「未來情境設計」懶人包:如何探索未知、推測未來、規劃策略的方法

  • 未來情境設計

未來情境設計(Scenario planning)能迫使你在充滿不確定性的狀況下,仍能積極的正視未來、尋找可能性。具備未來情境設計能力的人,在詭譎多變的環境中,能比別人進行更快速有效的調整。

大師級的棋手總能清晰地想像下幾步棋能怎麼走,即便無法預測對手的下一步棋,他們也能預先想像未來可能的走勢並制定相應的策略。未來情境設計也是一樣的道理,當現況改變時,它能讓你保持靈活的思維,做出快速而精準的調整。

想要達到上述的境界,關鍵在能夠正視未來。若你總是處與被動,或是對未知時常感到驚慌失措的人,通常無法制定最佳決策。

 

掌握改變所帶來的潛在影響

不管是什麼樣的改變,都可能對組織產生重大的影響,密切關注這些改變會如何發展是非常重要的事。唯有掌握改變所帶來的潛在影響,才能避免自己受制於其中。

未來情境設計能幫助你想像未來的可能樣貌,以及潛在結果。未來情境設計的關鍵是「探索」而非「預測」。

“ 管理者能謹慎思考常被視為一種優勢,現在卻變成了劣勢。”

儘管未來情境設計很實用且必須,特別在發生危機的時候,卻未被廣泛採用,最常見的藉口就是:沒時間想、缺乏資訊。由於可用的未來資訊比較難搜集,而過去的資訊掌握度相對較高(可以從每日、每週、每月及年度報告中取得),所以許多企業試圖用過去的資訊來推測、設計可能的未來情境,但他們卻忽略了未來幾乎不曾順著過去的軌道以線性的方式延伸發展。

對未知的恐懼也是原因之一。設計未來情境必須具備創造力,並且願意思考未知。

” 不確定性來自於你不知道自己不知道什麼。” – Patrick van der Pijl

 

謹慎思考

大多數公司已經習慣以謹慎思考為基本原則,針對這點,Patrick認為,常態來說這是一項優勢,但在危機時期卻變成劣勢。組織總是忙著執行既有商業模式,但如果想要創新或促進變革,需要全然不同的行為模式。『執行』處於相對安全穩定的狀態,而『創新』則充滿不確定性,兩者有著本質上的差異。

荷蘭皇家殼牌石油公司(Shell)是最早進行未來情境規劃的公司之一,在1967年,當時的探勘暨生產事業部經濟和規畫主管Jimmy Davidson用一份對2000年的推測報告,開始了他們對未來的計劃,可說是當時的創舉。

在這個計畫中,員工根據模擬的情境劇本,嘗試為「假設性的問題」找出有根據的答案,從而鼓勵領導團隊打破思考框架,並做出更明智的決定。就如他們自己說的:「未來情境幫助我們拓展思路,幫助我們在多變不確定的時刻,做關鍵的選擇。

 

試著把眼光放遠一些、大膽想像

越常抬頭看看外面的世界,越能拓展自己的見聞。Patrick提到:不要只專注在明天,試著把眼光放遠一些,試著大膽想像:今日世界的情勢,可能驅動出哪些未來的不同可能。

比如新冠病毒(COVID-19)的出現,帶來了不確定性,新冠病毒的發生是一種驅動因子,促使我們去推測與模擬不同未來的可能。對我們來說,它的出現加速了數位化的發展,讓我們在極短的時間內打造數位服務,將原本在辦公室進行的工作坊,能以線上或遠距的方式進行。若非有這個情境發生,要促成改變可能還要好幾年的時間。

我們的未來情境設計圖(Scenario Model Canvas)提供一個簡單明瞭的方法來檢視改變和創新。正如Patrick提及:「我們不該專注在單一的未來,而是需要退一步,分析公司有有哪些可能未來、如何讓組織的優勢能持續發揮作用。

舉例來說,BMI• 之前與美國傢俱公司Herman Miller合作時,就曾一起研究「未來工作型態」的可能場景,推測未來的目標顧客樣貌及需求。「譬如人們的工作情境會因為經常在家工作,所以家裡需要不同的(甚至是更少的)家具,對工作場所的需求也不一樣了。

 

未來情境設計圖(Scenario Model Canvas)

未來情境設計圖用兩種不同的情境將未來切成四個象限。想像一下,當新冠病毒來襲時,你正從事會展產業(events industry)的工作,先將最重要的不確定變量盤點出來。Patrick建議:「要仔細想想什麼才是真正的變量。譬如營業額常被當作是不確定變量,但這通常是因為顧客比較少消費,因此營業額減少的原因之一是顧客行為改變,所以真正的不確定性來自顧客行為,而非營業額。

