昆士蘭循環經濟實驗室5個意想不到的收穫

為加速推動昆士蘭(Queensland)的循環經濟發展,我們邀請27位在澳洲具領袖地位的創新者、顛覆者、創業者、經營者,在90天的沉浸式學習之旅當中,針對如何發展昆士蘭循環經濟,設計各種可能的解決方案 – 或稱之為「循環商業模式典範轉移」(the Circular Shift)。昆士蘭循環經濟實驗室(Queensland Circular Economy Lab,簡稱「實驗室」計畫)由BMI與Coreo公司合作建立,是澳洲在此領域的第一個實驗室。它根據BMI的跨領域共同創新的設計經驗,應用經過實戰考驗、屢獲殊榮的雙迴圈(Double Loop)方法論中的工具和技巧。參與者都帶著令人期待的願景參與整個過程:希望能運用循環設計準則,改變自己的組織及所屬產業;每個團隊也都在不確定中各自探索富開創性,又能造就循環商業模式典範轉移。成立這個實驗室就是要提供一個跨領域創新的理想環境,讓產業的領導者及顛覆者可以攜手合作,跨組織協同落實這些循環解決方案。

 

面臨的挑戰

這些來自不同組織的創新先驅,為了一起打造聚焦的循環經濟價值主張與商業模式,透過雙迴圈的往復探索及修正,來創造對環境、經濟、社會三方面的正向影響。過程中關鍵的挑戰在於:了解及對焦成員各自的經驗、期望和動機。因此所有人都需要暫時放下各組織原本設定的優先順序,共同合作以追求成功;也意味著要跳脫「可持續性」的單一面向,擴大考量成本、便利性和消費所帶來負面的外部成本,進而找到從本質上改變消費者和企業的行為、觀念的解決方案。理解循環經濟的原理以及如何透過商業模式機制來實現可持續性的發展,是最大的挑戰,也是最好的機會。

 

“我們需要更具循環思維與行動”

- 昆士蘭州首席創業家(Queensland Chief Entrepreneur)Leanne Kemp

歷時三個月的設計實踐

「實驗室」計畫的成功,來自三個月參與期間所有成員努力不懈的投入。在一系列共四次緊湊的工作坊中設計、制定能夠執行的循環經濟方案,結束後成員帶回所屬組織,共同落實所討論的方案,各組織接著從立場、資源、策略目標和專業,積極地尋求屬於他們的獨特機會。討論的主題十分廣泛,從肉類包裝到家戶能源消費,總共五個主題。每個主題分別由各隊主要的出資夥伴(foundation partner)設定,並隨著團隊對彼此的共同願景和追求,不斷的往前進化推進。我們也從中觀察到每個團隊如何在過程中即時調整與發展,見證了雙迴圈加速創新的成果!

“發展循環經濟是我們這個時代最大的挑戰之一,我相信結合具創意的設計思考和跨領域共同創新模式將是解決這類系統性挑戰最理想的方式。”

- Business Models Inc澳洲辦公室 董事總經理 Michael Eales

速度是關鍵…

每個團隊在創新的各階段都要快速的測試點子、驗證假設,並且隨時回頭檢視當初試圖解決的問題。在這種應用學習的體驗過程中,記錄、保存每個「頓悟時刻(A-ha moments)」變得至關重要,這將能「加速」改變的發生!

“速度是新的智財,如果想法沒有出現在便利貼上,就沒有機會實現!”

- Business Models Inc澳洲辦公室 策略設計師 Grace Ryall

參加者在每次工作坊後,會持續在組織內部及行業價值鏈中驗證、測試他們的概念,以便更完整的掌握其解決方案的需求性(desirability)、技術可行性(feasibility)﹑商業存續性(viability)。這讓團隊每次參加工作坊都能帶來新的想法、研究結果和發現,然後在這個基礎上反覆調整並發展各自的解決方案。如果需要「求助」,我們也有駐點專家 – Coreo的Ashleigh Morris 為團隊帶來各種參考資訊及案例!

