如何設計指數型商業模式?

  • Business Model Innovation
  • Design Thinking
  • Exponential Business Model
  • 商業模式創新
  • 矽谷創新體驗
  • 設計你的策略
  • 設計思考

領導者們經常鼓勵其團隊大膽思考、銳意革新,要貫徹這一點,得輔以一些新式手段。我們相信,設計指數型(10x)商業模式是值得每個領袖和企業家學習的一堂課。

所以,指數型商業模式到底是什麼?又該如何 設計 呢?

指數型商業模式之定義

商業模式定義了一家公司創造和傳遞價值的方式,有系統地對價值鏈上的關鍵資源、關鍵夥伴和關鍵活動做出有效的假設,並探討它們和價值主張、客戶關係、通路、目標客層、收入與成本間的關係。指數型商業模式與傳統商業模式都聚焦一樣的關鍵領域,然而前者的目標與後者截然不同。

大多數商業模式是線性的,通常以提高效益或降低成本 10% 為目標。但我們認為指數型商業模式的目標,是取得 10 倍於現況的改善,這個目標常簡寫為「10X」。

Business Model Canvas
理解商業模式背後的機制,是所有創新領袖必須學習最重要的新技能之一。商業模式圖(Business Model Canvas)運用九大基石的方式,說明了商業模式的核心要素。

現在比過去任何時候都更需要指數型商業模式

把商業模式從 10% 推升到 10 倍,不僅關乎規模,更須以全新方式看待整個事業與所服務的市場。

設計指數型商業模式要有指數等級的想像力。如果點子只從組織內部產出,則很難重新思考現有業務。旁觀者清,局外人往往對「該有的運作方式」有最好的想法。

欲建立指數型商業模式,可以試著研究其他已成功獲利的商業模式,建立共同語言、做出策略性選擇以及用逆推法模擬其成功法則。我們並非要模仿他們的做法,只是要從中學習。

此外,既有商業模式若想實現 10X 目標,至少得在一個關鍵要素(如價值主張,通路或關鍵資源)上,善用科技來創造價值。

Amazon、Facebook、Airbnb、Snap 和 Slack 正是少數幾家成功實現指數型增長的公司。例如,Airbnb 搭建了一個聯繫借宿旅客與空房屋主的軟體平臺,把現有的技術與有別於旅館業的價值主張結合起來,藉此釋放了一個巨大且尚未充分利用的資源,不持有一屋一舍便創造了 10X 的目標價值。

轉型為指數型商業模式的九大設計原則

以下九大設計原則是轉型的方針,每一項原則都連結到商業模式圖中的某一個構成要素。

Exponential Business Model explained

1. 目標客層:解決大多數人的共同問題

科技的發展使得許多組織能夠用大規模和爆紅的方式開拓全新的市場。隨著世界人口接近 75 億,具有指數型商業模式的公司或組織能夠協助彌補不斷增長的人口與所需資源間的落差。許多公司從向客戶提供一種核心產品做起,接著再進軍其他服務領域以滿足其他需求。例如 Uber,起先只提供個人交通服務,其後 UberEATS 或 UberHEALTH 都是透過核心服務而延伸出來的。

2. 價值主張:基於訊息的服務和平臺

企業將產品和服務數位化,不僅是在傳統業務上推陳出新,也開創了全新的市場。Airbnb 搭建的平臺為短租住宿塑造了新的想像,Slack 則使得協同合作和知識共享數位化,23andMe 基因公司為人們提供價格親民的 DNA 定序分析。任何一家公司,無論處於何種產業,皆應探索如何將現有價值主張數位化,不僅為既有客戶提供更好的服務,更可能進而開發全新價值交換的市場機會。