因新冠病毒疫情的發生,可思考的未來情境包括:

  1. 人們寧願待在家裡、窩在電腦前。
  2. 人們將回歸參與實體活動。
  3. 各國仍持續封城、鎖國。
  4. 各國紛紛從封城中解禁。

Patrick提到:「如果將兩個情境放到軸線上,就會得到四個讓你可以編織的世界。試著描述每個世界的樣貌:譬如,在不同的世界裡,哪些公司消失了、哪些剛好開始趁勢發展?不同的世界裡,會出現哪些不同的顧客需求?接著再把自己的生意放到這四個不同的世界,我們還能保持現狀嗎?還是做改變?

 

PEST分析法

要判斷該探索哪種情境,可以運用PEST分析法。它是一個能夠用來詳述外部環境因素的分析工具,幫助你發現你還不知道的事,並協助你深入思考,有哪些趨勢訊號將對你公司和經營環境造成影響,這些趨勢訊號包含:政治條件(政治穩定度、法規法令和政府補助金,及稅務制策)、經濟條件(經濟成長、購買力發展、通貨膨脹、幣值穩定性、利益發展)、社會條件(人口結構的教育水準和福利、健康層面、文化層面和日益重要的社群媒體)、科技條件(人工智慧、網路、社群媒體)因素。(註:近期將推出相關的線上課程「提升你的商業模式設計力 – 經營環境分析」,歡迎有興趣的夥伴報名參加。)

運用這個分析法盤點過一輪後,能夠輕易地發現許多趨勢訊號。接著,你用「不確定性」和「影響力」這兩個標準為這些趨勢訊號排序,影響力最大和不確定性最高的兩項則值得深入探索。

 

設計團隊

創建團隊來負責「未來情境設計專案」是確保成功的關鍵步驟。未來情境設計應該由一群人共同完成,他們最好來自組織中的不同階層,另外,管理階層的支持至關重要,要確保至少有一位高階經理人或董事會成員參與其中。再來就是尋找具有開放心態、能在團隊合作中表現出色的成員。

Patrick認為BMW就是另一個好例子,他們精心挑選適合的團隊加入Radhub創新計畫中,為自家品牌發展可能的未來情境。「他們的發展重點不在『概念車』,而是去思考『移動』的未來,譬如未來的安全趨勢已經變成摩托車不再翻車,所以也不再需要安全帽。我想這就是與團隊合作發想未來的一個極成功的例子。

人們時常躊躇猶豫不決,掙扎如何透過「未來情境設計」的過程,最後能找到有趣的答案。Patrick強調,「當我們運用策略工具一起探索未來時,彼此能看到更多、了解更多、因為看法不同而有更多建設性討論,當我們發現更多新事物,就能為面對未來時做更完善的準備。

透過未來情境設計,我們可以防患於未然,而不是事到臨頭才去應對,而事實證明這也是比較好的策略。

 

下載未來情境設計圖

 

本文由 Ewald Smits 採訪撰寫,並在日前刊登於mt.nl

Comments

Stay Posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.

Scenario planning for dummies: How you can learn to think about the unknown

  • Scenario planning

Scenario planning forces you to look into the future and helps you deal with uncertainty. Those who take it seriously can make quick and effective adjustments. A mini course. 

Every good chess player thinks a number of steps ahead in scenarios. They cannot predict what their opponent will do, but they can imagine what options lie ahead and develop a strategy. Scenario planning works exactly like this. It offers you flexibility of thinking to allow for a quick and accurate intervention when the status quo changes.

To make it work, the rule is to look into the future. Those who allow themselves to be taken by surprise usually are not able to make the best decisions.

 

Great Impact

Any change can have a major impact on your organization, which is why it’s important to follow developments closely. Only through understanding potential impacts can you avoid being robbed.

Scenario planning helps you identify plausible scenarios and then see what potential consequences these scenarios might have. It is not a prediction, but an exploration of what may take place in the future.

“Managers think in safety, which is often a strength but is now a weakness”

While scenario planning is useful, and often much needed – especially in times of crisis – it is not widely used. Lack of time is a commonly argued excuse. Another is lack of information. While there is enough information about the past (compiled in daily, weekly, monthly and annual reporting) information about the future is not always available. That’s why many companies attempt scenario planning by extrapolating past information, forgetting that the future is rarely a linear extrapolation of the past. 

Fear of the unknown is also a cause. Scenario planning requires creativity and a willingness to think about the unknown.

