新知:透過驗證挖掘顧客需求

微軟(Microsoft)荷蘭分公司以 Azure 雲端平臺啟迪開發人員和「下一代企業家」時,以若干問題面向切入。

挑戰

如何從顧客身上汲取深入的洞見?如何利用這些洞見,為顧客開創真正、持久的價值?

解決方案

為了持續增值,微軟通過不斷的驗證,能夠迅速地與顧客共創、為顧客權衡各種可能性,此法已深入微軟的日常營運。

微軟荷蘭分公司以 Azure 雲端平臺啟迪其發開人員和「下一代企業家」時,從幾個問題出發:我們的目標群體是誰?他們是如何看待技術創新?Azure 直營與通路銷售主管 Niels Lohuis 介紹了他和同仁通過有效勾勒顧客需求獲得新知的過程,也說明了他們每天使用這些工具的方法。

該計劃建立在市場重要轉型之際,旨在進一步推廣微軟 Azure。Lohuis 一開始就談到:「以前顧客不會直接從微軟購買軟體,顧客和我們之間總是隔著經銷商或第三方。但現今情況丕變,市場有著巨大的技術需求,很多公司都自主學習,所以現在大量的顧客都想直接從供應商購買商品。」

 為滿足這樣的市場需求,微軟在 2010 年初發佈了其托管雲端服務(hosted cloud services),取名Azure,該軟體將便利顧客輕鬆簡化數據產品服務。Lohuis 說:「無論是想要開發測試伺服器、建立開發應用程式的環境還是實現複雜運算,只要你按下按鈕,一切便準備就緒!」Microsoft Azure 試用免費,推薦大家去試試。因為 Azure 操作簡便,支持開放原始碼軟體,所以使用的企業組織越來越多,規模各異。Azure 當然還可以精益求精;為了激發更多企業家去思考自己的商業模式,思考雲端服務能給他們的未來提供什麼機會,微軟啓動了一項推廣企劃。

源起..
微軟當時面臨的大問題是:該通過何種方式接觸目標客群,向他們講述怎樣的故事來引起注意?微軟企業顧客遍佈各行各業,從跨國企業到年輕的新創公司,大小兼容。Lohuis 説道:「企業顧客不僅都需要技術創新,還需要各領域的支持。年輕的技術人員雖有足夠的軟體知識,但愈發覺得商業問題很有挑戰,需要去思考如何將好的構想變成可以賺錢的生意;另一方面,大量擁有商業知識的企業顧客因使用 Office 和 e-mail 軟體而習以為常,忽視了我們還可以提供更多的服務。想以前所未有速度拓展規模,我們必須清楚如何能更好地滿足目標客群的需求。」

他還説道:「我們團隊決定與 Business Models Inc. 合作,共同檢視推廣計劃的内容,進一步精準定位客群。我非常願意將 BMI 使用的工具、視覺化工作的方法介紹給我們的顧客,幫助他們處理自己商業問題。透過一個專心致志、反應敏捷市場團隊來完成這項任務,為我們帶來極大地鼓勵;同時,這個方法在微軟内部來帶來了改變,在測試、驗證假設、直接將學習經驗用於優化推廣計劃方面,有了極大的提升。」

顧客的憂與願
微軟和 Business Models Inc. 首先著手的就是蒐集紀錄顧客需求和技術需求。如今,顛覆已為常態,既存企業與新創公司都在思考,如何確保公司依舊能在未來存活。Lohuis 説:「通過使用價值主張圖(Value Proposition Canvas),我們學會換位思考──是什麼讓顧客輾轉反側?顧客需要完成的任務(jobs-to-be-done)是什麼?日常遭遇的痛點、想得到的好處又是什麼?由此,我們發掘了很多新洞見、痛點解方以及創造更多獲益的想法。顧客大致分為兩類:第一類是在為能否繼續生存而恐慌,戰戰兢兢經營的企業;第二類是期待並渴望獲得新技術機會的公司。一些企業對切換至雲端服務既期待又怕受傷害──當然,肯定會帶來不小衝擊,那你要如何輔導這些企業客戶接受新技術呢?」