3. 客戶關係:打造粉絲社群

在朝 10X 目標努力時,你得把客戶轉化為粉絲群,並與這些粉絲協作共創。這需要開放某些基礎功能,讓用戶進行個性化客製,例如 Instagram 內置的多種濾鏡;Snap 的增強鏡頭和 Musical.ly 的跨界混搭功能。這些功能使用戶能自創獨特內容,並通過各種接觸點分享其作品,成為病毒式傳播與行銷通路。

4. 通路:複合式、社交化

許多指數型企業正借助社交協作來連接實體世界與多種數位平台,以強化其核心產品的價值。試想,用戶生產的內容藉由網絡的外部性而放大──貢獻內容的人越多,平臺服務的價值便越大。快速成長的公司應用此策略來驅動顧客獲取、顧客參與互動、並提高顧客終生價值。一款名為 Waze 的交通應用搭載了 GPS 數據,結合用戶端輸入的即時交通訊息,透過「遊戲化」提升了參與過程的趣味和吸引力。後來 Google 以 13 億美元收購當時僅 100 名員工的 Waze,如今,它已成為通勤者們出行的首選服務。

5. 關鍵活動:可規模化的自動化流程

科技的發展有助於分析例行工作並將其自動化,徹底顛覆傳統的製作或交付方法。Amazon 長期以來一直使用機器人來完成其倉庫中的備貨和取貨流程,且正致力於開發無人機投遞業務。Amazon 也發現他們的一項重大策略行動——雲端和資料儲存——對他人而言可能是一筆寶貴的資源。亞馬遜網絡服務(Amazon Web Services,簡稱 AWS)於 2006 年推出,提供租用運算基礎設施的服務。十年來,AWS 對亞馬遜成長的貢獻度高達 56%,並雄心勃勃地打算在不到五年的時間裡,將市值提高到千億美元。

6. 關鍵活動:精實方法

為什麼 GE(美國通用電氣公司)變得更指數化了?原因在於他們將生意中的所有核心能力均採用精實方法(lean approach)來開發他們的產品,加強了實驗和學習環節的快速循環。通過將所有單位精實化的過程,讓組織成員勇於冒險的同時也獲得了可供研究和學習的商業資料。

7. 關鍵活動、關鍵資源、關鍵夥伴:徹底貫徹演算法

Google 是以演算法起家(對網站進行排名)的最佳典範,而且還運用機器學習持續強化其運算能力。快速成長的按需零售(on-demand retail)公司 StichFix ,擁有一個超過 65 人的數據科學家的團隊,所有業務幾乎均由演算法為驅動。它甚至還有一個有關數據科學而備受推崇的公眾部落格(別忘了,這可是一家零售公司!)。

8. 關鍵資源:網絡型文化

員工們必須用網絡化的方式進行社交並即時分享經驗和見解。在支持和開放的文化中讓員工自主完成職責,可分散並加速決策流程,並為 10X 商業模式創造更多的可能性。Zappos 是建立「自主管理(holacracy)」文化的早期先行者之一,此舉取消了專業管理職位,將員工們從官僚層級中解放出來。類似微軟這樣的公司一直看好社交軟體能夠促成自主協作,已將網絡和社交功能嵌入所有新的 Office 套件中。

9. 合作夥伴:建立非比尋常的關係

許多指數型商業模式是基於「非比尋常的合作夥伴」——來自不同行業、不同類型的公司協同合作,創造共同受益的整合價值。無人機公司 Matternet 和賓士汽車近期聯手開發出一個整合解決方案,旨在徹底改變人們接收小包裹的方式。

最後也是最有效的一項設計原則:思考公司是否有必要自行擁有全部的資源?這問題適用於任何資本密集型(需投入大量資本)的「資產」,包括設備,人才或創新點子。大家總以為事事都要在內部自建團隊,靠自行檢視與擴展內部的構想,而非花時間搜尋合作夥伴或尋找外部資源。今年,你們公司能建立哪些非比尋常的關係呢?

