設計思考加持,ING銀行的一頁藍圖

把簡單的事搞得複雜,其實不難,但如果要將複雜的事簡單化,這就得下一番功夫了。

挑戰

如何為一間數位新銀行設計一個所有人都能懂,並能參與其中的願景?

解決方案

透過大膽行動願景圖(5 bold steps vision canvas)共創策略願景,並由核心策略團隊為新願景設計關鍵訊息、願景主題及大膽行動。

把簡單的事搞得複雜,其實不難,但如果要將複雜的事簡單化,這就得下一番功夫了。在向公司員工和客戶清晰地傳達經營策略時,簡潔明瞭顯得尤為重要。ING 成功運用設計思考,把一份 250 頁的計畫書簡約成了一張 A4 紙的內容,讓我們來看看箇中緣由。

思考方向:由外到內 VS 由內到外

2013 年,銀行業即將擺脫金融危機之際,ING 任命 Ralph Hamers 擔任其新任 CEO。此時,消費者和企業們對金融機構的信任已所剩無幾,並且對金融服務的需求發生了很大轉變。與此同時,外面的世界也變了樣,像行動銀行和金融科技公司這樣的新興事物異軍突起。Dorothy Hill 以企業策略總監(Director of Corporate Strategy)的身份加入Hamers的團隊,兩人一致認為必須由外向內思考問題,制定公司策略時要以客戶為中心。

Dorothy Hill,ING 企業策略總監

她解釋道:「在九個月的期限內,Ralph 拜訪了許多 ING 服務觸及的國家。他所對話的利害關係人不僅包括零售客戶、企業客戶、銀行聯盟和法規部門,還有社會經濟委員會(SER)和投資人等。此外,我們還深入研究行業的相關趨勢,領域包括:客戶行為、技術應用、規章制度、競爭情況和社會發展。顯然,人們對於金融體系的信任已墜落谷底,我們深切思考要怎樣做才能挽回信任?」

250 頁的策略計劃

ING 收集了此次研究中的所有資料,寫成了一份長達 250 頁的報告。在這份策略報告中,他們詳細闡明了ING 集團的優勢與劣勢、在不同市場的定位以及未來發展的大方向。Hill 說:「雖然這份策略計畫書極其詳盡,給我們提供了如何處理各級事務的指導方針,但不能指望所有員工和其他利益人都會把它全部讀完。然於此同時,員工對公司而言又至關重要,因為我們的確想重塑公司的企業文化。對於我們想要做出的許多改變,重塑乃勢在必行。」

ING 在全球大約有 5.2 萬名員工。我們捫心自問:要怎樣做,才能使得所有員工欣然接受並同等理解這些新的策略呢?

如何激勵員工

這個問題的答案是:用令人信服的故事。Hill 說:「沒人會因為『為股東創造價值』這樣的抽象標語而被激勵。人們在工作中需要一個目標來追求工作的意義,這能完美結合『把顧客擺在首位』的理念。真正的問題是,我們如何將此訴諸文字以之激勵員工,並使其運用於日常工作中呢?『客戶第一』說來簡單,但實際的意義又是什麼呢?這對我們員工的日常工作、決策行為以及與客戶溝通的方式,將會產生何種影響?」Hill 接著講到:「藉由『 ING 期望幫助客戶實現夢想與願望』的聲明,CEO Ralph Hamers 將這抽象目標具體化多了,這能激勵每位員工的使命。無論你是個人也好、企業也罷,所下的每個決定幾乎都出於財務考量,但你毋須為了顧慮財務風險時時瞻前顧後,只要有人不斷提醒你心中的目標和渴望:這決定真的有益於實現你的夢想嗎?這就是我們身為一家銀行,成為你支柱之所在。」

