(重新) 定義目標:一段以人為本之旅

Mindpearl.

挑戰

如何(重新)打造你的企業版圖、如何(重新)探索你的核心價值主張?

解決方案

超越對公司利潤的追求,找到你的經營宗旨,以及能激勵你不斷邁進的關鍵

Mindpearl 決定從市場領軍者邁向產業顛覆者 — 而這意味著必須重新評估其主要的價值主張。剛開始接觸 Business Models Inc.(BMI)團隊時,Mindpearl 正努力與自己的客戶和團隊溝通,以正確認識這群人是誰及他們做過什麼,這是 Mindpearl 十五年來第一次決心重新審視自己的目標、重新自我定位。

從這瞬息萬變的(VUCA)世界中,褪去所有不必要的雜音、企業官方說詞以及團隊的被動性,Mindpearl 領導團隊開始發現組織文化和商業模式對企業的重要性,並由此揭開了 Mindpearl(重新)設計自家商業模式、品牌定位和企業形象的序幕。

總經理 Karin Dale 是這次組織「大翻修」的幕後推手,他解釋道,Mindpearl 於 1999 年起步,其後經歷了以瑞士航空公司(Swissair)為首的 11 家歐洲航空公司財團的管理層收購(management buyout),多年來一直陷於官僚辭令的紛擾,與公司真正的定位漸行漸遠。「無論在線上呈現方式,還是組織內部的思維方式,都是造成業務過於複雜化的原因」她談到,「所有的主管都對我們的工作充滿激情,但對內缺乏統一而清楚的溝通方式,更別說是要傳達給客戶的資訊了。」

削減干擾

剛接觸 BMI 時,擺在我們面前最大的難題就是網頁介面的設計:造訪我們官網的客戶和潛在客戶根本看不懂我們能為他們做什麼、提供什麼服務,因為頁面上充斥當時同業也都會放的產業術語,而我們得承認,這些內容對想找我們合作的各行各業根本沒有任何幫助。BMI 不只幫助我們消除了網站上的所有雜音(包含頁面中所有冗長紛亂的文字和物件),更帶著我們往前邁進一步。

建構一個內容更優、架構簡明,具友善引導且易於更新的網站,只是初步成效。我們意識到,不能再將發展數位媒體視為一種追趕潮流的行為 ── 我們需要對此進行策略面的投資,並要開始學習如何靈巧地運用它,而不是像過去一樣只保持封閉性的發佈頻率。但社群媒體畢竟不是我們提供的核心服務,所以我們聘請了好幾位這個領域的高手一起制定策略。

以人為本

我們正試著以自己的專業來建立客戶的信任,並藉此讓我們能夠成為引導客戶的角色,而非只能迎合需求;因此我們做到快速追蹤、持續開發,並憑一線服務體驗積極與客戶展開交流。

目前,我們為員工所做的事情和員工們為我們客戶做的事情,越來越具一致性。這讓「以顧客服務為核心」的客戶突然對我們產生極大的興趣;而且這讓我們擁有更高的自主權,可以選擇只與「將顧客服務視為共同核心目標的客群」展開合作。

商業模式創新

商業模式創新不斷刷新著人們的認知,同時給予人們能夠訴諸實現的力量,因為它能使人專注於其核心主張,讓你在行業術語和市場慣例中獨闢蹊徑,並講述一個貫穿整個組織的故事。BMI 為我們推進去蕪存菁的腳步,讓我們穿透表像,了解真正要做的是什麼,並發現做到這些一點都不複雜,甚至很簡單。

起初,邀請外部人員參與這樣深層次的合作,對某些管理階層而言,的確不太容易接受這樣的想法。然而,這並非一道不可逾越的障礙:隨著時間的推移,在堅持不懈的解釋和協作中,問題逐漸迎刃而解。

做到「隨遇而安」

這個過程會持續多久?它將為我們帶來什麼?我們將何去何從?個人期望、成本問題、淨效果如何?以上種種事項都亟待解決,儘管不知道最終目的地在何方,我們還是經常提醒自己,感到不安沒什麼大不了。而每次召開策略重新設計會議時,全體參與者的熱情,使我們在逆境中依然能坦然無懼地迎難而上。

更好更快

去年我們成功在西班牙的巴塞隆納和馬來西亞的吉隆坡擴點成功。過去,在我們決定要駐點到斐濟時,沒有人看好我們,當時團隊除了要適應斐濟的生活方式,還要抵禦來自熱帶島嶼陽光的誘惑;但現在我們在的斐濟服務中心推展的十分順利,並由 1200 名員工支援全天候的服務。

目前我們已經能在緊迫的時間內,成功在一個新地點掛牌營業,同時還使這一切看起來絲毫不費吹灰之力。在發現自己能夠勝任這些不可能的挑戰之後,更改變了我們的管理思維,並且讓我們仍不斷問自己:還能在哪方面做得更好、更快?

