勇往直前!共築願景

法國巴黎銀行(BNP Paribas Fortis)自下而上的願景與策略共創之旅

挑戰

如何不再只仰賴董事會,並建構共創願景與策略的設計之道

解決方案

合眾人之力,法國巴黎銀行策略願景規劃超 2000 人參與

每個人都有自己的觀點,然少有力行解決者。面對非職權範圍內之事,大部分人都會因為事不關己而寧可少一事;作為一名財務長,這本也不是我的份內事。然而,我決定走出舒適圈──這是破局的唯一方法。

對願景如飢似渴

近期,我們的組織經歷了一段相當艱難的時期,這一點也反映在低落的士氣。 繼金融危機的重創之後,兩家公司(法國巴黎銀行與富通銀行)的合併又造成了企業文化的衝突。我認為我們的討論都太側重過去已發生的事,很多同事都在質疑我們公司的定位。 雖然我也認同同事們的觀點,但即便如此,這些對話不免流於不愉快甚至充滿破壞性。

在一艘巨輪向前航行時,我們常認為自己沒有太多反躬自省的時間。 但我覺得我們需要收回冒進的步伐,瞭解現狀並解決難題後再整裝出發。 這不是要我們逃避問題,而是把問題攤開,然後從中汲取經驗,以利更快重新起錨前行。

重新對焦,瞄準未來

恐懼、不確定性和各種疑慮步步緊逼,我覺得重新對焦並展望未來的時候已經到了。 雖然作為財務長,這未必屬於我的職務範疇,但我還是決定站出來並努力促成此事。 事實上,我認為組織中的每一份子都應當仁不讓,承擔起全新而且比本份更重大的責任。然而身為財務長,我還是有些困惑:該如何聚焦未來、而非受限於數據所預測的未來呢?未來,又是什麼模樣呢?

在瞬息萬變的金融世界裡,我唯一確信的是:冷冰冰的數字無法說出我們需要的故事,也不會讓人對我們的未來產生信心。

在我看來,如果要談論未來,很顯然的,故事比數字更重要。為了重建我們的故事,需要的不只是數據導向的智商,還要感性驅動的情商。我必須讓人們摒除消極的情緒,未來的建構要以積極的情緒為基石,打造自己的 DNA。

勇敢向前邁步

我就是那個帶頭向前走的人。考慮到我作為財務長的身份 ── 一個整天和數字打交道的人,這可以說是極不尋常的舉動。事實上在我的職涯中,這是第一次覺得有必要這麼做。 無疑,我長期擔任主管職務,這家銀行已是我 DNA 的一部分,自然希望為其擘畫千秋大業。 就像我覺得人們需要走出舒適圈勇於掌舵,我也相信當你願意站出來時,一定多少會樂在其中。這並非說第一次跨出舒適圈時不會有任何焦慮。我當初也是有些不安,但我相信焦慮感能使人更善於迎接新環境。因為你敏銳的神經將不會放過外界任何的一點風吹草動,而這正恰恰是你尋找願景的契機。我便如此一路走來。

完全毫無頭緒

習慣了過去營運的思維模式,我也不知該怎樣聚焦在近期的前景。事實上,我們團隊裡沒有一個人知道該如何做。但是我想如果自己邁出了第一步,那麼大家就會一起為下一步盤算。在這一刻,我意識到我實際上正在發起一種運動,人們群起效尤,就能產生繼續前進所需要的能量,進而又使更多人被這股能量吸引加入。剛開始起步時,雖然前方沒有清楚的路線,但能自己開闢最佳路徑的感覺很不錯。我也明白,在我們這種大型組織裡,大多數人很難下定決心加入我們發起的這種運動。這不是他們想不想的問題,大多數時候,利用既有的資訊來執行當下的策略,肯定會走得更為舒適罷了,畢竟在學校裡,我們都是受這樣的教育長大。但這樣做,又何嘗不是故意停滯不前的藉口呢!?昨日之習知並不能為成功保駕護航。當然,你也可以委外設計願景和策略。不過這樣一來,你就沒有為成敗完全負起責任。

同心協力

隨著我挺身而出後,其他人也站出來幫忙共同設計我們的未來。在我們共同邁出第一步的同時,我意識到,好點子都是在不同部門的人員各抒己見、彼此分享討論下產生的。 我們不想重覆歷史,而是推陳出新。不想將創意隨便寫在紙上,不出幾天就被拋諸腦後。 我們相信,只有經過眾人攜手共創的願景才有延續下去的可能,一味等待執行委員會出面是不可取的。我們希望吸收組織裡各階層的人才,一起探索故事,並且把故事說出來。

與250人一道共創願景

有了組織中的各色人員的加盟,他們全都另有日常的職責,我們踏上了征途。 收集資訊、找客戶訪談、同時也將我們的故事同步在一張圖上記錄下來。 我感受到一個強而有力的願景正在成形。

就在同年的晚些時候,我們主辦了為期兩天的「管理大學」活動:一次將我們蒐集來的故事分享給其他人的良機。 這可不是小打小鬧。該活動匯集了整個組織來自全球各地 250 多人,針對銀行的未來展開對話。這是分享和驗證我和我的 35 人核心團隊過去一年成果的絕佳時機,我們都蓄勢待發。

每個人,作為我們運動的一分子,都要向在場 250 名觀眾陳述一部分的故事。 而且,為了更具包容性,我們決定不使用一般的舞臺,而是選擇了 360 度舞臺,發言人就站在舞台的中央——位於對話的中心點。更大膽的是,我們一張幻燈片也不用,打算呈現 TED 風格的演講,藉此激勵我們的團隊。

Business Models Inc. 同時參與了法國巴黎銀行(BNP Paribas Fortis)新策略的設計規劃。更詳細的案例研究請見《設計一門好生意》一書。

What can we do for you?