如何邁出第一步

創新商業模式的領袖們需要能擁抱不確定性,帶著好奇心和耐心去工作,花時間學習周圍的所見所聞。先從雕琢一個明確的、大規模變革的目標開始,因為心志若不夠堅定,十之八九會空手而歸。

接下來,與你的團隊一起透過商業模式圖進行發想練習,依次探索九大原則。 從查看收入來源以及你的價值所在開始。研究平臺商業模式,並考慮如何從平臺借力以改變所處行業的現狀。

技術和人才是商業模式變革的最佳驅動力。技術可以作為一種解放力量,將原來稀有的資源變得唾手可得。人才的作用也是如此。若一個領導者能激發出自己的才能,解決改革目標中最棘手的部分,便能釋放發出 10X 潛力。

現在就開始行動!

橫幅圖像來源:Shutterstock

Comments

Stay Posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.

How to design exponential (10x) business models?

  • Business Model Innovation
  • Design Thinking
  • Design your Strategy
  • Silicon Valley Inspiration

Leaders often encourage their teams to think big and be more disruptive—but to follow through, people need new tools. We believe that learning how to design exponential business models is a discipline all leaders and entrepreneurs can learn.

So, how do you design exponential business models?

What Is an Exponential Business Model?

A business model defines how value gets created and delivered in a company. It is an organized way of laying out assumptions about key resources, partners and activities of your value chain. These include your value proposition, customer relationships, channels, customer segments, cost structures and revenue streams. An exponential business model looks at the same key areas as a traditional business model—but it has radically different goals.

Most business models are linear, designed to increase profits or decrease costs by 10 percent. With an exponential business model, we think in terms of changes that are 10 times greater or lesser than today’s value—the common shorthand for this goal is simply “10X.”

Understanding the mechanics behind business models is one of the most important new skills that all innovative leaders must develop. The Business Model Canvas outlines the core elements of a business model in nine essential building blocks.

Exponential Business Models Are Needed Now More Than Ever

Taking your business model from 10 percent to 10X isn’t simply about scaling. Often it requires a completely new way of looking at your business and the market it serves.

Exponential business models require exponential imagination. But it can be difficult to re-imagine your existing business if you only surface ideas from within the organization.

Some of the best ideas come from outsiders who offer fresh perspectives on how things are “supposed” to work. To build an exponential business model, try studying other successful and profitable business models, use a common language, make strategic choices, and identify “antilogs” — businesses we don’t want to emulate but can learn from.

Further, to 10X your business model, you must create value by leveraging technology in at least one key building block, such as the value proposition, channels, or key resources.

Amazon, Facebook, Airbnb, Snap, and Slack are just a handful of the companies that have successfully done so. Airbnb, for example, built a software platform to connect those in need of lodging to those who had it. By combining existing tech with an alternative value proposition, they liberated a huge, underused resource and created 10X value without owning a single room.

The Nine Design Principles for Exponential Transformation

There are nine design principles to guide your efforts. Each of these is tied to one of the boxes on the Business Model Canvas.

1. Customer Segments: Solve a problem for the masses

Technology is enabling organizations to reach entirely new markets in massive and viral ways. As the world’s population approaches 7.5 billion, companies and organizations with exponential business models can help close the gap between our growing population and the resources they need. Many companies start with one core offering to customers to serve one need—like Uber and personal transportation—then expand their services to meet other needs, like UberEATS or UberHEALTH.

2. Value Proposition: Information-based services and platforms

As companies digitize their products and services, they aren’t just creating new versions of their traditional offerings, they’re creating entirely new marketplaces. Airbnb’s platform re-imagines short-term accommodations; Slack digitizes collaboration and knowledge sharing; the consumer genetics firm 23andMe offers affordable DNA sequencing to anyone. Every business, regardless of industry, should be exploring how and what to digitize in their existing value proposition to not only serve existing customers better, but to potentially open up foundationally new exchanges of value.