從行銷內容獲取數據資訊
秉持顧客至上,這批團隊開始創作關於 Azure 可能性的行銷内容。透過部落格、短視頻以及各類活動讓開發人員對這項服務感興趣,同時也藉此理解了顧客需求。「在推廣計劃創作期間,圖像行動計畫圖(Visual Game Plans)幫了大忙,幫我們可以在短時間內理清所有情況。」Lohuis 說:「我們先確立將生產的品項及預計能熱賣之時機,隨後,羅列出能夠熱賣的必要條件。由此,計畫圖立即清楚的呈現了每個人任務,以及能夠過程中能獲得的資源有哪些。如此,更讓我們責無旁貸去完成任務。一旦開始發布行銷內容,測試驗證即可接踵進行,團隊就能從這些量化數據和每週與焦點團體的訪談來獲得有價值的數據資料。」

該團隊每兩週一起討論顧客們的反應。Lohuis 說:「通過接觸顧客,我們可以驗證自己的假設並優化推廣企劃的内容。最初,要與顧客接觸令人感到有點恐慌,但是它卻提供了重要的洞見。有時,你知道顧客的情況,卻不知其背後原因,這時就需要不斷地提出問題。比如,我們發現技術工程的受眾對 Azure 的一般內涵與雲端服務的重要性興趣缺缺,他們只想知道服務如何具體執行,以及有何用處。團隊每兩週就會根據顧客反饋和需求,重新優化推廣内容。」

精益求精
在這項高強度的計劃中,團隊對目標客群及其需求都有了更深理解,這正是他們所需要的。Lohuis 說:「『焦慮』的客群特別需要信任,他們渴望那種新技術,但不知道如何入手;是要招聘新人?還是能透過他人獲得協助?而『渴望』的客群只想著手去做,特別需要的是商業知識和加速過程的方式。因此,他們不需浪費時間從頭自己打造系統,只需專注建立賺錢的產品就好了。」

根據 Lohuis 所言,微軟荷蘭分公司在這個計劃上取得了實質進步,不僅拾得了嶄新的市場洞見,而且還以團隊的方式學習了強調設計的工具和方法。他還説:「日常檢視和圖像行動計畫圖(Visual Game Plans)讓我們更快更有效率。如果今天有人有新想法了,我們就把這些工具圖拿出來討論,讓這些計劃具象。此外,我們現在推廣企劃的靈活性很高。一開始我們會事先把整個過程都鉅細靡遺的準備好,但現在只需要先將 25% 的企劃內容確定下來就好。當我們的推廣企劃開始風生水起,一遍又一遍地根據測試結果進行調整、優化,這樣的進步幫助微軟荷蘭公司比行業同仁成長得更快,每年成長都翻了一番。這是因為我們溫故而知新,如逆水行舟般地學習。」

微軟是世界級的軟體公司,自 1975 年成立後,一直致力於 IT 產業,因 Windows 操作系統和 Office 系列辦公軟體為眾人所知。2014 年自 Satya Nedella 出任該公司執行長後,開始致力於雲端計算,即 Azure 雲端服務的主要產品。

你又會如何結合全新的工具、技巧,及設計思維來與顧客(甚至非顧客)切磋呢?

 

更多客戶案例

Learn: from validation to customer needs

When Microsoft Netherlands wanted to inspire developers, but also “the next entrepreneur" with its cloud platform Azure, they came with a lot of questions.

Challenge

How do you capture profound insights from your customers and how might you use these insights to create real, lasting value for them?

Solution

Through continuous validation, Microsoft was able to co-create and weigh various options for its customers, at high speed, in order to add value continuously. This method has been integrated into the daily course of business at Microsoft.

When Microsoft Netherlands wanted to inspire developers, but also “the next entrepreneur”, with its cloud platform Azure, they came with a lot of questions. Mainly, who is our target group and how do they think about technological innovation? Niels Lohuis, Azure Direct & Channel Business Lead, explains how he and his colleagues learned to effectively map customer needs and how the tools are used daily.

The project, to better market Microsoft Azure, took place during an important transformation in the market. “Until recently, Microsoft was an indirect player on the market,” Lohuis begins. “Nobody ordered software directly from Microsoft, there was always a distributor or other party between us and the customer. That has changed. The market now has a huge technical need, and many companies have gained knowledge of their own. That means that many current customers want to buy directly from the supplier.”

 In order to respond to this demand from the market, Microsoft had already launched their version of hosted cloud services, called Azure, in early 2010, allowing customers to easily reduce digital products and services. “Do you want to develop a test server, an environment to develop apps, or make complicated calculations? With a push on the button everything is ready,” said Lohuis. You can try Microsoft Azure for free. Due to how easy it is to use and the ability to use open source solutions, Azure is increasingly used by organizations of all sizes. But it can always be better. To trigger more entrepreneurs to think about their business and the opportunities that the Cloud offers to take the next step, Microsoft decided to launch a campaign.