This story inspired me and I would like to know what you can do for me.

Get in touch

Dare to step up! Design a vision together.

How BNP Paribas Fortis co-created a bottom up vision and strategy.

Challenge

How to design a vision and strategy that is co-created with our people and does not come from the boardroom

Solution

A strategic visioning exercise with over 2000 people who contributed to the vision of BNP Paribas Fortis

Everybody has a point of view. Very few dare to step up. They believe they are not the right person to do that as it is not in their job description. It was not in mine either: I am the CFO. Yet I decided to step out of my comfort zone – the only way to make a difference.

We were hungry for vision

Our organization had gone through some pretty rough times in the recent past. You could feel that in the energy of the organization. The financial crisis had taken a toll, and a merger between two companies (BNP Paribas and Fortis Bank) had created a cultural disconnect – and I realized that our discussions were too focused on what had happened in the past. People were questioning our company identity. I, of course, agreed with my co-workers, but even those conversations were very difficult and even disruptive.

As a large ship sailing forward, we often don’t think we have much time for self-reflection. But I felt we needed to take a step back, describe our situation, and then get over it and get going. I didn’t mean sweeping our problems under the rug – we needed to talk about them and learn from them. And then we needed to move forward.

Reshuffle the focus to the future

With all of our fears, uncertainties, and doubts, I felt that it was time to reshuffle the focus and start looking forward. Although as the CFO it was not necessarily my role, I decided to step up and make it happen. In fact, I think that anyone and everyone in our organization should be able to step up and take new and broader sets of responsibilities than what they were hired for. But, as the CFO, I was a bit perplexed: how could I focus on the future and not just the forecasted future the numbers usually tell? What would the future look like?

With changes happening rapidly in our world (the banking world), I knew one thing for sure: numbers would not tell the story we needed. Nor would numbers get people to believe in our future.

To me, it became clear that our future is not as much about numbers as it is about our story. And to rebuild our story, I needed not just number-driven IQ, but also emotionally-driven EQ. I needed to get people to let go of their negative emotions and build our future based on positive ones. We needed to build what’s in our DNA.

Step forward

I was the one who stepped forward. is was quite extraordinary when you consider that my role was the CFO – a numbers guy. This, in fact, was the first time in my career that I felt the need to do this. Sure, I’d held leadership positions for a long time. But this bank is in my DNA and I wanted to design a future that would last. As much as I feel that people need to step out of their comfort zones and help steer the ship, I also believe you must feel somewhat comfortable stepping up and steering. That’s not to say you won’t be anxious the first time you step up. I know I was. But I believe being anxious enables you to be more open to new environments. You become sensitive to outside stimuli. And this is where you will find your vision. I did.

No clue how to do it

Being operationally minded, I did not know how to shift our focus to the near-term future. In fact, nobody on our team did. But I felt that if I made the first step forward, we would gure out how to make the next step together. At this moment, I realized that I was actually creating a movement. As people joined, they created the energy we needed to take more steps. Even more people were drawn to this energy and joined us. We had no clear path ahead of us as we took those first few steps, but it felt good to create our own optimistic path. I also knew that most people in large organizations like ours would have a hard time joining movements like the one we started. It’s not that they don’t want to. It’s just that most of the time, executing today’s strategy using current information is the more comfortable path. That’s what we all learn to do in school, after all. But using yesterday’s information to execute yesterday’s strategy is a terrible excuse for not moving forward. All of the information in the world will not guarantee success if it’s based on yesterday. Sure, you can hire third parties to design your vision and strategy for you. But then you’re not taking responsibility for making it a success.

Do it together

As I stepped forward, other people stepped up to help design our future together. As we all took those first steps together, I recognized that the most interesting ideas came from having people from different departments, with varying ideas, share with each other. We wanted to create something different from what we’d done in the past. We didn’t want to simply write our ideas down on a piece of paper, only for them to be forgotten in a few days. We believed that in order to live the vision, we needed to co-create it together and not wait for the Executive Committee. We wanted people from all levels of the organization to explore the story and tell the story.

Creating a vision with 250 people

With various people from the organization, all of whom had other daily responsibilities, we began to forge our path forward. We collected information, talked to customers, and synchronized our stories on a map. It felt to me that we had the beginnings of a strong vision.

We hosted a two-day “Management University” event later that year: an opportune time to share our collective stories with one another. This was not a small event. Management University brought together 250 people from all over the organization and all over the world to have conversations about the future of the bank. I thought it was the perfect time to share and validate the vision I and my (now) 35-person core team had been working on for the past year. We all stepped up to the raised bar.

Each person, as part of our movement, had to tell a part of our story to the other 250 people in the audience. And, to make it more inclusive, we decided not to use a regular stage. Instead, we opted for a 360-degree stage with the presenters standing right in the middle – at the heart of the conversation. To raise the stakes even more, we decided not to use slides at all. We would give TED-style keynotes that were meant to inspire our teams.

Business Models Inc. was involved in the design of the new strategy at BNP Paribas Fortis. The case study is described in more detail in our book “Design a Better Business.

What can we do for you?

This story inspired me and I would like to know what you can do for me.

Get in touch