荷蘭阿姆斯特丹的循環經濟挑戰賽:廢木廚房和廁紙T恤

阿姆斯特丹循環經濟挑戰賽(Amsterdam Circular Challenge)是年輕專業人士和學生團隊受教育最後階段的競賽,參賽者必須找出能解決阿姆斯特丹循環經濟議題的方案。挑戰賽更像是參賽者開創自己生意和提振城市循環經濟的跳板,且由於在阿姆斯特丹一炮而紅,之後將陸續推動至荷蘭其他城市乃至成為國家級別的競賽 。

挑戰

將廢棄物變成人們願意購買的產品。

解決方案

走入市場測試產品是否具有潛力;如果需要,就調整原本的構想。

在阿姆斯特丹一年一度的「循環經濟挑戰賽 (Amsterdam Circular Challenge)」,各地深富潛力的人才力求解決世界難題,同時也創造獲利。發起人 Pieter De Stefano 認為,此二者並不互相衝突 ,賽事的第一支隊伍便已推出了自己的創新產品。 

Pieter De Stefano 解釋,該挑戰賽圍繞在阿姆斯特丹企業及組織的廢棄物問題:「團隊不分新舊學員,都要在六星期內以穩健的企劃案,設計出有價值的產品,目標是產品能夠在地利用,同時獲利。」

去年,這些團隊為建商 Eigen Haard 提出解決方案,該公司一直苦於處理裝潢後的大量廢棄物。六星期後,獲勝的團隊設計出,用廢棄木頭來製作室內廚房櫥櫃鑽孔用門的方法。無獨有偶地,他們也為自來水公司 Waternet 提供了創新的做法──取材阿姆斯特丹下水道裡的廁所衛生紙,還原成紙漿來製作T恤。

穩健的商業企劃

精彩的想法人人都有,但要如何讓想法在商場致勝呢? De Stefano 提到:「在長達六週的挑戰賽期間,專注於生意的本質相當重要。穩健的商業企劃是攻佔市場的基本要素。雖然我們的目標一直是希望能將參賽者轉型成真正的企業家,但在過去的挑戰賽中,我們卻忽略了某些部分。」

De Stefano 邀請 Business Models Inc. 在挑戰賽中指導各團隊製作自己的生意企劃案。他們學會使用商業模式圖(Business Modes Canvas)── 一個能協助團隊發展和設計商業模式的系統性框架。「第一週,團隊不僅試著填寫了自己的商業模式圖、和夥伴一起發表交流,同時激發了更多的能量和熱情。因為這使得團隊成員在短時間內就暸解彼此,也因此完美地為挑戰賽揭開序幕。」

想法測試

De Stefano 說在挑戰賽中,商業企劃案產出過程別於一般。「企業家通常會根據客戶需求來設計產品。然而,此次挑戰賽則剛好相反。先將廢棄物設計成一個產品,然後再來找潛在客戶。」強調的重點是產品須先走進真實世界,並測試是否具有市場潛力。「市場需求尚未形成的情況下,仍有機會隨時調整構想。」

果不其然,接下來的幾週都將重點放在商業計劃的驗證上。這產品能滿足客戶的需求嗎?這個概念是否可行呢?人們願意為此掏錢嗎?「在挑戰賽最後階段,討論著團隊遇到哪些障礙是需要因此調整商業計劃的,這教會他們,因應外界變遷,要能靈活應變,別死守在固定產品上。對一些團隊來說,這絕對是項警訊。」

提升至國家級別

De Stefano 對未來充滿遠大的企圖心,「我們正在檢視在鹿特丹(Rotterdam)也舉辦挑戰賽的可能性,甚至可升高為國家級的挑戰。」不論未來發展如何,阿姆斯特丹循環經濟挑戰賽的參賽者已為全市循環經濟做出許多巨大貢獻。以 2015 年獲獎團隊為例,他們的想法是利用運河上的廢棄水廠來生產家具。「他們現在有間成功的公司在荷蘭設計週(Dutch Design Week)亮相,亦即,挑戰賽的成效已超乎預期。」

 

 

更多客戶案例

What can we do for you?

This story inspired me and I would like to know what you can do for me.

Get in touch

Scrap wood kitchens and toilet paper
t-shirts

The Amsterdam Circular Challenge is a competition between teams of young professionals and students in the final stages of their education. The competitors are challenged to find solutions for circular economy issues in Amsterdam. The challenge is a springboard for competitors to start their own business and a boost for the city’s circular economy. Following the event’s success in Amsterdam, the challenge may find its way to other cities or even a national platform.

Challenge

Turn waste into a product people are willing to pay for.

Solution

Go out and test if your product has market potential. If needed, adjust your idea.

During the annual Amsterdam Circular Challenge, high potentials try to solve the world’s problems while at the same time making money. The two are not mutually exclusive, according to initiator Pieter De Stefano. The first teams have already launched their innovative products. 

The challenge revolves around actual waste issues affecting Amsterdam-based companies and organizations, explains De Stefano. “Teams consisting of students and former students have six weeks to design a valuable product with a sound business case. The goal is to use the product locally and to make money at the same time.”

last year, the teams worked on a solution for housing corporation Eigen Haard. The corporation was stuck with enormous loads of waste from renovation projects. After six weeks, the winning team designed a way to use scrap wood for the making of doors for the boring kitchen cabinets in the houses. Similarly, a case for water company Waternet led to the idea of making t-shirts from the pulp resulting from used toilet paper in the Amsterdam sewers.

A sound business case

All wonderful ideas, but how do you make a solution into commercial success? De Stefano: “It’s very important to focus on the business end during the six week challenge. A sound business case is essential for market success. It’s something we paid insufficient attention to during previous editions of the challenge, even though the goal is to turn contestants into entrepreneurs.”

De Stefano asked Business Models Inc. to guide the teams during the challenge with making their business cases. They learned to use the ‘Business Model Canvas’, a framework for developing and designing a business model. “During the first week, the teams fill out the framework and present it to each other. This generates a lot of energy and enthusiasm. It’s also a perfect way to kick off the challenge, because the team members get to know each other quickly.”

Testing ideas

During the challenge, business case generation is a bit unusual, says De Stefano. “Normally, an entrepreneur designs a product based on customer demand. During the challenge, however, things are the other way around. You have this waste, which you turn into a product. Then you look for potential customers.” This underlines the importance of going out into the world and testing whether or not a product has market potential. “In the case of insufficient demand, it’s still possible to adjust the idea.”

It’s no surprise, then, that the next weeks focus on business plan validation. Is the product meeting a customer demand? Is the concept feasible and are people willing to pay for it? “In the final phase of the challenge, we discuss which roadblocks the teams have encountered and if they need to adjust their business plan. This teaches them to be flexible and not to hang on to a product which should be different, according to the outside world. For some teams, this is a real wake-up-call.”

National edition

De Stefano is ambitious about the future. “We’re currently examining the possibilities for a challenge in Rotterdam, maybe even a national challenge.” Whatever the future brings, the competitors of the Amsterdam Circular Challenge have already contributed a lot to the city’s circular economy. Take for instance the winning team from 2015. They had the idea to create furniture from the canals’ pruned water plants. “They now have a successful company and were present at the Dutch Design Week. In other words, the challenge goes beyond nice ideas.”

What can we do for you?

This story inspired me and I would like to know what you can do for me.

Get in touch