三把金鑰,從顧客(甚至非顧客)的身上挖寶!

  • Business Model Innovation
  • Design Thinking
  • Value Proposition Design
  • 價值主張設計
  • 商業模式創新
  • 設計思考

諸如「將心比心」、「傾聽你的顧客」、「顧客心聲是一切」、「讓顧客成為我們的嚮導」等人們已經耳熟能詳的觀念,還有我們最愛掛在嘴邊的「走出辦公室!」這些口號固然擲地有聲,卻看不出與顧客互動的重要細節──沒有說明與顧客 (或潛在顧客) 來往的因由、時機以及手段。要知道,和不同顧客來往,結果也會每每相異。在本文中,我們將一一剖析四種常見與顧客互動的方式,特別注意其中一項技巧與其他三個方式大相徑庭(此法並非最佳…甚至不算好方法)。

作為企業文化的一部分,焦點團體(focus groups)往往是眾人在談論到與顧客互動時,最先被提及的。如果你不知道什麼是焦點團體,根據《牛津字典》的定義:「將一群人聚集在一起參與討論,或關乎某產品上市之前的事宜,或就某項次競選活動、某部電視連續劇等提供回饋」。本質上,焦點團體屬於一種引導式的討論,通常由第三方公司帶頭,使其就某件事物提供回饋。到目前為止是不是聽起來還不錯?嗯,也許吧。也許焦點團體在協調行銷訊息,甚至是產品名稱和圖像上卓有成效,但前提是你得到了你想要聽到的特定回饋。就這種情況而言,哪怕這樣的討論可能讓你突然茅塞頓開,你也不見得會感興趣,因其可能會使你當前的計畫擱淺。

為什麼會這樣呢?焦點團體定義的前半部分已闡明一切:「一群人聚集在一起參與討論。」換句話說,在一個非自然的、工作環境以外的地方特意聚集一幫人,拋給他們一個論題並想從中引出特定的回饋,這樣做只可能得到一個東拼西湊出來的故事。事實上,還可能會得到一大堆誤報。就像著名文化人類學家 Margaret Mead 曾提及:「人們說了什麼、做了什麼,和他們說自己做了什麼完全是兩碼事!」在相關情境之外,焦點團體中的顧客所言並不可信。很殘忍,這就是現實!

噢,在向顧客學習時還有一點:單單是數據的話,它幾乎無法提供你任何人性化的洞見。人們常說,「我們已經得到了研究數據…..準備好大幹一場了。」當然,如果你知道怎麼解讀這些數據,它會告知你接下來的趨勢。但是,缺乏人們互動和人性化的洞見,會讓你永遠陷入設計附加功能和小程式的無盡循環,而不是人們真正想要和需要的東西。

那麼,何為向顧客取經的最佳途徑呢?

首先,在我們開始之前,必須先釐清的是,從顧客身上直接學習並不非得是一個冗長、學術性的過程。事實上,終端使用者無所不在,甚至會在你認為最不可能出現之處。那麼,我們可以切入正題了!

在所有顧客互動的技巧之中常被忽視、但或許是最簡單也最有效的一種方式,是「觀察(observation)」,或者乾脆叫「瞪大眼睛」的技巧。顧名思義,你要有意接近你的顧客並密切留意他們的舉動,做筆記、拍照片、錄影等等。好比在做一次田野調查,要做的無非就是觀察你的顧客在他們自然和工作環境下的表現,與此同時盡可能地隱身幕後。

雖然這聽起來很容易,但若無絕佳自制力和長久訓練則無法成事。大多數人會進入這種觀察階段,對他們將要看到的事物帶有先入為主的想法。但若想從中學些新的東西(希望你也是!),你就得抱持一種開放且追根究柢的態度。

事前的準備階段,可以先從寫下你已有的假設或者你對現實的感受/認知開始,允許自己去驗證這些猜想,不失為規避自己心理陷阱的好法子。如上所述,這需要一些訓練,因為我們總自以為是對的!人之常情,不是嗎?

既然種種假設已陳述清楚,便是時候開始進行觀察了。不過且慢!在行動之前還須明白,與顧客互動不是為了要證明自己是對的,更非去證明對方是錯的,重點是要挖掘一些你不知道的事實!這些發現可大(例如他們其實不是你的客群)、亦可小(例如他們其實不讀說明書)。關鍵是,別將假設與現實混為一談。

那麼,當你迫切想找顧客解惑怎麼辦?這就要用上第二種技巧:詢問和觀察(asking and observing)。像之前的技巧一樣,秘訣在於哪裡有顧客就往那裡去。而且在這種情況下,你不單要留意他們的舉動,還得帶上想求解的問題,比如,「為何來此?」、「要去何處?」、「為什麼這麼做?」等等。儘管這聽起來挺簡單,但要想成功地以問答形式與顧客互動,還有幾點需要注意。首先,事先準備好幾個想求證的問題(切忌太多,大概 5 到 7 個),並根據談話內容隨時調整提問。第二,不要強求,必須在徵得同意後再開展短對話。第三,別搞推銷。你到這裡來是要向顧客們學習,而不是來賣東西的,單純地與他們聊聊即可。最後,最好結伴同行,在你談話時,另一人當記錄下有趣的細節(或是由同伴展開對談,你來記錄也可以)。