策略與願景的一日工作坊

250 頁的策略方案詳述了公司宗旨如何影響其產品、服務、工作流程和決策,但我們得回到核心部分,把它切分為易於理解的片段。Hill 組建了來自不同部門的十人小組,包括:人資部、投資者關係部、對內/對外傳訊部等。他們把自己關在房裡一整天,在 Business Models Inc. 的策略設計師指導下,經營環境分析圖、封面故事願景和大膽行動願景圖作為輔助工具。這是非常激勵人心的一天,「在這些工具圖的便利貼上記錄下你所有想到的點子,是收集一連串想法的簡單方式,與團隊同心相得益彰,團員們暢所欲言,無所謂對錯。團簇在畫布上的便利貼讓人一目了然,是結構化腦力激蕩的理想道具,能輕易將相似的主題或話題分門別類。」

一頁策略和願景:ING大膽行動願景圖

直到那一天的尾聲,十人小組在原先寬泛的策略方案中,總結了一個清晰和振奮人心的概要。新策略的內容剛好只有一頁篇幅,顯示了ING將要幫助客戶了解其計畫的實際步驟,為客戶自己、家庭或他們的事業,創造更美好的未來。

其新的策略奠基於四大支柱:

銀行業務變得透明簡單。銀行業務並非註定要繁瑣耗時不可,少即是多。要做到:清晰的產品資訊、平實的語言、合理的價格和簡單的步驟,以達到省時又省錢。

隨時隨地。有客戶的地方就有ING服務,客戶在任何時間、任何地點都能進行銀行業務;

賦予客戶財務決策權。最好的財務決策就是知情決策(informed decisions),客戶們只想彈指之間就獲得最新的相關資訊,他們需要充分瞭解現下和未來的各種抉擇及其背後意義。

精益求精。生活和工作都在不斷向前邁進,我們將持續尋找新方法不斷進步。新的想法、新的解決方案和新的途徑讓我們的客戶享受到更簡便的服務。如此,也讓我們在同業之中永保領先地位。

執行策略還是啟動策略?

下一步,就是將策略付諸實踐了。根據 Hill 的說法,一切都要從衡量標準開始,「改變之前得先找出立足之處,我們設計了三種不同的衡量指標。首先是工作流程的關鍵績效指標(KPIs),如交貨時間、聯繫客戶的次數等。此外,我們也經常進行有關客戶的研究專案,以確定 ING 是否讓客戶感到『深獲加持』。在機構內部,我們也已進行了一段時間的『優異績效文化檢驗』,以此衡量員工參與度。綜合以上,我們有能力估量出公司的現況,好消息是目前員工的理念,都已十分客戶導向,而重要的是我們讓他們更容易去付諸實踐。」

無所不改。

「做出革命性的決定並且破釜沉舟,不要只是東改一點西改一點。時時檢查你的流程,確定它們是真正以客戶為導向,還是僅為了便宜行事。」

這些深刻的改革幫助員工們消除了障礙,使他們的行動能真正出於客戶利益的考量。Ralph Hammers 到全球各個 ING 分公司進行實地走訪,向他們展示了新的願景,甚有收效。「Ralph 是一位充滿激情且能夠鼓舞人心的演講者。當聽眾意識到我們是認真的,並且我們業已改變了規則和流程,用行動證明,他們就會自發地參與到新策略的進程中來。」

ING 視覺化的願景,「前瞻性:賦予人們在生活和事業中保持領先的能力」。

我們特別注意到那些一般不與客戶直接接觸的員工。「我們為公司總部的員工制定了一個『貼近客戶計畫』。作為計畫的一部分,他們被要求貼身觀察那些每天都與客戶互動的同事們的工作日常,進行實地學習,一般是跟著客服代表或者業務經理。」據 Hill 表示該策略已在 ING Direct 貫徹實施,而且效果很好。「很高興看到新策略的幾個要素實際上已內化為其他部門日常工作的一部分。 我們不是從零開始,而是在更廣泛的範圍內應用我們卓有成效的理念。」