整個過程對所有人來說都是一段學習之旅。我們熱衷於解決系統性的問題,因此開始這項專案的初衷就是想為落實循環經濟的實際行動提供具體、可行的示範。系統性思考(Systems-thinking)需要不同的觀點、專長、專業的參與,並包容出乎意料或是看來平凡的想法,也因為來自企業、非營利組織、政府及學術單位的共同參與,完美的將大家的熱情和經驗融入在討論中。因此,不難想像我們在過程中獲得了一些難能可貴的學習!以下是這次循環經濟實驗室產生的5個意想不到的收穫。

 

1. 廚房是住家的能源中心。

客廳不再是家中耗能最多的場所。除了家用電器和白色家電,人們現在還會把電子設備接在廚房的電源插座上充電、接上喇叭或同時操作好幾件事。在探索循環經濟如何改變能源產業的商業模式並推動社區智能化的時候,該團隊找到一種符合消費者需求的方案,解決與廚房相關家庭總成本(含環境面、財務面和生活方式層面)的問題。藉由跨國建築公司Lendlease的推動及該公司總體規劃的Yarrabilba社區,讓團隊看到一個機會點:讓廚房變成如社區公共設施的「訂閱式廚房」(Kitchen As A Subscription,簡稱KAAS),也就是從提供家用電器和白色家電的「產品」,轉變為根據每日使用率收取訂閱費的「服務」。除了Lendlease,加入這個團隊的企業組織包含:家用電器和白色家電製造商Fisher&Paykel、昆士蘭皇家汽車俱樂部(The Royal Automobile Club of Queensland,即RACQ)、IoT解決方案供應商Movus、電子廢物回收中心Substation 33、非營利組織Logan Access和Logan City Council。

 

2. 溝通循環設計的解方,必須眼見為憑。

在設計、建造新建築物時,取決於兩個關鍵:使用的建築材料跟想要打造的空間。C Suite是一種可以用來量化建築環境中循環經濟價值的數位工具。「將循環設計視覺化」及「能估計其所創造的影響」都有助於減少不確定性,並促進利害關係人間的對話。C Suite由房地產投資管理公司Jones Lang LaSalle和跨國基準評測和認證公司EarthCheck主導,試圖量化循環設計所帶來的整體效益:包括降低材料浪費、能源效率、福利、社會責任、員工敬業度、生產力、協作能力。在永續紡織品公司Blocktexx及荷蘭的數據公司Madaster的共同參與下,布里斯本機場公司(Brisbane Airport Corporation)將成為C-Suite試行計劃最初的測試平台。

 

3. 水資源的「供給」不是真正的問題,「分配」才是問題所在。

對昆士蘭州的大多數人來說,缺水的確是件大事!特別是對農業而言,水可以說是最有限的資源,因此找出促進水循環利用與避免浪費至關重要。在「實驗室」計畫期間,發現水資源的最根本問題在於「取水」和「分配」;身處乾旱地區的農民更需要共享水資源並強化社區一體的概念。Ripple團隊由澳洲肉類畜牧協會(Meat and Livestock Australia)主導,加上系統公司Cisco、食品飲料公司Grove Juice的參與,該計畫聚焦在如何透過區域合作共享資源和提升廢物流(waste streams)價值(如:剩食和廢水),克服複雜系統的挑戰。

 

4. 用再生PET也能打造熱銷產品。

在昆士蘭推出的「空瓶換錢」(Container Exchange)計劃每天能收集到300萬個空瓶,目前面臨的挑戰在於如何將回收來的材料(包含PET瓶和鋁罐)進行再利用(up-cycle)。在這次「實驗室」計畫中,由非營利組織Container Exchange(非酒精飲料商Coca-Cola Amatil和澳洲啤酒商Lion Nathan)、跨國礦產及資源集團Rio Tinto(旗下在澳洲最大鋁冶煉廠Boyne Smelter)、區塊鏈新創公司Everledger、再生原料製造商Evolve Group和Astron Sustainability組成的United for Change團隊,志在這次的回收挑戰中,建立資源循環再利用系統。United for Change團隊將能創造循環再利用物質流的在地廠商串連起來,例如Evolve Group能讓回收來的二次料經過處理後轉變為價值更高的商品,不僅創造新的商業機會,也透過這個過程重建社會信任。而回收回來的二次料將透過Everledger先進的區塊鏈技術進行追蹤料源跟流向,從而在整個價值鏈中,為二次料的來源、產銷管理提供完整的透明度。

 

5. 雞可以吃掉自己的包裝?真的假的?!

