商業模式轉型之三:從實體到數位

  • Business Model Shifts
  • 商業模式轉型

延續前一篇介紹利害關係人轉型(Stakeholder Shift)之文章,本文為六大商業模式轉型系列文章的第三篇,將深入探討一當前已廣為人知的「數位化轉型(Digital Shift )」。也正是此轉型造就了 Salesforce、紐約時報(The New York Times)、Duolingo 及 Fortnite 等知名品牌的成功故事。

在數位世界,「科技就是萬靈丹」,對吧?

嗯……其實不然,除非科技是用在「真實」的東西上。然而,「真實」並不一定代表「實體」,至少在商業模式的討論範疇之下是如此。數位科技在各個方面皆帶來了許多優勢,包括效率、規模及安全等等。

但您有沒有想過,或許科技也可以作為工具,用以驅動真正的價值創造及變革?

 

數位化轉型從何而來?

實體商品是個很好理解的概念,其實同樣的概念也可以延伸到商業模式當中。實體商業模式的基礎建立在為客戶提供有形的商品,或者更清楚地說,應該是為客戶提供實體的商品。

每單位商品都有標準的定價模式,商品通常會透過直接或間接(零售)的通路配銷,因此,建立流程及供應鏈是必要的,它可以使商品在不同地點間順暢地流通。聽起來很簡單,對吧?

這樣的模式長期以來在許多企業中都運作得很好。而所謂的「實體」並不表示當中不包含任何形式的 IT,生產實體商品的企業也可能擁有健全的內部 IT 系統,但其系統基本上仍相當死板。

全球企業已經意識到數位科技無可限量的潛力,以及科技所能賦予企業的能力,例如科技能協助設計出更好的顧客體驗,以及追蹤顧客行為和參與。

企業都希望能真正了解驅動顧客參與的要素,並運用適合的數位工具增進與顧客的互動,來創造更多價值。多虧智慧演算法及越來越先進的數位工具,許多企業跟上了這波潮流,並且取得驚人的成果。

 

數位化轉型案例:Fortnite

Fortnite 為一款風靡世界各地孩童的線上遊戲。Fortnite 之所以成功,在於其抓住機會,替全球遊戲玩家打造有趣且豐富的數位互動體驗,同時巧妙地創造了獲利模式。

Fortnite 最初始及原始的遊戲模式要價 50 元美金,雖說售價並不低廉,但 Fortnite 大部分的收益其實是來自遊戲內的數位貨幣「V-bucks」。玩家可以用它來客製自己的角色,包括購買全新的酷炫膚色及舞步等等,成為數位世界中最亮眼吸睛的玩家。

那麼,新玩家會不會在幫角色買了新膚色的幾週後就玩膩了呢?絕對不可能。因為 Fortnite 會不斷地更新遊戲內容、釋出全新一季的挑戰及角色功能,而每週一次的更新也讓玩家不斷回籠。

遊戲釋出僅僅兩年,Fortnite 的開發商 Epic Games 便成功地擄獲全球超過 2.5 億個玩家。就在我們撰寫這篇文章的同時,又有超過一億名新玩家加入 Fortnite,這款遊戲可說是讓玩家愛不釋手。

 

全新思維

許多企業及產業皆積極擁抱數位化轉型,Fortnite 只是其中之一。其它企業列舉如下,我們會在新書中,深入介紹這些企業:

  • Salesforce,善用數位科技的力量使做生意的方式變得更加人性化。
  • Duolingo,透過數位化及遊戲化的語言學習方法來開拓全新的消費市場。
  • The New York Times,以具價值及創新的數位內容因應全新的數位時代。

無論是從電玩遊戲到音樂,或從娛樂到儲存空間,那些曾經須以實體存在的物品現在大多可以數位的形式取得,而這個趨勢在短期內不會改變。

為了能與顧客頻繁互動,企業不斷精進其數位模型,同時也進一步為客戶提供個人化的極致體驗,以及提升企業的價值主張;藉此,企業得以在各個管道間提供流暢的客製化體驗,讓客戶一再回頭消費。

請持續關注商業模式轉型系列故事。接下來我們將介紹 LinkedIn、Kickstarter 及阿里巴巴集團等高獲利企業的故事。

我們在全新著作《商業模式轉型(Business Model Shifts)》當中,進一步介紹 6 種商業模式轉型,事不宜遲,快來一探究竟。此書涵蓋了詳細的案例研究,包括全球領先企業及品牌之成功經驗、策略模式及其它有趣故事,一定讓您收穫滿滿。

 

購買本書

Comments

Stay Posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.