通過設計思考滿足客戶需求

當前,新策略已在全公司內部貫徹實施,Hill 的策略團隊會不斷檢驗該策略所依據的假設是否一直適用,必要時團隊會做出調整。Hill 說道:「幸運的是,目前還沒有出現太重大的轉變迫使我們偏離為達到目標而制定的四大支柱原則,在微觀層面上,我們當然也會不斷地配合細節進行調整。然而整體而言,策略方向並沒有改變。」

既然 ING 採用設計思考,便在現在和未來都能真正滿足客戶的需求。Hill 說:「這是因為設計思考會迫使你不斷確認你想做的這個改變是否真的滿足客戶需求。」那個由銀行單方面假設客戶需要某項服務的時代已成過去式。「我們改變了思考和做事的方式。歸根結底,客戶才是一切,一旦滿足了客戶的需求,種種好處便隨之而來。」

設計思考已深入 ING 的靈魂

雖然 ING 的幾個部門之前也用過,但這個策略計畫才算是銀行運用設計思考的代表作,並且真正的使用裡面的原則主導整個計畫的方向。它的成功也引起其他團隊的注意,而紛紛採用設計思考。創新團隊應用設計思考制定新策略、構思新生意,ING 基於設計思考創建了自己的情景規劃方法。另外,業務經理甚至會將設計思考運用在與客戶的會議上。

Hill:「設計思考的最大優點在於它創造出來的東西正是你客戶實際需要的,但同時也遵循了外部世界的需求。你必須不斷檢驗你的假設和你的產品是否與客戶的需求相符。這就是為什麼此方法不僅應用於策略設計,而且還適用于創新和情景規劃領域的原因。」

舉例來說,我們觀察到像區塊鏈、人工智慧和機器人這樣的發展趨勢,這些技術發展會如何影響我們的事業?為了解答這個問題,我們開發了一套用於自己機構的工具,但同時也以此來協助我們的客戶。畢竟,許多發展一樣會影響到其他市場和產業,最初為自己開發的工具也能幫助到其他公司,簡直是再好不過了!

What can we do for you?

This story inspired me and I would like to know what you can do for me.

Get in touch

Design thinking helps ING bank to put a strategic plan on one single A4

It's not that difficult to make something simple, complex. But, if you want to make something complex simple, it requires a great effort.

Challenge

How to design a vision for a digital new bank everyone understands and engages with?

Solution

Co-creation of vision on strategy with the 5 bold steps vision canvas and the core strategy team to articulate the key messages, vision themes and bold steps for the new vision.

It’s not that difficult to make something simple, complex. But, if you want to make something complex simple, it requires a great effort. Simplicity is important if you want to communicate a clear business strategy to your employees and customers. ING used the method of Design Thinking to bring a 250-page strategic report into a single A4. A look behind the scenes.

 

Thinking outside-in vs inside out

In 2013 ING appointed Ralph Hamers as their new CEO just after banks were about to recover from the financial crisis. At these times consumers and companies had little to no trust in the financial sector and their demands in financial services shifted significantly. The outside world changed too, for example the rise of mobile banking and the rise of fintech companies. Dorothy Hill joined Hamers’ team as the new Director of Corporate Strategy. They both wanted to think outside-in and putting the customer central when it comes to ING’s strategy.

Dorothy Hill, Director of Corporate Strategy INGDorothy Hill, Director of Corporate Strategy ING

She explains: “Within a time frame of nine months, Ralph visited many countries in which ING is active and he spoke with a variety of stakeholders, including retail customers, corporate clients, unions, regulators, but also other kinds of stakeholders such as the SER and investors. In addition, we researched trends which are relevant to our business. Trends within the field of customer behavior, technology, rules and regulations, competition and social developments. The faith in the system had plummeted, obviously. We were wondering: what can we do to earn back their trust?”

The strategy plan consists of 250 pages. The strategy plan consists of 250 pages.