軟塑膠(Soft plastics)出了名地難以回收,考量到肉類產品的包裝,及維持食品健康安全所需要的大量塑膠,這次在「實驗室」計畫中,一支充滿抱負的團隊把這項挑戰當作一個重大的機會。由全球廢管公司SUEZ主導的3P團隊,與澳洲著名雞肉工廠Ingham’s Chicken、澳洲生物塑料協會(Australian Bioplastics Association)、澳洲包裝盟約組織(Australian Packaging Covenant Organisation)和當地供應商Miltek合作,以分階段的方式從食品生產供應鏈中著手淘汰軟塑膠薄膜包裝。用PHA生物塑料薄膜作為替代材料,可以在Inghams’ Chicken雞肉工廠直接進行循環再利用處理,也就是在現地設立發酵設備,當場就可以使用、收集和重新製作PHA薄膜。不僅如此,薄膜還可以分解成可作為雞營養飼料的某種物質,讓軟塑膠完全循環再利用。

“這次循環經濟實驗室的協作體驗,讓來自不同產業的人有機會為實現共同目標一起努力。而且工作坊架構嚴謹、節奏緊張,根本沒時間廢話!”

- 來自全球最大水務公司SUEZ 的 Liesl Hull

產生五個新計畫

作為「實驗室」 計畫的共同設計者、製作人、引導師,我們很高興能創造出一個理想的環境,讓這些很棒的概念在其中孕育與成形。這些從「實驗室」計畫發展出來的解決方案也真的讓人驚喜連連!

 

關於團隊:C-Suite、United for Change、KAAS、3P和Ripple

團隊在最後一次的工作坊結束後必須向評審團(其中包括澳洲競賽節目創智贏家Shark Tank的導師Glen Richards)說明自己的循環解決方案,每個團隊有5分鐘展示,爭取昆士蘭環境科技部(Queensland Department of Environment and Science)所提供10萬元澳幣的種子輪投資,用來加速商業化的進程。既要能滿足需求性、技術可行性﹑商業存續性和循環性的標準,又要能讓評審與聽眾留下深刻的印象,對每一隊來說絕非易事!發表結束後,所有團隊的計畫仍持續的發展,在「實驗室」計畫的推動下,他們正在努力的將這些新事業、新計畫推展到整個昆士蘭(甚至其他地區)。

所有參與昆士蘭循環經濟實驗室的夥伴們都是澳洲推動循環經濟的先行者,他們設立了一個完美的典範:產業領導者及顛覆者可以攜手合作,共同設計出能推動跨組織參與循環轉型的解決方案。更重要的是循環經濟所創造出來,提升環境、社會、經濟利益的機會。應對這樣的系統性的挑戰,我們必須在觀念、態度和行為上做出相應的改變。

 

想知道更多嗎?

你正在尋找能在組織內或跨組織創造循環商業模式典範轉移的方法嗎?想了解什麼是「循環經濟」以及它對你的生意可能代表什麼意義嗎?很想知道能促成「實驗室」計畫關鍵?想參與循環經濟社群網絡?立即與我們聯繫!

 

更多客戶案例

5 unexpected insights we learnt through the Queensland Circular Economy Lab

Over 90 days, we took 27 leading innovators, disruptors, entrepreneurs and business operators in Australia on an immersive learning journey to create solutions that accelerate the circular economy in Queensland – we call this the Circular Shift. As the first of its kind in Australia, the Queensland Circular Economy Lab (the Lab) was delivered in collaboration with Coreo. It followed our co-innovation programming and the battle-tested applied learning tools and techniques from our award-winning Double Loop. Participants connected with a compelling vision – to apply circular design principles that would transform their organizations and respective industries – with each team navigating uncertainty to pioneering commercial solutions that address the Circular Shift. The Lab was designed to provide an ideal environment for multi-party innovation, where industry leaders could join forces with industry disruptors, and implement circular solutions across their organizations.

 

The challenge?