如果你已經問了顧客他們想要/需要/做了什麼等問題,當然也必須將顧客的回答紀錄下來,以便後續與你同事分享。還是那句話,哪怕說的再天花亂墜都不如呈現事實來的有用。這裡是一段用 iPhone 拍攝的視頻,記錄了我們在火車上做的七次採訪,總時長 1.5 小時…. 我想,眼見為憑更是真理。

我們稱最後一種技巧為定性互動(scoped interactions),性質較為科學,也是一大利器,尤其是當你意在通過某位顧客測試產品原型,或驗證某個點子的有效性時。與「詢問和觀察(asking and observing)」一法類似,該技巧也涉及觀察和提問。但是在這一步,你提出的問題和需要在特定時間與顧客進行的測試項目,都必須非常具體。

試想看看,例如在典型的設計思考方式下,你有一個需向他人確認有效(或無效)的某個產品服務原型。操作方法之一是簡單地把該原型置於人面前,看眾人對它作何反應。在此種情形下,觀察之收穫可能僅限於眾人的互動和回應。但是,你的原型也可能牽動著你商業模式的運作。在此情況下你要問的,就是與後續核心計畫或待辦事項相關的具體問題,如此過程即為定性互動。

請注意,正如詢問和觀察的技巧一樣,當你與特定範圍內的人互動時,難免會需要問一些非預期的問題。因此,不要認為定性互動是在做一成不變的實驗。只消隨機應變,靈活提問,直到你完成一次有根有據的訪談為止。

這一切都關乎顧客…以及非顧客

總而言之,向顧客和非顧客學習的道路遠不止一條,起碼比本文中提到的門道要多。不管怎麼樣,踏出第一步並不艱難。十幾年前 Nike 的一名行銷天才總結得十分完美:「做就對了」。為了幫助你入門,以下五個小訣竅能使你從顧客身上盡快學有所得:

  1. 在你準備一頭扎進一堆試算表或焦點團體討論之前,先問問你自己想要達成什麼目標,是想:驗證些什麼? 獲得新的洞見?或是證明己見?針對不同的目的,弄清原委的方法也不同。
  2. 將(你認為)你知道的顧客和非顧客的事情徹底捋一遍,這些內容將會是你要進行測試的假設。
  3. 你並不知道什麼是你還未知的。有時,哪怕是與街頭路人的一次簡短對話也會讓你猶如醍醐灌頂,甚至還能避免大量投資在早該否決的點子。
  4. 當你在與人交談或觀察他人時,不要總是試圖證明自己是對的。不如表現得像科學家一樣,去試著證明自己是錯的。若結果證明自己是對的,也不失為一樁好事。
  5. 問些開放式的問題。當然,還要試著就你所聽到的內容,進一步追問(「為什麼」,「請多講一些」,「當你這麼做時發生了什麼?」)

你最喜歡哪些 「向顧客學習」的技巧呢?

本文由 Business Models Inc. 舊金山辦公室 Maarten van LieshoutJustin Lokitz 合撰。

Comments

Stay Posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.

The 3 Best Ways To Learn from Your Customers (And Non-Customers)

  • Business Model Innovation
  • Design Thinking
  • Value Proposition Design

We hear it every day: “be empathetic”, “listen to your customers”, “it’s the voice of the customer that counts”, “let the customer be our guide”, and, our personal favorite, “get out of the building!” These are all great rallying cries. However, by themselves, these statements leave out crucial details about why, when and how one might go about interacting with customers (or potential customers). After all, every customer interaction is different and may produce different results. In this article, we’ll break down the four most common ways to interact with your customers. Please note: one of these is not like the others (i.e. it’s rarely the best way…or even a good way to interact with customers).

Having been a part of corporate culture for a long time, one of the first things we typically hear about when we discuss customer interactions are focus groups. If you don’t know what a focus group is, here’s how it’s defined by the Oxford Dictionary: “A group of people assembled to participate in a discussion about a product before it is launched, or to provide feedback on a political campaign, television series, etc.” In essence, a focus group is a guided discussion, usually led by a third party company, in which feedback will be given about something. Sounds good so far, right? Well, maybe. While focus groups can be good for tuning marketing messages and perhaps even product titles and imagery, they’re really only useful when you have specific feedback that you want to hear. In this case, you’re probably not even interested in any real a-ha moments as these might tank your current plans.

Why is this the case? It’s all in the first part of the standard definition, “A group of people assembled to participate in a discussion.” In other words, when you assemble people specifically outside of their natural, working habitat and feed them a discussion designed to elicit specific feedback, you’re only likely to get part of the story. In fact, you’ll probably get a ton of false positives. As the famous cultural anthropologist, Margaret Mead, once said, “What people say, what people do, and what they say they do are entirely different things.” Without relevant environmental context, your focus group customers are going to lie to you. Sorry, that’s the truth!