Mindpearl 于 1999 年開始作為專屬客服中心,其服務的核心和基礎是為 11 家歐洲航空公司聯合財團的客戶和乘客提供多語種、全天候的客戶支援服務。直到 2017 年,Mindpearl 已經成功地將服務的觸角拓展至許多非航空業品牌,如今為航空、電信、零售和體重管理等產業的全球知名品牌提供客服中心解決方案,並根據需求,提供全天候、多國語言的服務。

[註] 本專案是與 TheSumOf 公司 的全球設計和品牌專家 Kevin Finn合作完成。

 

更多客戶案例

 

保持聯繫

關注我們的最新消息:最新客戶案例、工具分享、公開活動及精彩的部落格文章

(re)Defining Your Purpose: A journey to a human-centric approach

Mindpearl.

Challenge

How to (re)invent your business and (re)discover your fundamental value proposition?

Solution

Look beyond the corporate profit motive and discover your business purpose. What makes you tick?

Mindpearl wanted to go from market-leader to industry disruptor – this meant reassessing their fundamental value proposition. When Mindpearl approached BMI, they were struggling to communicate with their customers and the team exactly who they were and what they did. It was the first time in 15 years that Mindpearl had decided to review their purpose and reposition the business.

Stripping back all the unnecessary noise, the corporate speak and the reactive nature of a team in a rapidly changing world (the VUCA world), the Mindpearl leadership team set out to uncover vital information about the organisational culture and the business model, which led to the (re)design of the Mindpearl business model itself, the brand positioning and identity design.

The driving force behind the overhaul, General Manager Karin Dale explains how Mindpearl, having started in 1999 following the management buyout from a consortium of 11 European airlines headed by Swissair, got entangled in corporate speak over the years and slowly lost touch with its true identity. “We had over-complicated our business – both online and in our own heads”, she says. “All the executives were passionate about what we do, but there was no universal way of articulating that to ourselves, let alone to our customers.”

Cutting back the noise

When we approached BMI, the biggest tangible problem we could point to was our online interface. Customers and potential customers visiting the webpage had no idea who we were. The whole thing was full of the industry slang that was expected in that market at the time, but we had to admit it wasn’t actually getting through to our industry partners. BMI helped us to strip back all the noise on the website, but it went further than that. Noise isn’t just volume, it’s a jungle of words and objectives that don’t need to be there.

A navigable, easily-updated website – with better content and a simpler structure – was only the first outcome. Now we’re realising that digital media isn’t just about jumping on the bandwagon – we need to invest in strategy. We’d rather start using it intelligently than focus on keeping up an airtight posting frequency. Social media is not our core service provision, so we’ve invested in a couple of very gifted people consummate with social media to strategise with us.

Being human-centric

We’re developing a trust in our own expertise to lead our clients instead of chasing them. We fast-track things, develop things for them, and create a very active exchange from the frontline experience.

We now have a much more aligned approach between what we do for our employees and what our people do for our customers. Suddenly we were attracting clients who held customer service as a core value, and we realised we could be more selective about choosing to only work with the clients for whom this was a shared core purpose.

Business model innovation

Business model innovation is empowering and refreshing because it helps you focus on your core proposition. It allows you to cut through industry jargon and market conventions to tell a story that will carry throughout the organisation. BMI pushed us to strip back everything, and underneath it all we discovered what we really do, and found that it wasn’t a complicated thing to articulate at all. It was very simple.

The idea of inviting external collaborators in at such a deep level was a roadblock for some of our executives initially. It wasn’t insurmountable though: it was overcome over time with persistent explanation and collaboration.

Comfortable with the uncomfortable

We so often had to remind ourselves that it was ok to be uncomfortable: How long will this process last? What will it entail? Where will we be at the end? Individual expectations, cost, net results? All these things had to be managed without knowing where we would arrive to at the end, but the enthusiasm of all the participants in each of the strategy re-design meetings allowed us to become comfortable with that discomfort.

Better and faster

We expanded into Kuala Lumpur in Malaysia in 2016 and Germany in 2017. Previously people had laughed at us when we said we wanted to start up an operation in Fiji – what with the nuances of the Bula lifestyle and the distractions of tropical island sunshine – but our Fiji centre is going wonderfully, with 1200 employees supporting a 24/7 operation.

We’ve leapt to the challenge of opening up in new locations in tight time-frames while making it all look effortless. Finding ourselves equal to these challenges has shifted the mindset of governance, and now we’re asking ourselves – what else could we do better and faster?

Mindpearl started in 1999 as a captive contact centre where the lifeblood and entire basis of the offering was to provide seamless 24/7 customer support in multiple languages to the customers and passengers of a consortium of 11 European airlines. Fast forward to 2017 and Mindpearl has successfully diversified to support many non-airline brands. Today Mindpearl provides contact centre solutions for global names in the aviation, telecommunications, retail and weight management industries, offering multilingual services around the globe on a 24/7 basis, as required.

[Ref] This project was delivered in partnership with global design and branding specialist Kevin Finn (TheSumOf).

More client stories

Stay posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.