忘掉原型吧!用「原型的原型」來測試你的絕妙點子!

  • 驗證與實驗

通常要讓人們對一個創新想法買帳並非易事,想讓外人對「你」自己想出的點子產生熱忱,總會有一定難度。但是,當你把事情具體化甚至實物化,便能引起人們的興趣,他們會有效地回饋意見並完善你的想法。因此,與其和別人誇誇其談,不如讓他們體驗到你的想法。造出來之前,先從傆型(pretotype)來揣摩一下!

傆型讓你的想法更具體

傆型(pretotyping)正因此而生!它能以最簡易的方式來呈現新的產品和服務,使你的想法更具體化。這樣,你就不必花費時間考慮產品的基本功能,而能專注於產品最重要的部分。傆型在矽谷流行已久,如今在全球範圍內開枝散葉。Alberto Savoia(Google 榮退創新推動者)是最早採用此概念者之一。傆型與原型(prototype)或 MVP(最小可行性產品 minimal viable product 簡稱)不同,後兩者需要早期試用者測試產品功能,傆型則不用。所以,暫時忘卻原型和 MVP,造出來之前,先假裝模擬一下!

數位化紙上 APP

身為一名策略設計師,製作數位化紙上 app 是我工作上特別喜歡的一種傆型形式。有了它,你可以將自己的創新理念轉化成一個應用程式(app)。假設你必須設計四個步驟將自己的理念具體化,那會是什麼樣的呢?在為用戶帶來最棒的顧客體驗之前,要在這種簡化的條件下有產出,是一個極大的挑戰。

最好的方式就是將概念轉變成具體的價值主張。價值主張圖的框架能幫助你設想顧客欲完成的任務、痛點或獲益、以及你所提供的附加價值。這樣,你能以顧客任務為基礎,考慮為客戶提供哪些服務,研究 app 的主要功能與特色和用戶體驗。通過繪畫、列印下來的 app 按鍵或自己直接使用電腦繪出 app 的 6 到 8 張螢幕截圖。團隊合作完成這項任務時能集思廣益,使得這個過程變得更有趣、更有價值!

收集有效回饋

將理念實物化是件非常奇妙的事。傆型會使人聚焦未來,期待新的機會。它最有價值的部分就是獲得他人的有效回饋。大家討論的焦點已不再只是理念和想法:而是真真切切的實物!另一種使用方式是與客戶合作,對你的價值主張進行初步測試,這樣在花費時間與資源建構原型或 MVP 之前,你就已經獲得第一手的客戶回饋。收集真正的客戶回饋以測試你的點子,是世間所有生意永遠不變的生存之道。

想要自己創建一個紙上 app 嗎?那就按這 5 個簡單步驟做吧!

  1. 設定客戶要完成的任務及好處,考慮應用程式上的主要功能、特色與顧客應該採取的承諾。
  2. 設定給顧客體驗的4大關鍵步驟。
  3. 在紙上畫出 6 至 8 個螢幕截圖,展示客戶體驗。
  4. 手機下載免費的 “POP app”,拍下紙張(先前畫好的螢幕截圖),使之轉為互動界面。
  5. 大膽分享你手機上這款已可點擊的 app,展現你的熱忱!

傆型能帶領你的點子進入下一階段,所以,把想法實物化,讓別人感受到你如火的熱情,盡情享受吧!

Comments

Stay Posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.

Pretotype and forget about prototyping and MVP’s

  • Validate & Experiment

I often experienced how hard it is to get buy-in and real commitment for innovative ideas. It can be very hard to make people feel passionate about an idea YOU came up with. But if you make something very concrete and even tangible, people become very enthusiastic, give constructive feedback and build forward on your ideas. So, let them experience your idea, instead of just talking about it.  Let’s start with a ‘pretotype’: Fake it, before you make it!

Pretotyping makes your idea tangible

And this is where the pretotyping comes in. Pretotyping makes your idea tangible. It shows what your new product or service could look like, but in a minimalistic way. That way you don’t have to spend any time on nitty-gritty functionalities but really focus on the most important aspects. It is a well-known term in Silicon Valley and now making its way to the rest of the world. Alberto Savoia (Google) was one of the first people to use this term. A pretotype is different from a prototype or MVP (minimal viable product) as those types of testing include working features to be able to test the functionalities with early adopters or in a pilot form. So, forget about prototyping and MVP’s for now; fake it before you make it.

The digitalised paper app

One form of pretotyping which I especially like and use in my work as a Strategy Designer is the digitalized paper app. With a digitalized paper app you transform your innovative idea into an app. What does your idea look like when you must be very concrete and can only design 4 steps? It’s a real challenge to create something so minimal, yet with a great customer experience!

The best way to do this is to concretize your idea into a value proposition. This canvas helps you to think about the jobs-to-be-done of your customer, the pains / gains and the added value you are offering. With the job-to-be-done in mind, you think about what the app should do for your customer, what the key features are and the customer experience in the app. Then you create 6 to 8 screenshots for your app. Just by drawing, using printed buttons from other apps or creating it digitally and then printing it. When you do this with your team or a group of people, it becomes even more interesting and valuable, as you can build on each other’s ideas!

Collect constructive feedback

It is amazing what happens when you make thoughts, ideas and dreams tangible. A pretotype allows people to look into the future and get excited about all the new opportunities! One of the most valuable things of pretotyping is the constructive feedback of others. The discussions are no longer about opinions and thoughts: it’s about something that is actually there! Another way to use pretotyping is to do initial testing of your value proposition with your customers, so you already have first customer feedback before even having to spend time and resources on prototyping or an MVP. Collecting true customer feedback to test your idea, no business case can beat that!

Want to create a paper app yourself? Follow these 5 simple steps!

  1. Determine the customer’s job-to-be-done and benefits and think about the key features and customer promise of the app
  2. Decide on the 4 essential steps in the customer experience of the app
  3. Draw 6 to 8 screenshots on paper to illustrate this experience
  4. Download the ‘POP app’ on your smartphone (it’s free), capture the paper screenshots and make them interactive
  5. Go and share your enthusiasm with this clickable app on your smartphone

Pretotyping will help you to bring your idea to the next level. Share your passion and enthusiasm with others by making it tangible. Enjoy!

Comments

Stay posted.

Keep up to date on what our clients have to tell, new tools, training and cool content.