EYELEVEL 設計並實現互動式顧客體驗

挑戰

制定新的長期願景,伴隨各種價值主張。

解決方案

啟動各種形式的工作坊,以明確定義如何成為領先品牌首選的合作夥伴,這些品牌致力於透過創新、永續發展與顧客體驗而出類拔萃。

EYELEVEL 為全球品牌設計並實現互動式顧客體驗。該公司從最初的零售店面設計開始,逐步演進到到數位領域,目前專精於在數位與實體購物環境中設計豐富的顧客互動。這種商業模式雖可維持經年,但 EVELEVEL 體認到,有必要在市場開始改變前,就開始思考新的商業模式。

制定強大未來願景

全球設計與創新主管 Ben Jensen 說:「我們一直都是價值驅動的公司,熱情、使命感和創業精神是我們的基因。但是,我們內部溝通和外部品牌定位缺一致性,也有點過時。像是『激勵人心的品牌體驗』的標語到底意味著什麼呢?我們對未來也沒有一個清晰的願景,三年後我們在哪?未來十年呢?未來的零售業是什麼樣子?我們又要如何去形塑它?」

他 2015 年在柏林參加設計管理學院(Design Management Institute)的年會時,開始追尋 EYELEVEL 更清晰的核心目的和未來願景。Jensen 說:「這個研討會啟發我在商業世界中鑽研設計思維。一年後,同樣的會議又在阿姆斯特丹舉行,我帶了布拉格領導團隊的同事一起參加。在我們參加了一場由 Patrick van der Pijl 主講的工作坊後,與 BMI 的合作就此拉開序幕。同年,我們聘請 BMI 協助我們公司定義清晰的願景,並產出隨後將推動的商業模式創新計畫。一開始,我們以為會產出一頁的願景陳述,但 BMI 表示,整個公司需要參與願景的制定,光靠五個人用兩天的工作坊是完成不了的,更重要的是讓各個部門的員工參與其中。BMI 先呈現我們的既有策略,隨後提供工具讓更廣大的團隊成員參與發展願景與改善策略。」

設計循環零售情境

一年後,為了進一步加強鞏固,公司又與 BMI 開展了一次工作坊,共有來自世界各地的辦公室的 25 人參加。Jensen 說:「我們優化了 2025 年願景,並為商業模式探索新的方向。」

EVELEVEL 現在探索並闡述四大方向:永續、數位平台、B2C 模式以及顧問模式。四大方向既獨立又彼此關聯,相輔相成。「我特別熱衷於零售業的永續創新,深信以此方式幫助品牌創新是我們未來成功的關鍵。」Jensen 說

自創心法

秉持這種主張, EYELEVEL 設計了自己的設計思維法,部分是基於 BMI 的概念,也納入其他顧問公司的工具,並根據自己公司的特殊需求進行設計。Jensen 說:「我們從 BMI 學到很多,甚至我們很多工作坊的架構,是根據他們的最佳實務而設計。我們把自己的 EYELEVEL 方法用在所有事情上,無論是流程改善、設計衝刺(design sprints)還是提出創新的零售觀念。在公司現有業務範圍外,我們甚至為客戶提供顧問服務。此創新推動模式不僅增加了公司既有業務,還為組織帶來了新的商業模式。」

新商業模式的好處體現於兩方面——「因為這個顧問服務模式,我們可更早與客戶接軌,因而更加了解他們的品牌和策略目標,從而為終端使用者設計更好的體驗。這些工作坊為客戶也為我們自己發現了嶄新而有力的洞見。」

母公司也買單

母公司 InnerWorkings 見識到 EYEYLEVEL 採取的行動,好奇他們建立長期策略與願景所使用的方法。於是要求 Jensen 組織類似的工作坊,並引進 BMI 協助設計和引導。公司的高階主管和來自跨領域的各部門員工合計25人共同參與。Jensen 說:「我們為此設計了三天的工作坊,因為之前的經驗是兩天太短。前兩天由 BMI 來引導,最後一天是由我們自己主持。我們在第三天運用了 EYELEVEL 自己的方法,將第一天和第二的成果轉化成為具體計劃和行動。」

全新思維

BMI 不僅幫助 EYELEVEL 創建未來願景,以及與當前商業模式互補的新模式,更協助形塑一個全新的共同思維和工作方式。Jensen 說:「後者可能比前者更重要,BMI 幫助我們改變了思考公司未來的方式,也證明設計思維在解決商業挑戰上的強大能力,使我們獲益良多。」

 

更多客戶案例

 

想了解我們如何提供協助嗎?