From Physical to Digital: Business Model Shift no.3

  • Business Model Shifts

Following on from our last article covering the Stakeholder Shift, the third in this series of blogs looking at six business model shifts deep-dives into a phenomenon that’s pretty well understood already here and now: the Digital Shift – the force underpinning the success of renowned brands like Salesforce, The New York Times, Duolingo, and Fortnite.

The digital world. Ah yes. ‘Technology will cure everything,’ right?

Well… no. Not unless used for something ‘real.’ However, ‘real’ doesn’t necessarily mean ‘physical’ – at least not where business models are concerned. Digital technologies offer many advantages in terms of efficiencies, scale, security, and more.

But what if they could be used as tools to drive real value creation and change?

 

Why is this shift happening?

Physical goods – no issue in understanding what those are. It’s the same where business models are concerned. The physical business model’s foundation provides customers with a tangible – let’s just say it for clarity’s sake – physical product.

Per-unit pricing is typical, and products are generally distributed through direct or indirect (retail) channels – requiring set processes and supply chains to move products between locations. Simple, right?

It’s a model that has served many businesses well for a long time. And being physical doesn’t mean it doesn’t incorporate any form of IT. The company producing the physical product may have a robust internal system. One that’s essentially static, however.

Businesses worldwide started waking up to the massive potential of digital technologies and their ability to design customer experiences and track customer behavior and engagement.

Companies wanted to truly understand what drives engagement, enhancing customer interactions with proper digital tools to create more value. And thankfully, thanks to intelligent algorithms and great digital toolboxes that grew increasingly advanced, many jumped on the wagon – with spectacular results.

 

Digital shift story: Fortnite

Fortnite, the game that seemingly hooks every kid in the world, saw great opportunities to provide fun, rich digital interactions while also cleverly monetizing the experience.

While the initial and original game mode cost of $50 was relatively high, most of Fortnite’s revenue comes from its digital in-game currency, “V-bucks.” With it, players can customize their avatar to become the coolest player on the digital block, buying stylish new skins, dances, and more.

Do new players buy one new skin for their character and grow tired of the game within a couple of weeks? Not a chance. Thanks to continuously updated content, new seasons, and features, the game’s weekly reinventions keep people coming back for more, over and over again.

Just two years into the game’s release, Epic Games got over 250 million people playing in this fast-paced world. And we write this article, a hundred more million people have joined. Players can’t seem to get enough.

 

A new mindset

Fortnite is just one of many companies and industries that have embraced the Digital Shift. Other companies (which we cover in-depth in our new book) are:

  • Salesforce, leveraging the power of digital technology to humanize the way we do business.
  • Duolingo, digitally enabling and gamifying language learning to reach new consumer markets.
  • The New York Times, adapting to the new digital era with valuable and innovative digital content.

From video games to music, entertainment to storage space, all of these things, which were once exclusively physical, are now largely accessed digitally. And it seems that’s not going to change anytime soon.

The digital model is optimized for frequent interaction while enabling mass personalization and enhanced proposition – to provide a seamless, personalized experience across all channels. An experience that keeps customers coming back for more.

Stay tuned for the next article in our business shift discovery series. Next, we’ll cover the prolific business profiting organizations like LinkedIn, Kickstarter, and Alibaba Group.

Pssst. Discover the 6 shifts in detail in our new book “Business Model Shifts.” With detailed case studies of world-leading companies and brands, strategic patterns, and a lot of other goodies, we’re sure you’ll love it.

 

Order the book

Comments

Stay posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.