trip.

More and more companies head off to Silicon Valley to get inspired. Busloads of them can be seen driving to the offices of Google, Apple, and Tesla. In itself, this can be expected: it doesn’t get more cutting edge than Silicon Valley, especially when it comes to technology. All big names are based there and a journey to this new center of the world can indeed be amazingly inspiring and truly add value to your company. By looking around, one simply sees more.

Unfortunately, more often than not, such trips end up as a simple jaunt. Traveling agencies are keen to organize trips, but in most cases, they offer merely superficial glances and visits. Many doors stay closed and the real brains behind the companies have better things to do. Upon returning, these boards have to explain what they have been doing on their expensive trip.

Oracle Transformation Tour

During Oracle OpenWorld 2016 partners were acquainted with other innovative companies. Arno Nienhuis: “Oracle Benelux organised the Partner Transformation Tour which we visited with several dozen partners innovative companies in San Francisco and Silicon Valley. The purpose of this tour was partners not only inspire new innovations but also to engage in dialogue on how innovation can impact transformations for our customers and the business models of partners. We designed this tour together with Business Models Inc. We visited include office JLABS, Lyft, Chain, Stanford University, Andreessen-Horowitz, and Linkedin. 

Learn from start-ups

Ralph Hamers likes to mention his recent trip to Silicon Valley, using it the same way many bank CEOs do, as evidence that he is in command of the technological upheaval in his industry. But the ING boss goes further than most rivals. He recalls a meeting with US financial technology start-ups, including Wealthfront, Metromile, and Kaggle, over dinner in a plush Menlo Park steakhouse two years ago, shortly before he took over as head of the biggest Dutch bank by assets. Mr. Hamers says he questioned the Californian entrepreneurs on how they planned to build a sustainable business, who then turned the tables in a flattering fashion. “They said, ‘It is interesting that you asked because this is exactly what we want to hear from you’,” he recalls, suggesting that they saw ING as a fellow digital disrupter.

Why should you take a tour?

There is no better way than experience innovation in the real world. You need to be aware you should not go alone but take your team with you to go beyond the “start-up petting” experience. Innovation excursions quickly educate leadership teams, create a shared language and knowledge base, and help to efficiently identify partners in order to change company culture and push other innovation programs forward.

Business Models Inc. supports organizations to organize innovation excursions to hotspots like e.g. Silicon Valley. We helped ING, Oracle to get access to the best start-ups and experiences in Silicon Valley.

Check out the Inside Silicon Valley Playbook we created for Dutch Consulate in San Francisco.

Book your trip!

You want to be inspired, let’s design a trip together.

Let's go