“You don’t know what you don’t know,” said Patrick van der Pijl, “And that creates uncertainty.”

 

Thinking in safety

According to Patrick, most companies are used to thinking in safety. “That is normally a strength, but a weakness in times of crisis. In an existing organization you are busy implementing your business model, but if you want to change or innovate, that requires completely different behavior. Innovation is fundamentally different. Execution is on the security side, innovation is on the uncertain side. “

Shell was one of the first companies to start scenario planning. In 1967, Jimmy Davidson – their Head of Economics and Planning at the time – started a futures operation within the company by publishing a report speculating on the year 2000. It was the first of many.

In the scenarios themselves, employees tried to provide well-founded answers to ‘what if’ questions. This process encouraged the leadership team to broaden their thinking; in turn making more informed decisions. As Shell notes, “Scenarios stretch our thinking and help us make crucial choices in times of uncertainty and change.”

 

You can see more outside

“If you look outside more often, you see more,” Patrick explains. “Try not to focus on tomorrow, but on the day after tomorrow. Try to map out possible futures and use situations as drivers.”

“An example of what I mean is to look at COVID-19 as a new trend that arises, therefore there is uncertainty. COVID-19 is a driver for scenario planning, but it is not a scenario. For us, COVID-19 is an accelerator for a digital environment. We moved from having daily workshops in the office to now having built an accelerated digital environment where we can do our workshops completely digitally and remotely. This would have taken years without the current context.”

With our Scenario Model Canvas, we offer a short and simple method for looking at change and innovation. As Patrick elaborates, “We don’t want to be focusing on just one future vision. We need to take a step back and look at what would be possible for a company in a variety of scenarios; which business model is part of that, and how you can achieve continued organisational strength.” 

Putting this into action, BMI• has worked with American furniture company Herman Miller. Together, they have explored scenarios around the futures of work to develop stories that extrapolate emerging customer segment sales targets. “The scenario was that we are more often working at home. Leading us to need different, or less, furniture at home, and that the needs of an office have also changed.”

 

Scenario Model Canvas

The Scenario Model Canvas has four quadrants, which draw from two scenarios. For example, imagine you are in the events industry as COVID-19 emerges. Start by making an inventory of the most important uncertain variables. “Think through it carefully,” advises Patrick, “I often hear that turnover is an uncertainty, but this is often behind customer behaviour. Apparently they spend less. So, customer behaviour is an uncertainty, not turnover.”

Potential scenarios could be: 

  1. From now on we prefer to stay at home behind the laptop.
  2. We are going to live events again.
  3. The lockdown remains “high”, the country remains locked.
  4. The lockdown is quickly weakened.

“If you put those two scenarios on axes, you get four worlds that you can describe and fill in,” says Patrick. “For each variant, describe which companies have disappeared and which have grown. Explore customer needs, colouring them in completely. Then ask yourself what does our business model look like in that world? Can we remain or will we have to adjust?

 

PEST analysis

To determine which scenarios to explore, a PEST analysis is a tool to detail external factors and ‘see what you don’t see’. It asks you to consider the Political (political stability, laws and regulations and government subsidy and tax policy), Economic (economic growth, purchasing power development, inflation, currency stability, interest development), Social (demographic aspects, education level, welfare – and health aspects, cultural aspects, the increasing importance of social media) and Technological (artificial intelligence, internet, social media) influences impacting your company and context. 

Once you have made an inventory using this analysis, you can pinpoint a number of trends quite easily. Next, rank these trends according to two criteria: uncertainty and impact. The two trends with the highest impact and highest uncertainty deserve a scenario. 

 

Planning team

Assembling the right team is an essential step to set you up for success. Scenario planning should be done with a range of people, preferably from multiple layers of your organisation. Additionally, support from management is crucial so make sure at least one higher manager or board member is present. Look for people with an open mind who can work well in a team. 

According to Patrick, BMW is another company that does just that; having a carefully selected team in their Radhub program develop scenarios for the future of the brand. “Not concept cars, but future mobiles. The safety trend has been translated into a motorcycle that cannot tip over and for which you no longer need a helmet. I think that is a striking example of how you can work with your teams to think about the future. “

As Patrick concludes, what people struggle with is what ultimately delivers the most interesting answers. “Ask them, ‘yes and?’ Because when we use tools to look to the future, we see more; we can talk better about it; we see things we didn’t see before; and we are all better prepared.”

“Through scenario planning we can anticipate rather than just react. And that has always proven to be a better strategy.”

 

Download Scenario planning canvas

 

This article was written by Ewald Smits and previously appeared on mt.nl.

Comments

Stay posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.