To create new circular business models and aligned value propositions, where leaders from each of the participating organizations were grouped into teams, to cycle through the Double Loop and create a triple bottom line positive impact – environmental, economic and social. The key to this challenge was to understand and align on their respective experiences, expectations and motivations. For all teams, this meant looking beyond their individual corporate priorities to partner for success. It also meant looking beyond ‘sustainability’ to identify those solutions that will fundamentally shift the behaviors and mindsets of both consumers and businesses, urging the consideration of the negative externalities that come with a cost, convenience and consumption. Understanding the principles of the circular economy and how to action sustainability through the mechanics of the business model, presented the greatest challenge and the greatest opportunity.

 

“We need to move to a more circular way of thinking and acting,”

- Leanne Kemp, the Queensland Chief Entrepreneur

3 months of design-doing
There was no rest for the wicked during the Lab. Over a series of four intensive workshops, the teams worked to shape actionable circular economy initiatives that could be brought back into their organization and executed in partnership following the success of the Lab. Each team vigorously pursued a distinct opportunity, taking into account the point of view, resources, strategic goals and expertise of each organization around the table. From meat-packaging to household energy consumption, the five themes were set by a foundation partner of each team and evolved as the teams gained a deeper understanding of their collective vision and ambition. Through this, we witnessed the iteration and evolution of each teams’ Point-of-View in real-time. Talk about the double-loop accelerated!

“Shaping a circular economy is one of the biggest challenges of our time, and I believe the creative discipline of design thinking with a focus on co-innovation is the ideal approach for tackling such a systemic challenge.”

- Michael Eales, Managing Director, Business Models Inc, Australia.

Speedy Gonzales…
As they were moving through the phases of innovation, each team worked quickly to test their ideas and validate their assumptions along the way – also going back to the problem they are trying to solve. In an applied learning experience like this, it’s crucial to capture and document the “A-ha moments” as they happen – things can change, fast!

“Speed is the new IP, and if it wasn’t captured on a Post-It note, it didn’t happen!”

- Grace Ryall, Strategy Designer, Business Models Inc, Australia

After each workshop, participants continued validating and testing their concept internally and across their value chains, to gain a better understanding of the desirability, feasibility and viability of their solution. Each workshop brought new input, research and insights that the teams used to iterate and build upon their solutions. We even had an expert-in-residence, Ashleigh Morris of Coreo, available to provide information and examples of global best practice if the teams needed to ‘phone a friend’!

This was a learning journey for all of us. Passionate about tackling systemic issues, we started this project with the vision to provide tangible and accessible examples of what the circular economy looks like in action. Systems-thinking requires a diversity of perspectives, expertise and disciplines in the room, incorporating the unusual suspects and celebrating unassuming ideas. We certainly had a unique mix of corporates, not-for-profits,

government and academia in the room, which made for an alchemic blend of enthusiasm and experience. So you can imagine that we picked up some incredible learnings along the way! Here are five unexpected insights that emerged from the Circular Economy Lab.

 

1. The kitchen is the energy epicenter of the home.

Gone are the days when the living room was the central family power-house. Beyond the appliances and whitegoods, people are now plugging their devices into power-points in the kitchen to charge their batteries, hook up their speakers and multitask behind the screen. Exploring how the circular economy can transform business models in the energy sector and drive more intelligent communities, this team identified the need for a consumer-friendly solution to the household costs (environmental, financial and lifestyle) associated with the kitchen. Driven by Lendlease and their master-planned community Yarrabilba, the team saw an opportunity to shift from providing appliances and whitegoods as ‘products’ to appliances and whitegoods as ‘services,’ financed through a daily subscription rate – Kitchen As A Subscription (KAAS). Leandlease was joined by appliances and whitegoods manufacturer Fisher & Paykel, The Royal Automobile Club of Queensland (RACQ), Movus, Substation 33, Logan Access and Logan City Council.

 

2. Seeing is believing when it comes to communicating circular design solutions.

Designing and constructing a new building involves making decisions about the materials that will be used and the spaces that will be created. C Suite is a digital tool designed to quantify the value of the circular economy in the built environment. The ability to visualize circular designs and measure their impact helps to reduce uncertainties and in turn, facilitate stakeholder conversations. Led by Jones Lang LaSalle and EarthCheck, C Suite will quantify the holistic benefit of circularity including reduced material waste, energy efficiency, wellbeing, social responsibility, employee engagement, productivity, collaboration. Brisbane Airport Corporation, who was joined by sustainable textiles company Blocktexx and Netherlands-based data company Madaster in the Lab, will be the initial testbed for C-Suite pilot.