What’s the story?
The big question was: how might we reach our target groups and with which story? Microsoft’s business customers are companies of all kinds and sizes. From large multinationals to fresh, young startups. Lohuis: “They all need technological innovation, but also support in different areas. Young technicians have enough software knowledge, but are increasingly confronted with business issues. How do you create a profitable business based of a good idea? On the other hand, the business-oriented customers, who have a lot of business knowledge, are familiar with us because they use Office and their e-mail. They often don’t know that much more is possible. We wanted to grow faster than we already did, and therefore we had to know how to better meet those target groups and respond to their needs.

“The team decided to work with Business Models Inc. to look at the content of the campaign, but also to sharpen the target audience. I would like to bring their use of tools and visual way of working to our customers to help them with those business questions. The use of a dedicated, agile marketing team to get this done also greatly encouraged us. In addition, the approach caused a change within Microsoft. We have become much better in testing, validating assumptions and applying learnings directly to optimize our campaigns.”

Fear and desire
The first thing Microsoft and Business Models Inc. did was to chart the customers and their technology needs. In a world where disruption has become the norm, both existing companies and startups are working on the next step – how do I make sure I still exist as a company tomorrow? Lohuis: “We used Value Proposition Canvas and stepped into our customers’ shoes. What keeps them awake at night? What are the jobs-to-be-done and what are the pains and gains they encounter daily? This resulted in many new insights, painkillers and gain creators. There were roughly two groups of customers: companies operating from fear- how do I survive-, versus companies who desire and see the opportunities that offer new technologies. Some companies find the switch to the cloud still very exciting and are afraid of the consequences. Of course, it is not nothing. How do you get those business customers so far as to embrace new technology in their process?”

Data from content
With the customer taking center stage, the team went about producing content about the possibilities of Azure. Blogs, short videos and events had to make developers enthusiastic about the service, but also to understand what the customer wants. “During the creation of the campaign, the Visual Game Plans really helped us. These enabled us to put everything in the short run,” said Lohuis. “We determined what we were going to produce and when this was successful. Then we outlined what was needed for that success. As a result, it was immediately clear what everyone had to do and what parties could help. There was simply no excuse for not fulfilling your task. Once the first content was published, testing and validation could begin. The team retrieved valuable data from the quantitative data and weekly interviews with focus groups.”

Every two weeks the team came together to discuss the reactions of the customers. Lohuis: “By getting in touch with our customers, we were able to validate our assumptions and optimize our campaigns. First, that was a little scary, but it provides great insights. Sometimes something resembles the customer, but you do not know exactly why. Then you keep asking question. For example, we found out that technically-engineered viewers were not really interested in a general story about Azure and how important the cloud is. They just want to know how a specific service works and what’s in it for them. Every two weeks, the team optimized the campaign and followed a new iteration, fed by customer feedback and his need. “

Learning and improving
During the intensive project, the team got a much better view of their target groups and the needs of these groups. They needed it. “The anxious group particularly needed trust,” says Lohuis. “They wanted that new technique, but how? Then you hire someone? Are there any other parties who can help? The ‘desire’ group just wanted to get started, and in particular needed business knowledge and accelerating the processes. Thus, they don’t have to reinvent the wheel and can focus on building profitable products.”

According to Lohuis, Microsoft Netherlands really made progress with this project. Not only by gleaning the fresh market insights, but also by learning and incorporating design-led tools and methods at a team level. “Daily check-ins and Visual Game Plans make us faster and more efficient. If someone has an idea today, we bring a canvas to the table, to make our plans visual and tangible. Besides that, we are now much more flexible with our campaigns. Where once the entire process of our campaigns was prepared and decided, now only 25% of our campaigns is confirmed. When the campaign is live, optimization starts and iterations begin. That progress has helped Microsoft Netherlands grow faster than our neighbors. And we double our growth each year. Because we regularly reflect on our progress, we learn continuously.”

Microsoft is a world-class software player and has since its founding in 1975 no longer been thought out of IT. The company is mainly associated with the Windows operating system and the Office package. However, since the advent of CEO Satya Nadella in 2014, the company is committed to cloud computing, the main product of the Azure cloud platform.

How might you incorporate new tools, skills, and a designer’s mindset to interact with and learn from your customers (and non-customers)?

More Client Stories

 

What can we do for you?

This story inspired me and I would like to know what you can do for me.

Get in touch