EYELEVEL designs and realizes engaging customer experiences

Challenge

Develop a new long-term vision and accompanying value propositions.

Solution

A number of workshops in various configurations in which we have defined how we will become the first choice partner for leading brands who want to distinguish themselves in innovation, sustainability, and the customer experience.

EYELEVEL designs and realizes engaging customer experiences for global brands. The company originally came from the retail sector and designed store concepts, but it evolved in the digital world. The design of rich customer interactions, in a shopping environment and digital, is now the company’s specialty. This business model can last for years, but EYELEVEL realizes that you have to start thinking about new business models well before the marketplace starts to change.

Develop strong future vision

Global Director of Design & Innovation, Ben Jensen says: “We’ve always been a values-driven company, with passion, purpose, and an entrepreneurial mindset as part of our DNA. But our internal communications and external brand positioning was inconsistent and outdated. What does a tagline like ‘Inspiring Brand Experiences’ mean? We also had no clear vision of the future: where do we want to be in three years? In ten years? What will the future of retail look like, and how can we help shape it?”

His quest to clarify EYELEVEL’s core purpose and future vision began in 2015, when he attended an annual Design Management Institute conference in Berlin. “That inspired me to delve into design thinking in the enterprise world. A year later, the same conference took place in Amsterdam and I brought along some colleagues from our Prague leadership team. There we attended a workshop with Patrick van der Pijl and our partnership with BMI began. Later that year we hired BMI to help us define a clear vision for the company, and come up with business model innovations to take forward. We thought we would come home with a one page vision. However, they showed us that a vision needs to be borne by the whole company, you can’t develop it with five people in a two day workshop. It is important to involve employees from all parts of the organization. BMI showed us a mirror to our existing strategy, and then gave us the tools to develop a vision and improved strategy with a much broader team.”

Designing circular retail environments

A year later, a need arose for a intensification and the company did a second workshop with BMI, this time with 25 people from all offices worldwide. Jensen: “We refined our 2025 vision and explored new directions for our business model.”

Four directions emerged that EYELEVEL now explores and elaborates on: sustainability, digital platforms, a business-to-consumer model and a consultancy model. These four directions can be viewed separately, but also in conjunction. And that makes them even stronger. “I’m particularly passionate about sustainable innovation in retail, and believe that our ability to help brands innovate in this way is key to our future success”, says Jensen.

Own design thinking method

With this proposition in mind, EYELEVEL has designed its own design thinking method that is partly based on the ideas of BMI, but which also includes tools from other consultancy firms, plus some they’ve created on their own to fit a specific need. Jensen: “We’ve learned a lot from BMI and even modeled some of our workshop structure after their best practices. We use the EYELEVEL method internally for everything, from process improvements to design sprints, to come up with innovative retail concepts. Now we are even offering our clients a consultancy service in addition to our current scope of services. This innovation agency model both strengthens our current business and at the same time contains a new business model for our organization”, says Jensen.

The great thing about this new business model is that it works in two ways. “Thanks to this consultancy service model, we are able to connect with our clients much earlier in the process. As a result, we have a better understating of the brand and their strategic goals, which means that we can ultimately design better experiences for the end user. The workshops uncover new and powerful insights for both, our clients and for ourselves.”

Parent company also convinced

Parent company InnerWorkings saw the steps taken by EYELEVEL and became curious about the methods they used to set their long term vision and strategy. Jensen was asked to help organize a similar workshop for the parent company, and brought in BMI to help design and facilitate the program. Not for a small group of top managers, but for a group of 25 people from all departments of the company and with a diversity of functions. Jensen: “We planned three days for it because we had experienced that two days is quite short. The first two days were facilitated by BMI, the last day by us. On day 3 we used our EYELEVEL method to convert the output of day 1 and 2 into concrete plans and actions to take forward.”

New way of thinking

BMI not only helped EYELEVEL with the creation of a vision for the future and a new business model that is complementary to the current one, they also contributed to a new, shared way of thinking and working. Jensen: “The latter is perhaps even more important than the first. BMI has helped us change the way that we think about the future of our company. And they proved that a design thinking approach to solving business challenges can be extremely powerful. We have benefited tremendously from this approach.”

More client stories

What can we do for you?