Oh…and one more thing about learning from customers: data alone will almost never provide the human insights you’re looking for. People often tell us, “we’ve got data from the research…we’re good to go.” Sure, the data will give you trends if you know where to look. But, the human interactions and insights will be missing leaving you to forever design add-on features and widgets rather than something people really want and need.

What are the best ways to learn from your customers, then?

Firstly, before we commence with the list, it must be said that learning directly from your customers does not have to be a lengthy and/or academic process. In fact, end users are everywhere…even in places you think they’re least likely to be. So, let’s get on with it.

Often overlooked, but perhaps the easiest and most powerful of all customer interaction techniques is a technique we call “observation”, or simply the eyes-wide-open technique. In this case, you deliberately go to where your customers are and watch them, taking notes, photos, video, etc. Like a safari, this technique is all about observing your customers in their natural, working habitats, while trying your best to fade into the background.

Though this sounds easy, observation actually takes a lot of self-control and training. Most people will go into an observation session with preconceived notions about what they’re going to see. However, if you’re there to learn something new (hopefully you are!), you’ll need to go in with an open, inquisitive mind.

You might prepare yourself by writing down the assumptions you have or what you feel/think is reality. Allow yourself to validate those. It’s also a great way not to fall into your own mental booby-traps. As mentioned this requires a little training as we always want to be right! It’s human nature, right?

Now that you have your assumptions clearly stated, it’s time to move on to observation. But wait, before you do you must also understand that interacting with your customer is not about proving yourself right or worse: proving them wrong. It is about learning things you didn’t know before. Those findings can be big things, (e.g. they are actually not your customer) or smaller things (e.g. they actually don’t read your manual). The key is to not confuse your assumptions for reality.

So, what if you have something that you really want to ask? That brings us to the second technique: asking and observing. Like the previous technique, it’s ALWAYS best to meet your customers where they are. And, in this case you’re not just going to watch, you’ll also be armed with some questions you’d really like to ask, like, “why are you here?”, “where are you going?”, “why do you do it that way?”, etc. As simple as this sounds, there are a couple of keys successfully interacting with customers in this way. First, come armed with a VERY short list (maybe 5 to 7) pre-written questions; be ready to revise them based on your conversations. Second, don’t be pushy. Rather, ask permission to have a short conversation. Third, DO NOT pitch. You’re here to learn from your customers not sell them something. Just have a conversation with them. Finally, it’s always best to bring a buddy with you that can record interesting details while you talk (or vice versa).

And, of course, if you’re already asking customers what they want/need/do etc., you might as well record what they say so you can share it with your colleagues. Again, it can’t be said enough how easy yet powerful this actually is. Here’s a video we shot using an iPhone while doing seven interviews on a train…all over the course of 1.5 hours. I think the result stands for itself.

The final technique, we’ll call scoped interactions, is a bit more scientific in nature, and is SUPER useful when you’re goal is to test a prototype with a customer and/or validate/invalidate an idea. Like “asking and observing”, this technique uses both observation and questioning. However, in this case, you probably have very specific questions you need to ask and/or things you need to test with customers within a particular time period.

For instance, let’s consider for a moment that in typical design thinking fashion you have a prototype that you need to validate (or invalidate) with some people. One way to do that would be to simply put your prototype in front of them and let them respond to it. In this case, you might merely observe their interactions and reactions. However, perhaps your prototype is linked to – or is – a business model. In this case, you probably have some specific questions that you’d like to ask in order to get to the heart of the thing you’re trying to do or solve for. This would be a scoped interaction.

Mind you, just like asking and observing, as you interact with people within a specific scope, you’ll almost certainly find new questions that you’ll want to ask. So, don’t think of scoped interactions as an immutable experiment. Just change the questions as needed until you get a solid set that makes up the bulk of your interviews.

It’s all about the customers…and non-customers

At the end of the day there are more ways to learn from your customers, and non-customers, than we have time for in this article. However, it’s not at all difficult to start. Truly, the best advice was summed up by a marketing genius at Nike more than a decade ago: “Just Do It”. To help you get started, here are five quick tips to help you learn more from your customers:

  1. Before you dive blindly into spreadsheets or focus groups, ask yourself what you want to achieve. Do you want to validate something, get new insights, or be right? There are different ways to get to the bottom of these goals.
  2. Right down the things (you think) you know about your customers and non-customers. These are assumptions that you want to test.
  3. You don’t know what you don’t know. Sometimes a simple conversation with people in the street will gain you a ton of insights and maybe even prevent you from investing a lot of money into an idea that should have been killed a long time ago.
  4. When you talk or observe people, don’t try to prove yourself right. It’s always better to act like a scientist and try to prove yourself wrong…but be happy when you’re right!
  5. Ask open-ended questions. And certainly, try to dive deeper into what you hear (“Why?”, “Tell me more”, “What happened when you did that?”)

What are some of your favorite “customer learning” techniques?

This story was a written (and collaborated on) by Maarten van LieshoutJustin Lokitz, from Business Models Inc., San Francisco.

Comments

Stay posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.