 

3. Water abundance is not the problem, water distribution is the problem.

Most Queenslanders will agree that water scarcity is a real thing. Particularly in the agricultural industry where water is arguably the most finite resource, coming up with ways to recycle water and eliminate waste is of paramount importance. During the Lab, it became clear that the underlying issue is actually one of access and distribution. Regional farmers in drought-stricken areas need to be able to share resources and strengthen their communities. Enter Ripple. Led by Meat and Livestock Australia, alongside Cisco and Grove Juice, Ripple looks at the how to create change in the face of complex systems challenges, by engaging regional communities to share resources and valorize waste streams, like food waste and water.

 

4. You can make epic products using recycled PET.

The Container Exchange scheme sees 3 million containers a day being collected across Queensland. The challenge lies in how to up-cycle the materials collected, namely PET and aluminum. Through the Lab, Container Exchange (Coca-Cola Amatil and Lion Nathan), Rio Tinto (Boyne Smelter), Everledger, Evolve Group and Astron Sustainability worked together to form ‘United for Change’ and close the loop on this recycling challenge. United for Change connects these recycled material streams with local Queensland manufacturers like Evolve Group, who are able to upcycle these materials and turn them into higher-value goods, creating new economic opportunity and restoring social trust in the recycling process. The recycled materials will be tracked and traced through Everledger’s sophisticated blockchain technology, providing full transparency into the provenance and chain of custody of containers throughout the value chain.

 

5. Chickens can eat their own packaging (huh?)

Soft plastics are notoriously difficult to recycle. Given the large amounts of plastic that is required to contain meat products and maintain health and safety, an ambitious team in the Lab saw this challenge as a major opportunity. Team 3P – led by global waste management company SUEZ, in collaboration with Ingham’s Chicken, the Australian Bioplastics Association, the Australian Packaging Covenant Organisation and local company Miltek – set out to eliminate soft plastic film from the food product manufacturing supply chain through a phased approach. Using PHA bioplastic film as an alternative material will enable a closed-loop process onsite at Inghams’ Chicken,

whereby the PHA film can be used, collected and remade onsite through the co-location of a fermentation facility. If that’s not enough, the film decomposes into a substance that can be used as chicken-feed to nourish the chickens, making for a truly circular solution to soft-plastics.

“The CE Lab has been such a collaborative experience giving the opportunity to individuals from different industries to work together towards the same goal. The workshops are well structured but intense: no time for unnecessary talking!”

- Liesl Hull, SUEZ

Five new initiatives
As the co-designers, producers and facilitators of the Lab, we are excited to have been able to provide the optimal environment for these concepts to be nurtured and accelerated. We are blown away by the solutions that emerged from the Lab.

 

Introducing: C-Suite, United for Change, KAAS, 3P and Ripple.

These concepts were ultimately presented in front of a panel of judges (including Glen Richards from Australia’s Shark Tank) following the final Lab workshop, where teams polished their solutions and brushed up on their pitching skills. With five minutes on stage to present their circular solution, the teams were each vying for investment from a pool of $100K seed funding provided by the Queensland Department of Environment and Science – funds they could use to accelerate their commercialization path. This was no easy feat! The teams had to meet the criteria for desirability, feasibility, viability and circularity, impress the judges and the audience. Since pitch night, the teams haven’t looked back. They have built on the momentum of the Lab and are accelerating their newly formed ventures and initiatives to roll them out across Queensland (and beyond).

The participants of the Queensland Circular Economy Lab are pioneers, creating Australian stories and examples of how industry leaders and disruptors can come together and co-design new solutions to drive the Circular Shift for their organizations. Above all, the circular economy presents an opportunity to create environmental, social and economic benefit. It requires a change in mindsets, attitudes and behaviors, as all systemic challenges demand.

 

Want to learn more?
Are you looking to take hold of the circular shift within your organization? Want to learn more about the circular economy and what it could mean for your business? Keen to understand the science behind the Lab? Want to join the Circular Economy Network? Reach out today!

 

More client stories

What can we do for you?