ING gathered all of the data from this research and wrote a bulky 250 page report. In this strategy report they pointed out the bank’s strengths and weaknesses in detail, their position within different markets and the general direction in which ING would like to head. Hill: “the strategic plan is highly detailed and gives us guidance as to how to manage things at different levels, but you can’t expect employees and other stakeholders to read the whole thing. At the same time, our employees are absolutely crucial to our company, because we really wanted to reshape the culture of our company. This reshaping was mandatory to many of the changes we wanted to make.

ABOUT 52.000 PEOPLE WORK FOR ING GLOBALLY. WE ASKED OURSELVES, HOW DO YOU GET ALL THOSE EMPLOYEES TO EMBRACE THE NEW STRATEGY AND HAVE THEM ALL INTERPRET IT IN THE SAME WAY?

How to inspire employees?

The answer to this question is: use a compelling story, Hill says. “Nobody feels inspired by abstract stuff such as ‘creating shareholder value’. People need a purpose in their work, they look for meaning. This aligns perfectly with ‘placing our customers first’. The real question was, how do we put this into words in a way that excites our employees and which they can use in their day to day work? It is very easy to say that we have to place our customers first, but what does this mean? What kind of impact does it have on the daily work of our employees, on the decisions they have to make and how they communicate with our customers?” Hill continues: “CEO Ralph Hamers had already made this very abstract goal much more specific by stating that ING wishes to help its customers realize their dreams and aspirations. That is a mission which could inspire employees. Almost every decision you make as a consumer or as a company, has a financial aspect. You don’t want to constantly stop and think about this financial impact, but you do want to be reminded of your goals and desires. Does this decision contribute to your dream? This is where we, as a bank, would like to give support.”

A 1-day workshop on strategy and vision

The 250-page strategy plan gives a detailed overview of how the companies’ mission impacts products, services, processes and decision-making. We had to go back to the core to cut it in digestible pieces. Hill assembled a team of ten members from different departments, including HR, investor relations and internal and external communications. They locked themselves up in a room for a day and applied the Context Canvas, Cover Story Vision Canvas and the 5 Bold Steps Vision Canvas. The team was guided along the way by strategy designers of Business Models Inc. It was a very inspiring session. “You jot down all your ideas on Post-its on these canvases, which is an easy way to get a stream of ideas going and become very productive with your team. Participants could voice any idea and there are were no wrong answers. Post-its are easily clustered on the canvases, making them ideal for structured brainstorming. Similar subjects or themes are quickly spotted and grouped.”

A strategy and vision on 1 page: The 5 Bold Steps Vision for INGA strategy and vision on 1 page: The 5 Bold Steps Vision for ING

AT THE END OF THE DAY, THE TEAM WAS LEFT WITH A CLEAR AND INSPIRING SUMMARY OF THE EXTENSIVE STRATEGY PLAN. THE NEW STRATEGY FITS ON ONE SHEET AND SHOWS THE PRACTICAL STEPS ING TAKES TO HELP ITS CLIENTS IN REALIZING THEIR PLANS FOR A BETTER FUTURE FOR THEMSELVES, THEIR FAMILY OR THEIR BUSINESS.

The new strategy is based on four pillars:

BANKING SHOULD BE CLEAR AND EASY, banking doesn’t have to be difficult and time consuming. Less is more. It’s all about clear products, plain language, fair prices and simple processes. That saves both time and money.

ANYTIME, ANYWHERE. ING works to get our services where our customers are. Banking should be possible anytime and anywhere;

EMPOWER CLIENTS TO MAKE FINANCIAL DECISIONS. The best financial decisions are informed decisions. Customers want relevant, up-to-date information at their fingertips. They need to understand their choices, and the implications, both today and for the future.

KEEP GETTING BETTER. Life and business are about moving forward. We will keep looking for new ways to make things better. With new ideas, new solutions and new approaches to make things easier for our customers. That way, we can all stay a step ahead.

Strategy implementation or activation?