3. Relationships: Build a community of fans

When you want to work towards a 10X solution, you need to build your customers into a fan base and then collaborate with these fans. User-empowered customization of basic functions, such as the filters on Instagram, the augmented lenses on Snap and the mashup functionality on Musical.ly allow users to create something unique and share their creations across multiple touch points, acting as a viral distribution and marketing channel.

4. Channels: Multi-modal and Social

Many exponential businesses are using social collaboration to connect physical and multiple digital outlets to enhance the value of their core offering. Think of this as user-generated content amplified through network externalities—the more people that contribute to the platform, the more valuable the service becomes. The fastest-growing companies use this strategy as a driver of customer acquisition, engagement and lifetime value. The traffic app Waze married GPS data with real-time traffic input from users, using gamification methods to make the process fun and engaging. Waze was bought by Google for $1.3 billion when they had only 100 employees, and it has since become the go-to service for commuters.

5. Key Activities: Automated and scalable processes

Technology can help analyze and automate routine activities to disrupt traditional manufacturing or delivery methods. Amazon has long used robots to stock and retrieve products from its warehouses and is getting closer to delivering its products via drones. It also realized one of its most important strategic activities—cloud and data storage—could become a valuable resource for others. Amazon Web Services (AWS)—rented access to computing infrastructure—was launched in 2006. Ten years on, it contributed 56 percent of Amazon’s growth and is on target to be a $100 billion business in less than five years.

6. Key Activities: Lean approach

Why is GE becoming more exponential? They use a lean approach for all core functions in their business, emphasizing rapid cycles of experimentation and learning. By instituting lean processes across your functions, you allow people to take risks, and you gain data about your business that you can study and learn from.

7. Key Activities, Resource and Partners: Algorithm to the core

Google is one of the best examples of a company built on an algorithm (to rank websites), that is then augmented by machine learning. StichFix, one of the fastest-growing on-demand retail companies, has a team of over 65 data scientists and uses algorithms to drive nearly every part of its business. It even has a well-respected public blog on data science (remember, this is a retail company!).

8. Key Resources: Networked culture

Employees must work in networked ways to socialize and share real-time insights and experiences. Giving employees autonomy to do what they need to in a supportive and open culture decentralizes and speeds up decision-making, opening up the possibility of a 10X business model. Zappos has been one of the early pioneers of building a “holocracy” culture, eliminating professional management positions and empowering workers without additional bureaucracy. Companies like Microsoft are betting long on social software to support spontaneous collaboration efforts, building networking and social functionality into all of their new office suites.

9. Partners: Build uncommon relationships

Many exponential business models stem from “uncommon partners”—different types of companies from different industries that work together to benefit from integrated value. Drone company Matternet and Mercedes-Benz recently joined forces to create an integrated delivery solution designed to transform how people receive lightweight goods on demand.

This last design principle may be the most powerful. Think through whether you need to own all the resources in your business. This question applies to any capital-intensive assets, including equipment, talent, or innovative new ideas. We tend to think we must build internally and focus on identifying and scaling internal ideas instead of spending time scouting out partners or finding resources externally. What uncommon relationships can you build this year?

How to Get Started

Leaders of business model innovation need to embrace uncertainty, come to the work with a sense of curiosity and patience, and take the time to unpack the learning from what they are seeing around them. Start by crafting a clear massive transformative purpose because if you are not heading for that, then in all likelihood you will not find it.

Next, put your own business model canvas together as an ideation exercise, exploring each of the principles in turn. Start to look at your revenue streams and how you actually add value. Study platform businesses and think about how you might bring platforms to help transform things in your industry.

Changing your business model is best fueled by technology and talent. Technology can be a liberating force—it allows you to take things that were once scarce and make them abundant. This is true for talent as well. If you can find ways to ignite your talent to work on the most difficult parts of your transformative purpose, you can unlock 10X potential.

It’s time to get started.

Banner Image Credit: Shutterstock

Comments

Stay posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.