The next step was to implement the strategy. It all starts by measuring, according to Hill. “Before you can change, you have to find out where you stand. We designed three different metrics to do so. First are the KPIs for our processes, like lead times, numbers of times we contact the client etc. Also, we often carry out customer research projects, to determine if we reached our goal of making customers feel ‘empowered’ by ING. We had been using the Winning Performance Culture Scan within the organization for some time already, to measure employee engagement. We were able to measure our status quo. The good thing is that our staff was already highly customer-focused, but it’s important to make it easier for them to put that into practice.

Everything had to be changed.

“TAKE REVOLUTIONARY DECISIONS AND KILL YOUR DARLINGS, DON’T MAKE MINOR CHANGES HERE AND THERE. REVIEW YOUR PROCESSES AND DETERMINE WHETHER THEY WERE TRULY CUSTOMER CENTRIC OR MERELY TO MAKE THINGS EASIER FOR THE BANK.”

These profound changes dissolved employees’ barriers and allowed them to really act out of the customer’s interest. Ralph Hammers personally visited every branch in the world to present the new vision. It worked. “Ralph is a very passionate and inspiring speaker. When the audience realizes that we’re serious and that we’ve changed rules and processes to prove it, they automatically become involved with the new strategy.”

The vision of ING visualised, “Think Forward: Empowering People to stay ahead in life and in business.”The vision of ING visualised, “Think Forward: Empowering People to stay ahead in life and in business.”

Special attention was paid to employees who generally don’t have direct contact with clients. “We developed a ‘Closer to the customer’-program for head office staff. As part of the program they were asked to shadow colleagues who communicate with customers on a daily basis like customer service agents or account managers.” This strategy had already been implemented at ING Direct and with great success, according to Hill. “It’s nice to see how several elements of the new strategy were in fact already part of daily routines in other departments. Instead of reinventing the wheel, we applied our successful ideas on a broader scale.”

Through design thinking, we will meet customer demands

Currently, the new strategy has been implemented company-wide. Hill’s Strategy team constantly checks whether or not the assumptions on which the strategy is based still apply. The team makes adjustments where necessary. “Luckily, there have been no major transformations which forced us to deviate from the four ways we established to reach our goals. We are of course constantly adjusting on the micro level to keep up with small details. In general, however, the strategy has remained the same”, says Hill.

Now that the organization applies design thinking, ING will be able to actually meet the customer’s demands now and in the future. “This is because design thinking forces you to constantly check if a change you are considering really fulfills the customer’s needs”, says Hill. The time is over, that banks simply assumed customers needed a certain service is over. “We have changed our way of thinking and working. In the end, the customer is all that matters. If you satisfy your customers’ needs, good results in other areas will follow.”

Design thinking becomes the default at ING

Although several departments of ING already used design thinking before, the strategy project was the bank’s first major project in which these principles took a leading role. Its success did not go unnoticed, resulting in other teams to apply design thinking as well. The innovation team applied design thinking to develop a new strategy, new business ideas and the organization has created its own approach to scenario planning based on design thinking. Moreover, account managers use design thinking during their sessions with clients.

HILL: “THE GREAT THING ABOUT DESIGN THINKING IS CREATING SOMETHING YOUR CUSTOMER ACTUALLY WANTS, WHILE AT THE SAME TIME ADHERING TO THE DEMANDS OF THE OUTSIDE WORLD. YOU HAVE TO CONSTANTLY CHECK YOUR ASSUMPTIONS AND WHETHER OR NOT YOUR PRODUCT MATCHES THE CUSTOMER’S NEEDS. THAT’S WHY THE METHOD IS NOT ONLY SUITABLE FOR STRATEGY DESIGN, BUT ALSO FOR INNOVATION AND SCENARIO PLANNING.

For instance, we observe trends like blockchain, artificial intelligence and robotics. How do these technological developments influence our business? To answer this question, we have developed a tool kit which we use for our own organization, but also to help our clients. After all, many of those developments influence other markets and industries as well. It feels amazing to help other companies with a tool which we initially created for ourselves.”

What can we do for you?

This story inspired me and I would like to know what you can do for me.

Get in touch